Affiliate disclosure
We earn a commission if you sign up with Hers through the links on this page. It did not buy a favourable review.
Hers built its weight-loss business on cheap compounded semaglutide. That business is ending: the company settled with Novo Nordisk in March 2026 and is exiting compounded semaglutide, so new patients are routed to branded medication at $249 to $399 a month — on top of a $149 monthly membership. If you are reading an older review quoting $199 injectables, it is out of date, and this is the section that matters most before you sign up.
Overview
Hers is the women-focused brand of Hims & Hers Health, a large publicly traded telehealth company. The platform spans mental health, hair regrowth, skin care, sexual health and weight loss, all delivered online through licensed providers. It is the same company behind Hims, and the corporate events described below apply to both brands.
The Novo Nordisk Settlement Changed the Offer
Hims settled with Novo Nordisk on 9 March 2026 and is exiting compounded semaglutide. New patients now access branded Wegovy at about $299 a month, oral Wegovy at $249, or Zepbound at $399.
This is the single most consequential fact on this page, and it cuts both ways.
The bad news for price. Compounded semaglutide was what made Hers competitive. Without it, the medication cost roughly doubles or triples, and any comparison you have seen placing Hers among the cheap options no longer holds. Much of the internet still quotes the old numbers.
The good news for what you receive. Branded Wegovy and Zepbound are FDA-approved products with known potency, fixed-increment pens, and the STEP and SURMOUNT trial data actually applying to them. Every criticism we make of compounded preparations across this site — unverified concentration, unnamed pharmacies, five to ten-fold dosing errors from unit conversion — simply does not apply here. Hers is now selling the real thing.
It also removes the supply risk hanging over compounded platforms. Where MangoRx faces active Lilly litigation that could interrupt a course mid-titration, Hers has settled and moved to licensed product. Our compounded versus brand guide covers the trade in full.
If you are an existing Hers patient on compounded semaglutide, ask now what happens to your supply and what your price becomes on transition. Do not wait to find out at a refill.
Hers at a Glance
| Medications offered | Branded Wegovy, oral Wegovy and Zepbound for new patients; oral options from around $69/month. Compounded semaglutide is being withdrawn following the Novo Nordisk settlement. |
|---|---|
| Brand-name or compounded | Branded products are FDA-approved. Compounded semaglutide is being exited; note the September 2025 FDA warning letter regarding compounded semaglutide marketing claims. |
| Consultation process | 100% online, with licensed healthcare providers |
| Eligibility | Assessed at intake; detailed criteria not published |
| Provider involvement | Provider access included in the membership |
| Lab requirements | Not stated as required |
| Pharmacy fulfillment | Branded medication is manufacturer-supplied |
| Shipping frequency | $5 |
| Support services | Included in the membership; app-based tracking and provider messaging |
| Membership fees | $39 for the first month, then about $149/month — medication is billed separately |
| Medication fees | Branded Wegovy about $299/month, oral Wegovy $249, Zepbound $399. Oral options from around $69. Injectable semaglutide from $199 required a 6-12 month prepaid plan, with monthly billing at $299-$399. |
| Cancellation policy | Not published in detail |
| Refund policy | Not published in detail |
| Insurance | Not stated as accepted for the membership |
| HSA/FSA | Not stated |
| Availability | Nationwide, online |
What It Costs Once You Add the Membership
| Route | Medication | Plus membership | Real monthly |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oral Wegovy | $249 | $149 | ~$403 |
| Branded Wegovy | $299 | $149 | ~$453 |
| Zepbound | $399 | $149 | ~$553 |
Figures include the $5 shipping. The first month is cheaper because the membership is $39 to start — a discount that ends before you have finished titrating.
Those totals are the problem. CVS Health dispenses the same FDA-approved medication at $149 a month self-pay with $29 visits and no membership, and LillyDirect sells Zepbound from $299 direct with no membership at all. Hers charges $453 for the Wegovy and $553 for the Zepbound.
Once a platform is dispensing the manufacturer’s own product, the medication is identical wherever you buy it. What you are paying the extra $149 a month for is the Hers wrapper — the app, the provider messaging, the convenience of one account across several health categories. That is worth something, but it is worth judging explicitly rather than absorbing.
The oral options from around $69 are the exception worth noting, and are cheaper than the branded orals. Confirm exactly what that product is before assuming it is equivalent — as elsewhere on this site, we would want to know whether it is an FDA-approved oral or a compounded preparation whose absorption is unestablished.
The FDA Warning Letter
The FDA issued a warning letter to Hims & Hers Health, Inc. dba Hers, dated 9 September 2025, regarding certain compounded semaglutide marketing claims.
As with Ivim Health, this is a regulator reaching a conclusion after investigating rather than a customer complaint — and it carries more weight than anything we can infer from outside. A warning letter concerns violations the agency has identified and requires correcting; it is not a finding that patients were harmed.
Two things temper it here. It concerned compounded semaglutide marketing, and Hers is exiting compounded semaglutide entirely — so the subject of the letter is being discontinued. And the FDA sent letters to more than 50 entities over GLP-1 compounding in September 2025, so this was part of a sweep rather than a singling out.
Still, it belongs in the picture: a company with a documented marketing violation is a company whose marketing you should read carefully. Look the letter up on the FDA’s public database yourself — it takes a minute. Our claims and risks guide covers what the agency has been targeting.
The Women-First Angle — Real or Positioning?
Hers markets itself as built for women, and that is worth interrogating rather than accepting or dismissing. There are genuine reasons a woman-specific weight-loss service could be better: GLP-1s interact with hormonal contraception absorption, weight management differs meaningfully around perimenopause and menopause, PCOS is a common and specifically treatable driver of weight gain, and pregnancy is an absolute contraindication requiring careful counselling.
What we could not establish is whether Hers does anything clinically distinct on those fronts, or whether the differentiation is branding over a shared Hims & Hers clinical platform. If the women-first angle is why you are considering it, ask directly: does the intake screen for PCOS? Is contraception interaction addressed? Are providers experienced in menopause? Those answers, not the branding, are what would make it worth the premium.
Eligibility, Contraindications, and Side Effects
Eligibility is assessed online by a licensed provider; detailed criteria are not published. See our eligibility guide.
Semaglutide and tirzepatide carry a boxed warning regarding thyroid C-cell tumours, based on rodent studies. Do not take these medications if you or a family member have had medullary thyroid carcinoma, if you have Multiple Endocrine Neoplasia syndrome type 2, or if you have had a serious hypersensitivity reaction to the active ingredient. Disclose any history of pancreatitis, gallbladder disease, gastroparesis or other severe gastrointestinal disease, or diabetic retinopathy.
These medications are not for use in pregnancy, and this warrants emphasis on a platform aimed at women. Manufacturers advise discontinuing semaglutide well in advance of a planned pregnancy. GLP-1s can also affect the absorption of oral contraceptives through delayed gastric emptying — if you rely on the pill, raise this specifically and consider backup contraception during titration.
Common side effects are gastrointestinal — nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea, constipation, abdominal pain — worst after each dose increase. Serious but less common: pancreatitis, gallbladder disease, acute kidney injury from dehydration. See our side effects guide. One genuine benefit of the move to branded product: the pens deliver fixed increments, so the compounded dosing errors the FDA has documented do not apply.
How Hers Compares
| Provider | Branded Wegovy/Zepbound | Membership | Real monthly | Our rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hers | $299 / $399 | $149 | $453–$553 | 3.4 / 5 |
| CVS Health | $149 self-pay | None | ~$149 | 4.4 / 5 |
| LillyDirect | Zepbound from $299 | None | ~$299 | 4.5 / 5 |
| Hims | Same company, same transition | $149 | Comparable | 3.6 / 5 |
With the compounded advantage gone, Hers is selling the same FDA-approved medication as CVS Health and LillyDirect at two to three times the all-in price. The Trustpilot score of 3.4 across 6,200-plus reviews also points to real operational inconsistency at scale — respectable sample, middling result.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Now dispensing FDA-approved branded medication rather than compounded
- Fixed-increment pens remove the compounded dosing-error risk
- Settled litigation means no supply interruption risk
- Choice of oral Wegovy, injectable Wegovy or Zepbound
- Oral options from around $69/month
- $39 first month on the membership
- One account across mental health, skin, hair and weight loss
- Large publicly traded company with disclosure obligations
Cons
- $149 monthly membership on top of medication — $453–$553 all in
- CVS Health sells the identical drug at $149 with no membership
- FDA warning letter, 9 September 2025, on compounded semaglutide marketing
- Trustpilot 3.4 across 6,200+ reviews suggests inconsistency at scale
- Existing compounded patients face a forced transition and price change
- The $199 injectable rate required a 6–12 month prepay and is being withdrawn
- Whether the women-first angle is clinically distinct is unclear
- Cancellation and refund terms not published
Who Should Pick It, and Who Should Look Elsewhere
Hers suits you if you already use the platform for other things and value one account across several health needs, or if the oral route at around $69 works for you and you have confirmed what that product actually is. The move to branded medication is a genuine quality improvement over where Hers was a year ago.
Look elsewhere if you are buying on price. The medication is identical wherever you get it, and CVS Health at $149 self-pay or LillyDirect at $299 both skip the $149 membership entirely. If you want dietitian support instead of an app, Fay Nutrition costs $0 to $12 a session through insurance.
Limitations of This Review
This review is based on independent coverage of Hers checked on 7 August 2026, during an active transition — pricing and product availability are changing as the compounded semaglutide exit proceeds, so verify current figures directly. We report the Novo Nordisk settlement and the September 2025 FDA warning letter as described in secondary sources; we did not retrieve the letter or the settlement documents ourselves, and you should look the letter up on the FDA’s public database. We could not establish what the sub-$69 oral product is, whether the women-first positioning reflects distinct clinical protocols, or the cancellation terms. We have not signed up or been prescribed.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Hers still offer compounded semaglutide?
It is exiting it. Following a settlement with Novo Nordisk on 9 March 2026, new patients are routed to branded medication — Wegovy at about $299, oral Wegovy at $249, or Zepbound at $399. Existing compounded patients should ask now what happens to their supply and price.
What does Hers really cost per month?
Add the membership. At $149 a month plus $299 for Wegovy and $5 shipping, the real figure is about $453; Zepbound comes to roughly $553. The first month is cheaper because the membership starts at $39.
Is Hers the same company as Hims?
Yes — both are brands of Hims & Hers Health, Inc. The Novo Nordisk settlement and the FDA warning letter apply to the company, not to one brand.
Can I take a GLP-1 if I use the pill?
Raise it with the prescriber specifically. GLP-1s slow gastric emptying, which can affect oral contraceptive absorption, and backup contraception during titration is worth discussing. These medications are also not for use in pregnancy.
Verdict
3.4 / 5
A better product than it was — FDA-approved medication, settled litigation, no compounded dosing risk — at $453 to $553 a month for a drug CVS Health sells at $149.
The transition away from compounded semaglutide genuinely improves what Hers dispenses. Everything we normally warn about — unverified potency, unnamed pharmacies, unit-conversion overdoses, supply pulled by litigation — falls away when a platform sells the manufacturer’s own pens.
The trouble is that it also removes the only reason to pay a premium. Once the molecule is identical everywhere, the $149 monthly membership is buying an app and an account, and $149 a month is a lot for an app when CVS Health dispenses the same drug for that as the total. Hers is a reasonable choice if you are already inside its ecosystem, and an expensive one if you are choosing purely on this.
Medical Disclaimer & Review Date
This review is general consumer information, not medical advice. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious contraindications, and whether any treatment is appropriate for you is a decision only a licensed healthcare provider who knows your medical history can make. Nothing here should be used to start, stop, or change a medication.
Details in this review come from Hers's own published materials as of the date below. Pricing, medication availability, state coverage, and policies in this category change frequently — verify current terms directly with the provider before purchasing.
Date reviewed: August 7, 2026
Price the Membership Separately
The medication is the same wherever you buy it. Decide whether the Hers wrapper is worth $149 a month before you compare anything else.