Amazon’s One Medical GLP-1 management programme, announced in April 2026, does three things almost nothing else on this site does at once: it offers brand-name medication only, it accepts insurance, and it attaches the prescription to actual primary care.
Why This Is a Different Proposition
Nearly every GLP-1 service we have reviewed is a cash-pay telehealth company selling compounded medication through an online intake. That model exists because brand-name drugs were unaffordable and in shortage. Both of those conditions have changed.
Amazon offers Wegovy, Zepbound, Foundayo and KwikPen — brand-name products only, with no compounded options mentioned at all. Every regulatory question that hangs over the compounded market simply does not apply here.
That matters more than it would have two years ago. The shortage pathway that permitted mass compounding closed when the FDA resolved the tirzepatide shortage in October 2024 and the semaglutide shortage on 21 February 2025, and the enforcement discretion periods that followed have expired — set out in our compounded versus brand-name guide. A programme built entirely on approved products sidesteps the issue rather than arguing about it.
The Pricing, and How to Read the $25
| Option | With insurance | Cash pay |
|---|---|---|
| Oral — Wegovy, Foundayo | from $25/mo | from $149/mo |
| Injectable — Wegovy, Zepbound, KwikPen | Not stated | from $299/mo |
Read the $25 carefully. It is an insurance-contingent figure — what you pay if your plan covers GLP-1s for weight management. Many plans do not. If yours does not, your number is $149 for orals or $299 for injectables.
This is why we rank providers on our cheapest GLP-1 programs page by published cash price, and have listed this programme at $149 rather than $25. Putting an insurance copay next to cash prices would make it look four times cheaper than a competitor when it may not be cheaper at all. Check your own formulary before treating $25 as your price — our insurance guide covers how.
The genuinely good design decision is that Amazon lets you compare insurance and cash-pay prices side by side at checkout. That is unusually honest. It is common for an insured price to be worse than a cash price once a deductible is unmet, and almost no one shows you both.
At $149 cash for an oral option, this matches Zappy Health’s Wegovy pill pricing exactly — and both undercut a good deal of the compounded market, which is the quiet story of this whole category in 2026.
Primary Care Is the Real Differentiator
The programme includes pre-visit screening, structured consultations, regular follow-up with integrated monitoring, and what Amazon describes as evidence-based treatment algorithms with built-in safety protocols. Crucially, clinicians can address related conditions — cardiovascular disease and diabetes — within primary care.
That is the structural gap in direct-to-consumer GLP-1 telehealth, and we have flagged it review after review. A single-purpose weight-loss service prescribes a drug and does nothing about the hypertension, prediabetes, sleep apnea or lipid profile that usually accompany the reason you needed it. Those conditions are the actual clinical stakes, and a prescriber with no view of them cannot manage them.
It also matters for the things GLP-1s require monitoring for. Contraindications around personal or family history of medullary thyroid carcinoma and MEN2, pancreatitis history, gallbladder disease and interactions with other medication are all easier to catch when someone holds your full record rather than a weight-loss intake form.
One Medical membership is not required to start or schedule a visit, which removes the obvious objection that this is a funnel into a subscription.
What Gives Us Pause
It is Amazon. Handing the company that already holds your purchase history your primary care record is a privacy decision, not just a clinical one. Amazon has stated separations between One Medical health data and its retail business, and health data is subject to HIPAA — but the concentration is real and worth deciding deliberately rather than by default.
“Treatment algorithms” cut both ways. Protocolised care raises the floor — it makes it harder for a clinician to skip a safety check. It can also lower the ceiling for patients who do not fit the protocol. Which one you get depends on how much clinician discretion sits on top, and that is not something an announcement tells you.
Injectables at $299 cash are not cheap against a compounded market where Fifty410 lists tirzepatide at $133. You are paying for an approved product with verified potency and a manufacturer behind it, which we think is worth it — but the gap is real and you should know you are choosing it.
And a scale caveat: a programme this large will be judged on execution, and it is too new for anyone to know how the follow-up actually works in practice.
Provider Facts
| Medications offered | Brand-name only: Wegovy and Foundayo (oral), Wegovy, Zepbound and KwikPen (injectable). No compounded options mentioned |
|---|---|
| Brand-name or compounded | Brand-name, FDA-approved products throughout |
| Consultation process | Pre-visit screening followed by structured consultations, virtual or in person via One Medical |
| Eligibility | Not stated in the announcement we reviewed |
| Provider involvement | Clinicians create personalised treatment plans, monitor progress, adjust treatment, and can manage related conditions such as cardiovascular disease and diabetes within primary care |
| Lab requirements | Integrated monitoring described; specific lab requirements not stated |
| Pharmacy fulfillment | Amazon Pharmacy, integrated with the care programme |
| Shipping frequency | Via Amazon Pharmacy; frequency not stated |
| Support services | Regular follow-up visits with integrated monitoring; evidence-based treatment algorithms with built-in safety protocols |
| Membership fees | One Medical membership is not required to get started or to schedule a visit |
| Medication fees | Oral (Wegovy, Foundayo) from $25/month with insurance or from $149/month cash. Injectable (Wegovy, Zepbound, KwikPen) from $299/month cash |
| Cancellation policy | Not stated |
| Refund policy | Not stated |
| Insurance | Accepts most major insurance plans for visits. Copays and deductibles may apply. Insurance and cash prices can be compared side by side at checkout |
| HSA/FSA | Not stated |
| Availability | Not stated in the announcement we reviewed |
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Brand-name only — no compounded regulatory exposure at all
- Accepts most major insurance, which is rare in this category
- Shows insurance and cash prices side by side at checkout
- From $25/month if your plan covers GLP-1s
- Real primary care — comorbidities managed, not ignored
- No One Medical membership required to start
- Structured follow-up and stated safety protocols
- Integrated pharmacy fulfilment
Cons
- $25 is insurance-contingent; many plans exclude weight-loss GLP-1s
- Injectables at $299 cash are well above the compounded market
- Concentrating health and purchase data with one company
- Protocolised care may not suit atypical patients
- Eligibility criteria and state availability not stated
- Cancellation, refund and HSA/FSA terms not stated
- Too new for any independent track record
Who It May Be Best For
Best for anyone whose insurance covers GLP-1s for weight management — at $25 a month there is very little to argue with — and for anyone with cardiovascular disease, type 2 diabetes, hypertension or other metabolic conditions who should not be getting weight treatment in isolation from the rest of their care.
Also strong if you want a brand-name product and have been uneasy about the compounded market. This removes that question entirely.
Check first: whether your plan actually covers GLP-1s for weight loss rather than diabetes only, and compare the insured price against the cash price at checkout — the insured route is not always cheaper before a deductible is met.
Less suitable if you have no coverage and injectables are what you need — $299 cash is more than several alternatives, and you would be paying for approval and integration rather than the lowest price.
Alternatives
Zappy Health matches the $149 oral price cash and also offers compounded, with no membership. Our best online GLP-1 providers page ranks the field overall, cheapest GLP-1 programs ranks on cash price, and Amazon Pharmacy covers the fulfilment side of the same group separately.
Limitations of This Review
Based on Amazon’s own programme announcement, checked on 8 August 2026, after onemedical.com returned HTTP 403 to our requests. That means much of this reflects how Amazon describes its own programme rather than what we could independently verify. We could not establish eligibility criteria, state availability, lab requirements, visit cadence, HSA/FSA acceptance, or cancellation and refund terms. All prices are “from” figures. The $25 price depends entirely on your own plan’s coverage. Foundayo is listed as an oral option in Amazon’s materials; we have not verified its active ingredient and are not describing it as equivalent to any other product. The programme is new and has no independent track record. Nothing here is medical advice.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will I actually pay $25 a month?
Only if your insurance covers GLP-1s for weight management, which many plans do not. Without coverage it is from $149 a month for oral options or $299 for injectables. Check your formulary before assuming.
Does it offer compounded medication?
No compounded options are mentioned. The programme lists brand-name Wegovy, Zepbound, Foundayo and KwikPen, which avoids the regulatory questions attached to compounded GLP-1s since the shortages ended.
Do I need a One Medical membership?
No. Amazon states membership is not required to get started or to schedule a visit.
Why does primary care integration matter?
Because the conditions that accompany obesity — hypertension, type 2 diabetes, lipid problems, sleep apnea — are the real clinical stakes, and a single-purpose weight-loss service does not manage them. Amazon states clinicians can address cardiovascular disease and diabetes within primary care.
Verdict
4.5 / 5
Brand-name only, insurance accepted, prices shown both ways at checkout, and a prescription attached to real primary care. The strongest structural proposition we have reviewed — with the caveats that $25 depends on your plan and it is too new to have a track record.
Most of this category exists because brand-name GLP-1s were unaffordable and unavailable. Both conditions have now changed, and this programme is what the category looks like on the other side of that: approved products, insurance where it applies, cash prices where it does not, and a clinician who can see the rest of your health.
Decide the data question deliberately, check your formulary rather than trusting the headline figure, and if you have no coverage and need injectables, price it against the alternatives first.
Medical Disclaimer & Review Date
This review is general consumer information, not medical advice. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious contraindications, and whether any treatment is appropriate for you is a decision only a licensed healthcare provider who knows your medical history can make. Nothing here should be used to start, stop, or change a medication.
Details in this review come from Amazon One Medical's own published materials as of the date below. Pricing, medication availability, state coverage, and policies in this category change frequently — verify current terms directly with the provider before purchasing.
Date reviewed: August 8, 2026