Editorial disclosure: this ranking is commercially influenced
The #1 position on this page is a paid placement. CoreAge Rx GLP-1 Support appears first because of a commercial arrangement, not because our research found it outperformed the other products listed.
We have not run head-to-head testing of these supplements, and we are not aware of any published trial comparing them against each other. The products below position #1 are ordered by our own editorial assessment of ingredient transparency, dosing against published research, and label quality. Treat the #1 slot as an advertisement and the rest as our opinion.
We may also earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page. That does not change what we write about a product's evidence or its weaknesses — the reviews on this site flag limitations for paid and unpaid placements alike.
Akkermansia is the most interesting organism on the gut-health shelf and the hardest to buy sensibly. Every label carries a number, and the numbers are not in the same units — which means most people comparing these products are comparing things that cannot be compared.
What This Category Actually Is
Read the unit before the number. A probiotic works through live organisms. CFU and AFU count them. Milligrams weigh the powder — including dead cells and carrier.
We found this in practice: one product on this shelf lists its Akkermansia at 10 mg while giving its other probiotic blend in CFU on the same label. The convention was clearly known; it was simply not applied to the headline ingredient.
Why the organism is interesting. Akkermansia muciniphila lives in the intestinal mucus layer, and lower abundance is associated with obesity and metabolic dysfunction. That association is real and has driven genuine research interest — which is also why it has become a marketing ingredient, appearing at token amounts in formulas built around other things.
What none of these products has is a trial of the finished formula showing weight outcomes. The research is on the organism, not on the capsule, and an association between gut bacteria and metabolic health is not the same as a demonstrated effect from swallowing more of it. Our guide to GLP-1 supplements covers where this sits.
This page ranks the probiotic shelf broadly, since several formulas combine Akkermansia with other strains and prebiotic fibre. Where a product does not contain Akkermansia, its individual review says so — and where it does, we note the unit its dose is given in.
The Products
Position #1 is a paid placement, as disclosed above. Everything below it is ordered by our editorial rating.
CoreAge Rx GLP-1 Support
Paid placementOur editorial rating: 3.7 / 5
A once-daily prebiotic-plus-probiotic capsule built around gut microbiome ingredients, including Akkermansia muciniphila.
Stands out for: Publishes exact fiber amounts, states plainly it is not a weight-loss medication, and lists specific exclusions including immunocompromise and C. difficile.
Main caveat: Fiber doses are far below the gram-scale amounts used in research, strain amounts are not broken out, and no refund policy is stated.
- Key ingredients: Chicory root inulin 211 mg, potato resistant starch 100 mg, 36 mg blend of B. infantis, C. butyricum and A. muciniphila
- Price: $49 for one bottle of 30; $99 for three ($33 each); $149 for six ($23.83 each)
- Third-party tested: Not stated
Pendulum GLP-1 Probiotic
Our editorial rating: 4 / 5
The best-known Akkermansia-focused probiotic brand, marketed specifically around GLP-1 signalling pathways.
Stands out for: States clearly that the product is "not intended for weight loss" and "not a GLP-1 agonist drug" — unusually restrained for this category.
Main caveat: The headline 91% and 88% craving figures come from a 6-week consumer survey, not a clinical trial; the company cites only preclinical studies for this product.
- Key ingredients: Akkermansia muciniphila, Clostridium butyricum and Bifidobacterium infantis — the same three strains CoreAge Rx uses
- Price: Pendulum products range widely; its Akkermansia product is listed at $116 on its own site and around $64 via Amazon. GLP-1 Probiotic pricing is not published on the product page
- Third-party tested: Not stated on the product page
Seed DS-01 Daily Synbiotic
Our editorial rating: 3.9 / 5
The most carefully documented probiotic we have reviewed, honestly marketed and priced accordingly.
Stands out for: Named strains, third-party testing and a capsule-in-capsule delivery system built around gastric survival - and no weight-loss claims.
Main caveat: Roughly $600 a year, with no evidence specific to GLP-1 side effects and no probiotic producing meaningful weight loss.
- Key ingredients: 24 clinically studied strains at 53.6 billion AFU with a non-fermenting Indian pomegranate and Scandinavian pine bark prebiotic
- Price: About $49.99 per month on subscription
- Third-party tested: Yes - third-party tested
Codeage GLP-1 Probiotic+
Our editorial rating: 3.8 / 5
A near-identical formula concept to CoreAge Rx — the same strain family plus chicory inulin — at roughly half the price.
Stands out for: Publishes an AFU count (500 million), and is vegan, non-GMO, gluten-free, dairy-free and soy-free.
Main caveat: Widely distributed through third-party retailers, so pricing and stock vary by seller; per-strain amounts are not broken out.
- Key ingredients: Akkermansia muciniphila, Clostridium butyricum and Bifidobacterium, plus chicory inulin — 500 million AFU
- Price: Around $24.99 for 30 servings via Amazon; 90-capsule 3-month packs sold at Walmart
- Third-party tested: Not stated
Bioma GLP-1 Booster
Our editorial rating: 2.6 / 5
A probiotic-led GLP-1 formula that publishes every ingredient amount - which is how you can see the problem with one of them.
Stands out for: Publishes a quantity for every active, and gives the probiotic blend in CFU, which most competitors will not do.
Main caveat: Akkermansia is dosed at 10 mg - a powder weight rather than a viable-organism count - and the brand names a dozen universities without citing a study.
- Key ingredients: Sukre 400 mg, Triacetin (Tribiome) 200 mg, proprietary probiotic blend 15 billion CFU, cayenne pepper 50 mg, Akkermansia muciniphila 10 mg
- Price: Not published on the pages we read; also stocked at Walmart
- Third-party tested: Not stated; manufacturing described as in FDA-approved facilities, which is not a designation the FDA confers
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Akkermansia muciniphila?
A gut bacterium that lives in the mucus layer of the intestinal lining. It has attracted research interest because lower levels are associated with obesity and metabolic dysfunction, and because it appears to support gut barrier integrity. It is one of the more genuinely interesting organisms in this space — which is exactly why it is now on so many labels.
What is the difference between AFU, CFU and milligrams?
CFU (colony-forming units) and AFU (active fluorescent units) both count viable organisms — how many are actually alive and able to do something. Milligrams measure the weight of powder in the capsule, which includes dead cells and carrier material. A probiotic dosed in milligrams cannot be compared against research or against another product, because it does not tell you how much of it is alive.
Does Akkermansia raise GLP-1?
The interest comes from its association with metabolic health and gut barrier function, and gut bacteria do influence GLP-1 secretion through fermentation and short-chain fatty acid production. That is a plausible indirect route rather than a demonstrated effect of any particular capsule, and none of these products has a trial of the finished formula.
Is Akkermansia safe?
It is generally well tolerated, and some products are pasteurised rather than live. As with any live probiotic, people who are immunocompromised, seriously ill or have a central line should speak to a clinician first. Some labels publish those exclusions and some do not — we note which in the individual reviews.
Why is Akkermansia expensive?
It is an anaerobic organism that is difficult to grow and stabilise compared with common probiotic strains, which is a genuine manufacturing cost rather than pure margin. That said, price varies widely for similar-looking formulas, so compare on viable-organism count rather than on the price tag alone.
Supplement Disclaimer & Review Date
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Dietary supplements are not FDA-approved medications, are not reviewed by the FDA for safety or effectiveness before they go on sale, and are not a substitute for prescription treatment.
Nothing on this page is medical advice, and nothing here should be read as a promise of weight loss or of any particular result. Supplements can interact with prescription medications and are not appropriate for everyone. Talk to a doctor or pharmacist who knows your medical history before starting any supplement — particularly if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, take prescription medication, manage a chronic condition, or are already taking a GLP-1 medication.
Product details come from the manufacturer's own published materials as of the date below. Ingredients, amounts, pricing, and policies change frequently — check the current label and product page before purchasing.
Last reviewed: August 5, 2026