If you are in crisis
If you are having thoughts of harming yourself, please contact emergency services or a crisis line now — in the US, call or text 988 for the Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. A mail-order treatment programme is not the right route in an emergency, and nothing on this page is medical advice.
Affiliate disclosure
We earn a commission if you sign up through the links on this page — $70. Everything below was checked on 11 August 2026 against betterucare.com, the FDA-approved labelling for ketamine and esketamine, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Canadian Network for Mood and Anxiety Treatments guideline, the Cochrane Library, PubMed and the Better Business Bureau.
Better U prescribes oral ketamine by telehealth and posts it to you, with integration coaching wrapped around it, for depression and anxiety — $500 to $2,076 across four packages, in 29 states. It names real psychiatrists, its disclaimers are unusually careful, and it puts a blood pressure cuff in the box. It is also selling an off-label, compounded, Schedule III controlled substance to be taken at home alone — where the one drug in this family the FDA did approve for depression requires two hours of monitoring in a clinic at every session.
What It Is and Who It Is For
Better U describes itself as offering “online ketamine therapy, holistic psychiatry, and alternative treatments” for people whose “traditional medications or therapies” have not worked. The core product is a course of at-home oral ketamine sessions, supported by a preparation call, an app, integration coaching and a text-based care team. It also sells talk therapy, “longevity treatments”, a ketamine pain cream and “peak performance” programmes.
The intended buyer is explicit and, frankly, sympathetic: someone with depression, anxiety, OCD or PTSD who has already tried conventional antidepressants and therapy without getting where they wanted. That is a large group, conventional treatment genuinely fails a substantial share of them, and ketamine is one of the more interesting things to happen in psychiatry in decades. None of what follows is a suggestion that these people are foolish for looking.
What follows is about the gap between the evidence for ketamine — which is real — and the evidence for this particular route, dose and setting, which is thinner than the marketing implies.
What the FDA Labels Actually Say
Because this is a prescription product, we went to the approved labelling rather than the marketing. Two documents settle the regulatory picture.
1. Ketamine itself — approved as an anaesthetic, nothing else
The FDA-approved label for Ketalar (ketamine hydrochloride injection) states it is indicated:
- “as the sole anesthetic agent for diagnostic and surgical procedures that do not require skeletal muscle relaxation”
- “for the induction of anesthesia prior to the administration of other general anesthetic agents”
- “as a supplement to other anesthetic agents”
Routes on that label: intramuscular and intravenous. There is no psychiatric indication. There is no oral route. So oral ketamine for depression is an off-label use of a compounded preparation that is not an FDA-approved product. Off-label prescribing is lawful and routine in psychiatry — but it is not the same thing as approved, and no one should tell you otherwise.
2. Spravato — the one that is approved, and what FDA required
Spravato (esketamine) nasal spray is approved for treatment-resistant depression and for depressive symptoms in major depressive disorder with acute suicidal ideation. Its label carries this boxed warning:
“WARNING: SEDATION; DISSOCIATION; RESPIRATORY DEPRESSION; ABUSE AND MISUSE; and SUICIDAL THOUGHTS AND BEHAVIORS”
And these conditions of use:
- “patients must be monitored for at least 2 hours at each treatment session, followed by an assessment to determine when the patient is considered clinically stable and ready to leave the healthcare setting”
- “SPRAVATO is only available through a restricted program under a Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategy (REMS)”
- “Respiratory depression has been observed in postmarketing experience”
That is the comparison worth holding in your head. When the FDA approved a drug in this family for depression, it required a certified healthcare setting, a restricted distribution programme, and two hours of observation after every dose — because of sedation, dissociation and respiratory depression. Better U mails you the medication and you take it at home.
Being fair about the differences: esketamine nasal spray and low-dose oral racemic ketamine are not the same drug at the same dose by the same route. Oral ketamine has poor and variable bioavailability, and the doses used in at-home programmes are generally far below anaesthetic doses. A lower dose plausibly carries lower risk. But that is an inference, not a finding, and the at-home model has not been tested to anything like the standard the approved product was.
One more piece of the legal picture: ketamine is a Schedule III controlled substance under 21 CFR 1308.13 — listed as “Ketamine, its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers”, DEA code 7285. That scheduling reflects a recognised potential for abuse and dependence, and it is why the guideline quoted below talks about diversion.
The Evidence, Split by Route
“Evidence-based” appears repeatedly on Better U’s site. The word is doing a lot of work, because the evidence for ketamine in depression is overwhelmingly evidence for the intravenous route, and that is not what is being sold.
| Route | Randomised trials indexed for depression | CANMAT evidence level |
|---|---|---|
| Intravenous, single infusion | 279 | Level 1 — but only a third-line recommendation |
| Intravenous, multiple or maintenance | — | Level 3 |
| Oral (what Better U sells) | 78 | Level 3 or 4 only |
| Sublingual | 40 | Level 3 or 4 only |
| “At-home” as a search term | 26 records of any kind | Not separately graded |
The Canadian Network for Mood and Anxiety Treatments task force reviewed this literature and concluded, in a sentence readers of this page should sit with:
“Because of limited evidence for efficacy and risk for misuse and diversion, the use of oral and other formulations of racemic ketamine should be limited to specialists with ketamine-prescribing expertise and affiliations with tertiary or specialized centers.”
A national guideline body looked at exactly this formulation and said it should be confined to specialists attached to tertiary centres. A direct-to-consumer programme operating in 29 states is not straightforwardly that. Better U does employ named psychiatrists, which is a genuine point in its favour and more than several competitors manage — but the setting is the part the guideline is worried about, and posting medication to a home is the opposite of a tertiary centre.
On maintenance treatment specifically — which is what a 27-session package is — a 2022 systematic review in The Lancet Psychiatry found the whole global literature amounted to three randomised controlled trials, eight open-label trials and 30 case series and reports. Its authors judged maintenance ketamine to be of “therapeutic potential” while noting the methodological limitations and calling for properly powered studies.
On the ketamine pain cream, which Better U also lists: a 2025 Cochrane review of NMDA antagonists for chronic pain, covering 67 randomised trials and 2,309 participants, found “no clear evidence that topical ketamine reduces pain intensity”, and no clear evidence for the oral or intravenous routes either. It also found intravenous ketamine “may increase the risk of adverse events”. We would not buy the cream.
How It Works, Step by Step
- Free online assessment — the site’s step one, to “identify the right approach for you”
- If qualified, you either select a treatment package directly or book a free virtual consultation
- Ketamine consultation to determine candidacy for the programme
- Virtual clinical appointment with a licensed clinician covering health history, lifestyle and goals, who “will determine a personalized program”
- Medication arrives by post, followed by a treatment preparation appointment with a “Certified Integration Guide” — 30 minutes on the 5 and 9-session packages, 15 minutes on the 15 and 27-session ones
- You take the sessions at home, guided by the app and member portal
- Integration coaching sessions follow — one on the smallest package, up to six on the largest
- 24/7 text access to a concierge team, with medical questions relayed to your clinician
Note step five. The larger the package, the shorter the preparation appointment — 30 minutes if you buy 5 sessions, 15 minutes if you buy 27. We would have expected that relationship to run the other way.
Every Package, and a Pricing Oddity
| Package | Sessions | Integration sessions | Per session | Total | Financing from |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Introduction | 5 | 1 | $100 | $500 | $45/mo |
| Transformation | 9 | 2 | $88 | $792 | $49/mo |
| Introduction (3-month) | 15 | 3 | $90 | $1,350 | $82/mo |
| Transformation (3-month) | 27 | 6 | $76 | $2,076 | $72/mo |
The per-session price does not fall consistently with volume. It runs $100, then $88, then back up to $90, then $76. The 15-session package costs more per session than the 9-session package — so a buyer trading up from 9 sessions to 15 pays a higher unit price for the privilege. If you are choosing on value, the 9-session package beats the 15 on that metric.
What is included in every package: the ketamine consultation, virtual clinical appointment, treatment preparation call, the ketamine sessions themselves, member portal access, integration coaching, a personal client concierge with 24/7 secure text, a free “Brain Box” starter kit and delivery of all medications. The Brain Box contains a blood pressure cuff, a meditation mask, “heart diffraction glasses” and a journal and pen.
On financing: the site advertises “Split Pay” from $45–$82 a month and “Guaranteed Approval Financing with Denefits” on the larger packages. Guaranteed approval means the lender is not assessing affordability. Borrowing $2,076 for a treatment you have not yet tried, in a category where a substantial share of people do not respond, is the kind of decision to make slowly and in the smallest increment available.
We could not find a refund or cancellation policy in the pages we retrieved. That is a significant gap on a purchase of this size, and we would ask about it in writing before paying.
What Better U Does Well
We have been sceptical above, so it is important to say clearly that this is a meaningfully better-run operation than most of what we see in this category.
- It names its clinicians, with credentials. A Medical Director who is a psychiatrist, described as having completed a combined internal medicine and psychiatry residency at the University of Iowa and geriatric psychiatry at Mayo Clinic Rochester; a second psychiatrist; a physician assistant; a registered nurse; and a licensed professional counsellor as Director of Psychotherapy. Those names are checkable, and most telehealth firms we review hide behind “our licensed providers”
- The disclaimers are genuinely careful. The site states that “results vary and benefits are not guaranteed for any individual”, and labels its testimonials “Individual results vary. These experiences reflect the views of the individuals only and do not represent medical advice or a guarantee of outcomes.” That is more restraint than this industry usually shows
- The blood pressure cuff is the right instinct. Ketamine raises blood pressure; shipping a cuff with an unsupervised dosing programme is a real safety measure rather than a gimmick
- Integration coaching is included, not upsold. The psychotherapeutic wrapper is where much of the plausible benefit of psychedelic-assisted approaches is thought to sit, and building it in is the correct design
- The assessment and consultation are free, so you can find out whether you are considered a candidate at no cost
- The 29 states are published openly, rather than discovered at checkout
- A named concierge with 24/7 messaging, with medical questions routed to a clinician
The Language We Would Push Back On
Against that, some of the copy claims more than the evidence supports, and one word is doing unearned work.
| The claim | The problem |
|---|---|
| “Certified Integration Guide” / “Certified Integration Coaches” | Certified by whom? No certifying body is named. There is no licensed profession of “integration coach”, and the word certified implies an external standard that is not identified |
| “evidence-based online ketamine therapy” | The Level 1 evidence is for intravenous ketamine. For the oral route it is Level 3 or 4 |
| “Retrain your brain”; “rejuvenating brain neural pathways”; “neurological reset” | Mechanistic language presented as established outcome. Synaptic effects are an active research area, not a demonstrated clinical mechanism you can buy |
| Clinicians “trained at institutions such as Stanford, Harvard, and Johns Hopkins” | Association with prestigious institutions is not a statement about this programme. Judge the named clinicians, not the logos |
| “Peak Performance” ketamine programmes | This is not a medical indication. Prescribing a Schedule III controlled substance for performance enhancement is a different proposition from treating depression |
| Advertiser copy: “clinically endorsed therapy” | Endorsed by whom? We found no endorsing clinical body, and the relevant guideline we did find urges restriction of this formulation |
Eligibility, Contraindications and Who Should Not Do This
This is general consumer information, not medical advice. Whether ketamine is appropriate for you is a decision only a licensed clinician who knows your history and current medications can make. Do not start, stop or change any psychiatric medication on the basis of this page.
Availability: the programme is US-only, and Better U lists 29 states: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Mexico, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin. If your state is not on that list, it is not available to you, and we make no claim about anywhere else.
Categories that consistently appear in ketamine safety guidance as reasons for caution or exclusion — and which a prescriber should be screening for:
- Uncontrolled high blood pressure or significant cardiovascular disease — ketamine raises blood pressure and heart rate, which is why the cuff is in the box
- A history of psychosis, or a personal or family history of psychotic illness
- A history of substance use disorder — ketamine is Schedule III with recognised abuse potential, and unsupervised supply at home is the harder version of that problem
- Pregnancy or breastfeeding
- Anyone under 18. Spravato’s label states it is not approved in paediatric patients and warns of increased suicidal thoughts and behaviours in young adults on antidepressants
- Acute suicidality. If you are in crisis, this route is not appropriate — contact 988 or emergency services
- Liver disease, and a history of bladder or urinary problems, given the urinary toxicity documented with heavier ketamine use
Common effects to expect during sessions, drawn from the approved labelling for this drug class: sedation, dissociation and perceptual changes, raised blood pressure, nausea, dizziness and anxiety. The boxed warning on the approved product also lists respiratory depression, observed in postmarketing experience. Nobody should take a first dose without another adult present, whatever the programme says.
Why This Is on a Weight-Loss Site
Because depression and obesity travel together, extensively and in both directions — 16,545 indexed records pair the two. Depression makes weight management harder; carrying excess weight raises the risk of depression; and treatment for either affects the other. Readers of this site are disproportionately likely to be dealing with both.
That association is a reason to take depression seriously and get it treated. It is not a reason to reach for the least-evidenced route first. If conventional treatment has not worked for you, the ordered path a psychiatrist would generally take runs through adequate trials of established treatments, then augmentation, then the third-line options — of which intravenous ketamine is one, in a supervised setting, and Spravato is another, under its REMS. At-home oral ketamine is not a cheaper version of those; it is a different, less-tested thing.
Legitimacy and Credentials
| Check | Result |
|---|---|
| Named clinical team | Yes, with credentials — an MD psychiatrist as Medical Director, a second MD psychiatrist, a PA, an RN and an LPC. Verify any prescriber against your state licensing board |
| Who regulates it | State medical boards licence the clinicians; the DEA regulates ketamine as Schedule III; state boards of pharmacy oversee compounding. Compounded products are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed for safety and efficacy |
| Better Business Bureau | No listing found for Better U or Better U Care. BBB coverage is voluntary, so this is not itself a negative finding |
| Trustpilot | Could not retrieve, so we report none |
| Refund / cancellation policy | Not found in the pages we retrieved — ask before paying |
| Which pharmacy compounds the medication | Not stated in what we read. Worth asking, along with whether it is a 503A or 503B facility |
How It Compares
| Option | Where it wins | Where it loses |
|---|---|---|
| Better U at-home oral ketamine | Cheapest access; named psychiatrists; integration coaching built in; no travel; free assessment | Level 3–4 evidence for this route; unsupervised dosing; compounded, not FDA-approved |
| Spravato (esketamine) at a certified centre | FDA-approved for TRD; monitored 2 hours per session; often insurance-covered | Requires travel to a REMS-certified site twice weekly initially; boxed warning |
| IV ketamine at a clinic | Level 1 evidence for a single infusion; medically supervised | Expensive, rarely covered, still only a third-line recommendation |
| Conventional psychiatry first | Established first- and second-line treatments with far deeper evidence; usually covered | Slow, and genuinely does fail a substantial minority — which is why this market exists |
| Psychotherapy alone | No drug risk; durable effects; addresses the same ground integration coaching gestures at | Waiting lists and cost; slower than a rapid-acting agent |
Who Should Consider It, and Who Should Look Elsewhere
It may be worth a conversation if:
- You have tried adequate courses of conventional treatment without adequate response, and have discussed ketamine with your own prescriber
- You have no cardiovascular, psychosis or substance-use contraindications, and a clinician has confirmed that
- Supervised options are genuinely out of reach — no REMS-certified Spravato site within travelling distance, no affordable infusion clinic
- You will start with the 5-session package, not finance $2,076 up front
- You have someone else in the house during sessions, and will actually use the blood pressure cuff
- You keep your existing psychiatrist in the loop rather than replacing them with a subscription
Look elsewhere if:
- You are in crisis or having thoughts of self-harm. Call or text 988. This is not the route
- You have not yet tried conventional treatment. This sits third-line at best, and the oral route sits below that
- You have a history of psychosis, or of substance use disorder
- You have uncontrolled hypertension or significant heart disease
- You would be taking sessions entirely alone in the house
- You would need guaranteed-approval financing to afford it. That is a signal about affordability, not an opportunity
- You are considering the “peak performance” or pain cream products. Neither has the evidence to justify a controlled substance
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Names its clinical team with credentials, including an MD psychiatrist as Medical Director — rare in this category and verifiable
- Unusually careful disclaimer language: “results vary and benefits are not guaranteed for any individual”
- Blood pressure cuff included — a genuine safety measure for unsupervised dosing
- Integration coaching included rather than upsold, in every package
- Free online assessment and free virtual consultation
- 24/7 concierge messaging with medical questions routed to a clinician
- The 29 states are published openly
- Entry point of $500 is far below supervised infusion clinics
- Testimonials carry explicit “individual results vary” framing
Cons
- The approved drug in this family requires 2 hours of clinic monitoring per session. This one arrives in the post
- Oral ketamine has only Level 3–4 evidence; the Level 1 evidence is intravenous
- The relevant guideline says oral formulations should be limited to specialists at tertiary centres
- Compounded oral ketamine is not FDA-approved; ketamine’s own label is anaesthesia-only, IV/IM
- Schedule III controlled substance supplied for unsupervised home use
- “Certified Integration Guide” with no certifying body named
- “Evidence-based” applied to the route with the weakest evidence
- 15-session package costs more per session ($90) than the 9-session ($88)
- Preparation appointment is shorter on larger packages — 15 minutes versus 30
- “Guaranteed Approval Financing” on a $2,076 medical purchase
- No refund or cancellation policy found; compounding pharmacy not named
- Markets “peak performance” ketamine, which is not a medical indication
- Sells a ketamine pain cream where Cochrane found no clear evidence topical ketamine reduces pain
- No BBB listing found
Limitations of This Review
Checked on 11 August 2026 against betterucare.com, plus the FDA-approved labelling for Ketalar and Spravato via the openFDA label API, 21 CFR 1308.13, the CANMAT ketamine task force recommendations, a 2022 Lancet Psychiatry systematic review, a 2025 Cochrane review, PubMed and the BBB.
We did not use the service. Nobody here completed the assessment, spoke to a clinician, received medication or took a session. We cannot tell you how thorough the screening is, how carefully candidates are excluded, what dose is prescribed, which pharmacy compounds it, or what the sessions are like — and the quality of screening is the single most important safety variable in this whole model. It is entirely possible that Better U’s clinicians screen rigorously; we simply have no way to know from outside.
Several things we could not find and have therefore not stated: the refund and cancellation policy, the compounding pharmacy, the prescribed dose range, the credentials behind the word “Certified” for integration guides, and any Trustpilot record. Prices and state availability change; verify on the live site.
On the regulatory comparison: Spravato is esketamine, given nasally, at doses and in a context that differ from low-dose oral racemic ketamine. We have set the two side by side because it is the clearest available benchmark for what regulators required when they assessed this drug family for depression — not because the products are equivalent. The CANMAT recommendations are Canadian and date from 2021; guidance evolves. Evidence levels describe the state of the literature, not a verdict on any individual’s outcome.
Nothing here is medical advice, and none of it should be used to start, stop or change treatment. Depression is a serious, treatable illness and the right treatment is a decision for you and a clinician who knows your history. If you are in crisis, contact emergency services or call or text 988.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does Better U actually sell?
At-home oral ketamine treatment for depression and anxiety, prescribed by telehealth clinicians and posted to you, wrapped in integration coaching and app-guided sessions. The site describes it as "online ketamine therapy" and "psychedelic therapy", and also offers holistic psychiatry, talk therapy, a ketamine pain cream and "peak performance" programmes. Checked on 11 August 2026, services were listed as available in 29 states.
Is ketamine FDA-approved for depression?
The ketamine you would be taking is not. The FDA-approved label for Ketalar, ketamine hydrochloride injection, indicates it only as a general anaesthetic — as the sole anaesthetic agent for procedures, for induction of anaesthesia, or as a supplement to other anaesthetics — by intramuscular or intravenous route. There is no psychiatric indication on that label and no oral route. Prescribing it for depression is off-label, which is legal and common in psychiatry, but it is not the same as approved. Compounded oral ketamine is not an FDA-approved product.
But isn't there an approved ketamine drug for depression?
Yes, and the comparison is the single most useful thing in this review. Spravato (esketamine) nasal spray is FDA-approved for treatment-resistant depression and for depressive symptoms in major depressive disorder with acute suicidal ideation. Its label carries a boxed warning for "SEDATION; DISSOCIATION; RESPIRATORY DEPRESSION; ABUSE AND MISUSE; and SUICIDAL THOUGHTS AND BEHAVIORS", states that "patients must be monitored for at least 2 hours at each treatment session" before being assessed as ready to leave the healthcare setting, and is "only available through a restricted program under a Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategy (REMS)".
So is at-home ketamine safe?
We cannot tell you that, and nobody selling it can either. What we can tell you is the contrast: when the FDA approved a drug in this family for depression, it required two hours of monitoring in a healthcare setting at every single session, because of sedation, dissociation and respiratory depression. Better U posts you the medication. The doses and route differ, and a lower oral dose may carry lower risk — but the model has not been tested to the standard the approved product was. Better U does include a blood pressure cuff in its starter kit, which is an appropriate precaution since ketamine raises blood pressure.
What does the evidence say about oral ketamine specifically?
It is much thinner than for the intravenous route, and a national guideline body has said so explicitly. The Canadian Network for Mood and Anxiety Treatments task force found that single-infusion intravenous racemic ketamine has "Level 1 evidence" in treatment-resistant depression, that multiple infusions and maintenance are "limited to Level 3", and that "there is only Level 3 or 4 evidence for non-IV formulations of racemic ketamine". Even for the best-evidenced form, their recommendation is third-line.
What did that guideline say about home use?
This sentence, which readers should weigh carefully: "Because of limited evidence for efficacy and risk for misuse and diversion, the use of oral and other formulations of racemic ketamine should be limited to specialists with ketamine-prescribing expertise and affiliations with tertiary or specialized centers." A direct-to-consumer at-home programme is not obviously that. Better U does employ named psychiatrists, which is more than many competitors, but the delivery model is not what the guideline describes.
How much does it cost?
Four packages, checked 11 August 2026. Introduction: 5 sessions at $100 each, $500 total. Transformation: 9 sessions at $88 each, $792. A 15-session package with 3 integration sessions at $90 each, $1,350. And a 27-session package with 6 integration sessions at $76 each, $2,076. All include the consultation, a virtual clinical appointment, a treatment preparation call, member portal access, integration coaching, 24/7 text access to the care team, a free "Brain Box" starter kit and medication delivery.
Which package is best value?
Watch the per-session maths, because it is not what you would expect. The price per session runs $100 for the 5-session package, $88 for 9 sessions, then back up to $90 for 15 sessions, before dropping to $76 for 27. The 15-session package therefore costs more per session than the 9-session one. The largest package is genuinely the cheapest per session, but it is also a $2,076 commitment to a treatment you have not tried yet.
Is there financing, and should I use it?
The site advertises "Split Pay Financing" from $45 to $82 a month depending on package, and "Guaranteed Approval Financing with Denefits" on the larger packages. Guaranteed-approval credit means the lender is not assessing whether you can afford it. Taking on financing for a treatment you have not tried, in a category where response rates are far from universal, is a decision worth making slowly. Start with the smallest package if you start at all.
What is in the "Brain Box"?
Per the site: a blood pressure cuff, a meditation mask, "heart diffraction glasses", and a journal and pen. The blood pressure cuff is the item that matters — ketamine raises blood pressure, and home monitoring is a sensible precaution for unsupervised dosing. The rest is set dressing for the experience.
Who should not do this?
This is general information, not medical advice, and eligibility is a clinician's decision — but the categories that consistently appear in ketamine safety guidance include uncontrolled high blood pressure or significant cardiovascular disease, a history of psychosis, a history of substance use disorder given ketamine's abuse potential, pregnancy, and anyone under 18. Spravato's label also warns of increased suicidal thoughts and behaviours in young adults on antidepressants. If you are in crisis or having thoughts of harming yourself, this is not the route — contact emergency services or a crisis line now.
Is Better U a legitimate company?
It names its clinical team with credentials, which is better practice than most telehealth we review — a Medical Director who is a psychiatrist with a combined internal medicine and psychiatry residency and geriatric psychiatry training at Mayo, a second psychiatrist, a physician assistant, a registered nurse and a licensed professional counsellor as Director of Psychotherapy. Those are checkable names, and we would encourage you to verify any prescribing clinician against your state licensing board. We found no Better Business Bureau listing for the company, though BBB coverage is voluntary and not universal.
Verdict
2.8 / 5
One of the more carefully run operations in a category that badly needs them — real named psychiatrists, honest disclaimers, a blood pressure cuff in the box — delivering a treatment by the route with the least evidence, in the setting the guidelines warn about.
Let us be clear about what this rating is not. It is not a claim that ketamine does not work for depression: single-infusion intravenous ketamine carries Level 1 evidence in treatment-resistant depression, and for people whom conventional treatment has failed, that matters enormously. Nor is it a claim that Better U is a cowboy operation. It names its psychiatrists. It writes “results vary and benefits are not guaranteed for any individual” on its own homepage. It builds integration coaching into every package rather than selling it separately, and it ships a blood pressure cuff because ketamine raises blood pressure. That is a company trying to do this properly.
The problem is structural, and it is not solved by good intentions. The FDA-approved label for ketamine covers anaesthesia only, by injection. The one product in this family approved for depression — Spravato — carries a boxed warning for sedation, dissociation and respiratory depression, is available only through a REMS, and requires that patients be “monitored for at least 2 hours at each treatment session” before being judged fit to leave. Better U posts you the medicine.
And on the evidence the marketing leans on: the word “evidence-based” is attached to the route that has the least. CANMAT grades non-intravenous racemic ketamine at Level 3 or 4, and wrote that oral formulations “should be limited to specialists with ketamine-prescribing expertise and affiliations with tertiary or specialized centers”. That is a description of a hospital, not a mailing list of 29 states.
If you are going to do this anyway — and for someone failed by conventional treatment, with no supervised option within reach, that is a defensible choice made with a clinician — then do it in the smallest increment. Take the free assessment. Buy the $500 package, not the $2,076 one. Refuse guaranteed-approval financing. Have someone else in the house. Use the cuff. And keep your own doctor in the loop, because a subscription is not a psychiatrist.
Medical disclaimer and review date
This review is general consumer information, not medical advice. Ketamine is a Schedule III controlled substance; oral ketamine for depression is an off-label use of a compounded product that is not FDA-approved, and compounded medications are not reviewed by the FDA for safety or efficacy. Whether any treatment suits you is a decision for a licensed clinician who knows your medical history and current medications. Nothing here should be used to start, stop or change treatment.
If you are in crisis or having thoughts of harming yourself, call or text 988 (US Suicide & Crisis Lifeline) or contact emergency services. Details come from betterucare.com, FDA-approved labelling, the CFR, published guidelines and the peer-reviewed literature as at the date below. Reviewed 11 August 2026.
Questions to Ask Before You Pay
What is the refund and cancellation policy, in writing? Which pharmacy compounds the medication, and is it a 503A or 503B facility? What dose am I being prescribed, and how was it chosen? Who is my prescribing clinician, and what is their licence number in my state? What certifies a “Certified Integration Guide”? What happens if I have an adverse reaction at 2am? And can I start with the 5-session package rather than financing the 27?