Supplements|By The Weight Weight Team|August 8, 2026

Ferris Wheel Kanna Review – The Lab Report Found Caffeine

What Ferris Wheel Is and Who It Is For

Ferris Wheel sells kanna tablets and gummies as an alcohol alternative — pitched at festivals, nights out and the sober-curious. Party Tablets are $24.99 for two tablets in four flavours, Daily Mood Gummies are $34.99, and you must be 21 to buy. The company is FW Wellness, Inc.

Kanna is a real plant with real pharmacology, and that is exactly why this review spends most of its time on one thing: the active compound works on the serotonin system, the product does not tell you how much of it you are getting, and the label never mentions antidepressants.

Affiliate disclosure: we earn a 30% commission if you buy through our links. That is a high rate and you should factor it into how you read this.

This article is informational only and is not medical advice. Talk to a licensed clinician or a pharmacist before taking this, especially if you take any prescription medication. All details checked 8 August 2026.

Kanna Is a Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitor

This is the fact that reframes everything else, and it is not disputed or fringe — it is in the titles of the papers.

A 2013 paper in Neuropsychopharmacology is titled: “Acute effects of Sceletium tortuosum (Zembrin), a dual 5-HT reuptake and PDE4 inhibitor, in the human amygdala...”

A 2005 synthesis paper in the Journal of Organic Chemistry describes kanna’s principal alkaloid mesembrine as “the nanomolar serotonin re-uptake inhibitor (-)-mesembrine.”

5-HT is serotonin. Reuptake inhibition is what an SSRI does. And “nanomolar” describes potency — it means the compound is active at very low concentrations, not that it is a gentle botanical nudge.

None of this makes kanna dangerous by itself. A great many people use it without incident, it is not a controlled substance under US federal law, and the traditional use record is centuries long. What it means is that kanna belongs in the mental category of “things that act on serotonin,” not the category of “herbal supplement, probably inert.”

Ferris Wheel’s own marketing implicitly agrees. A product promising a “warm, euphoric mood lift” that you can feel within 45 to 60 minutes and that lasts two to four hours is not claiming to be inert. You cannot market a noticeable psychoactive effect and treat the pharmacology as a footnote.

The Warning That Is Not on the Label

Here is what Ferris Wheel does warn about, and it is a more complete list than many supplement brands bother with:

  • Adults 21+ only, keep out of reach of children
  • “Do not drive or operate heavy machinery after use”
  • Contains caffeine; not recommended if you are caffeine-sensitive, pregnant or nursing
  • “Consult your healthcare professional before use if you have a medical condition or are taking any medications”

What is missing is any specific mention of antidepressants, MAOIs, or serotonin syndrome.

For a product whose primary mechanism is serotonin reuptake inhibition, “consult your healthcare professional... if you are taking any medications” is too generic to do the job.

The reason this matters more here than for a typical supplement is the use case they are selling. This is marketed for festivals, nightlife and late-night socialising — settings where combining substances is common and where the person taking it has usually not read a label at all.

Antidepressant prescriptions are extremely common in exactly the demographic this targets. A twenty-something on an SSRI who buys a “plant-powered” alcohol alternative has no obvious reason to suspect they are stacking two serotonergic agents. Nothing on the product tells them.

Our advice, plainly: if you take any antidepressant, migraine triptan, tramadol, MAOI or other serotonergic medicine, ask a pharmacist before you take this. A pharmacist will answer that question free, in about two minutes, and it is the single highest-value thing you can do before trying it.

All Four Trials, and What They Actually Measured

There are 53 papers on Sceletium tortuosum in PubMed and four randomised controlled trials. That is a small evidence base, so we read all four rather than summarising a summary.

TrialSize & doseFinding
Safety study, 201337 adults, 8mg & 25mg, 3 monthsNo apparent differences in vital signs, ECG, weight or physical exam. “No efficacy variables were assessed.”
fMRI study, 201316 adults, single 25mgAmygdala reactivity to fearful faces attenuated; amygdala–hypothalamus coupling reduced
Anxiety studies, 2020Two studies, single 25mgStudy 1: no treatment effect. Study 2: lower subjective anxiety. Authors call it “first tentative behavioral evidence”
Performance study, 202060 trained adults, 25mg, 8 daysImproved complex reactive performance under cognitive load; no significant change in other measures

Read fairly, that is a genuine but modest signal. Something is happening — amygdala reactivity moved, one anxiety study was positive, one reaction measure improved, and the three-month safety data was clean. Kanna is not snake oil, and we are not going to pretend it is.

But look at what every single trial has in common: 25 milligrams of a specific standardised extract, taken once a day, in ordinary daytime conditions, measured on anxiety, mood and reaction time.

Not one of them studied kanna as an alcohol substitute. None studied it in the evening, at a party, at recreational doses, combined with caffeine, or combined with anything else people combine things with at festivals. None measured euphoria, sociability or “clean energy.”

So the research supports roughly none of the marketing. It supports the idea that a standardised 25mg daily dose is well tolerated over three months and may modestly reduce anxiety measures. That is a different product from the one being sold.

The Problem: You Cannot Find Out the Dose

Everything above hinges on 25mg being the studied dose. So the obvious next question is how much kanna is in a Ferris Wheel tablet.

Here is the entire active ingredients declaration:

“Active ingredients: Proprietary Adaptogenic-Nootropic Blend: Kanna Extract, Hydro Caffeine, L-Arginine, Beta-Alanine, Hydro L-Theanine, Hydro Piperine, Choline, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Vitamins B1, B2, and B12.”

No quantity for anything. Not the kanna, not the caffeine. A proprietary blend discloses the ingredients and hides the amounts, which is legal and common — and here it means you cannot compare what you are taking to the only dose anyone has ever studied.

The undisclosed caffeine is its own issue. The label warns the product contains caffeine but not how much, which makes it impossible to manage against the coffee, energy drinks or pre-workout someone might already have had — particularly on a night out, and particularly at up to two tablets a day.

And note the piperine. Piperine is a black pepper extract included in supplements specifically to increase absorption of other compounds. Adding an absorption enhancer in an undisclosed amount, to an undisclosed amount of a serotonergic alkaloid, is the opposite of the direction this formulation should be going.

Beta-alanine is also worth a word, not because it is dangerous but because it commonly causes paraesthesia — a harmless tingling or prickling of the skin. If you feel that, it is probably the beta-alanine and not evidence the product is “working.”

What the Lab Reports Actually Test

The marketing promises “premium, third-party tested Kanna extract,” and the product page links to lab reports. We downloaded the one published for Blue Razz, batch FW001. It contains two separate documents.

Document one — a GC/MS identification scan by Brite Box Labs:

  • The sample is described as “Caffeine Active (Off-white powder, Batch FW001)”
  • Peaks were “tentatively identified” against the NIST and SWGDRUG databases
  • “Only the following compound was tentatively identified: Caffeine.”
  • Footer: “For Research, Forensic, and Harm Reduction Purposes”

We want to be scrupulously fair about what this does and does not mean. The sample name suggests this was an identity check on the caffeine raw material rather than an assay of the finished tablet, and that is a legitimate and sensible thing for a manufacturer to do. It is not evidence that there is no kanna in the product.

But it is published on a page titled “Lab Reports for Blue Razz” as the product’s lab report, and what it establishes is the presence of caffeine. A buyer clicking “View Lab Reports” on a kanna product is reasonably expecting the kanna to have been measured.

Document two — an SC Laboratories certificate, and this one is genuinely good:

PanelResult
PesticidesPASS
Microbiology (PCR)PASS
MycotoxinsPASS
Heavy metalsPASS
Residual solventsPASS
Foreign materialPASS

SC Labs is ISO/IEC 17025:2017 accredited (PJLA accreditation number 87168), the certificate is batch-linked, signed by a named analyst, dated, and carries a QR code to verify authenticity. That is a real contaminant panel and better than the great majority of supplement brands publish.

But note what kind of certificate it is: “Hemp Regulatory Compliance Testing,” certified under California Department of Cannabis Control regulations.

That framework tests contaminants and cannabinoids. It has no assay for mesembrine or kanna alkaloids, because it was never designed to.

So the position after reading both documents is this: the product has been properly tested for things that could poison you, and there is no document anywhere establishing how much of the active ingredient it contains.

One further factual note: the SC Labs certificate lists the “Distributor / Tested For” as TRE House, a hemp products brand. We draw no conclusion from that beyond recording it.

Credit Where It Is Due

This review is critical, so it is worth collecting the things Ferris Wheel does better than its category — and there are several, some of them unusual.

  • Accredited contaminant testing, published per batch, with QR verification. Most supplement brands publish nothing.
  • An honest answer on legality. Their FAQ says kanna “is not a controlled substance under federal law” but that “specific state and local laws may vary” — accurate, and it does not overclaim.
  • A hedged safety answer. “Kanna, in general, is considered safe, but safety depends on adhering to the suggested serving size” — measured language.
  • 21+ gating and a do-not-drive warning, neither of which they were obliged to add.
  • Sensible use instructions — wait 45 to 60 minutes before considering a second tablet, maximum two per day.
  • A refund policy that survives contact with reality, discussed below.

Pricing and What a Night Costs

ProductPriceUnit cost
Party Tablets, 2 count$24.99$12.50 per tablet
Party Blend Bundle$89.99 (from $99.96)
Daily Mood Gummies$34.99

The number that matters: a container is two tablets, and two tablets is the stated daily maximum. So one container is one night at the maximum serving, and a night out costs $24.99 of product — before you buy anything else.

That is not obviously cheaper than the drinks it replaces, which is worth saying because “alcohol alternative” often carries an unspoken implication of thrift. Free shipping kicks in at $75, and subscriptions are advertised at 25% off.

On the subscription: we would want to see the renewal interval and cancellation route stated before signing up for a recurring order — and on a product you may find does nothing for you, buying a single container first is the obviously sensible move.

A Refund Policy That Actually Works

We test every guarantee against one question: does it cover the failure that actually happens? For a supplement, the failure that actually happens is that you try it and it does nothing — and most guarantees void the moment you open the box, which makes them worthless.

Ferris Wheel’s 60-day guarantee covers “unopened products (or items containing a reasonable amount of the unused product), in original packaging.”

“Only unopened or minimally used items... may be returned” — so trying it and returning the rest is explicitly permitted.

That passes the test, and it is genuinely uncommon. It is the difference between a guarantee that protects the seller and one that protects the buyer.

The honest caveats: “reasonable amount” and “minimally used” are undefined and left to their discretion; shipping charges are non-refundable; damaged items must be reported within 48 hours; and promotional items must be returned or their value is deducted.

One thing to know before you buy: the terms of service contain an arbitration clause and a class action waiver, which means disputes are resolved individually through binding arbitration.

Their Comparison Table, and One Claim Worth Questioning

Ferris Wheel publishes its own comparison, scoring itself against alcohol, “social tonic,” cannabis and “black market” on four attributes: plant powered, wake up clear, lights you up, and non-habit forming. It gives itself a tick on all four.

Three of those are marketing claims about experience and we will let them stand. The fourth is a pharmacological assertion.

“Non-habit forming,” presented as a verified tick, is not established by the evidence base we read. Four small trials at 25mg daily, the longest running three months, none designed to assess dependence liability, cannot support an unqualified claim of that kind — least of all for a euphoria-marketed product intended for repeated recreational use at an undisclosed dose.

We are not asserting the opposite either. We have no evidence that kanna is habit forming. The point is that nobody has looked, and a tick in a comparison table implies somebody has.

Also worth noticing: the comparison set is alcohol, cannabis and the black market. That is a revealing choice of competitors for a dietary supplement, and it tells you honestly what this product is for.

Who Should Not Take This

Plainly, and this list is the most useful thing on the page:

  • Anyone taking an SSRI, SNRI, MAOI, triptan, tramadol, lithium or any other serotonergic medicine — ask a pharmacist first, without exception
  • Anyone who is pregnant, nursing or trying to conceive — the company says this too
  • Anyone under 21, per the company’s own gating
  • Anyone caffeine-sensitive, or with a heart condition, arrhythmia or high blood pressure — there is undisclosed caffeine in it
  • Anyone who will be driving — the label says do not drive or operate machinery after use, and that includes getting home
  • Anyone planning to combine it with other substances at a festival. Nobody has studied those combinations, and the serotonergic mechanism makes some of them a genuinely bad idea.
  • Anyone with a history of substance dependence, given that the dependence question is simply unstudied

Commonly reported effects of this kind of formulation include nausea, headache, jitteriness or anxiety from the caffeine, tingling skin from the beta-alanine, and appetite or sleep disruption. Individual responses vary and none of this is a complete list — a clinician who knows your history is the right source.

How It Compares

Ferris WheelStandardised kanna extractNon-alcoholic drinks
Active dose disclosedNoYes, typically 25mgNot applicable
Matches the studied doseUnknowableYesNot applicable
Contaminant testing publishedYes, accreditedVariesFood standards
Serotonergic interaction riskYes, unlabelledYesNone
Cost per occasionUp to $24.99Typically much lowerVaries

If what you want is the thing the research actually supports — a standardised 25mg daily kanna extract for mood and stress — a plain standardised extract gives you the studied dose, on the label, usually for less. What Ferris Wheel adds is flavour, stimulants, convenience and packaging built for a night out.

And if what you want is to not drink, the non-alcoholic drinks category does that with no pharmacology, no interactions and no dose question at all. That is a genuinely underrated option and it belongs in this comparison honestly.

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Accredited SC Labs contaminant panel published per batch, all PASS, QR-verifiable
  • 60-day guarantee that explicitly accepts partially used product
  • Kanna has a real, characterised pharmacology and four RCTs behind it
  • Three-month safety data at 25mg was clean on vitals, ECG and bloods
  • 21+ gating, do-not-drive warning, caffeine and pregnancy warnings present
  • Accurate, non-overclaiming answer on legal status
  • Clear serving guidance and a stated daily maximum

Cons

  • Proprietary blend: the kanna dose is not disclosed anywhere
  • No potency assay for the active ingredient in any published document
  • The lab report headlined for the product identified only caffeine
  • No specific warning about antidepressants, MAOIs or serotonin syndrome
  • Caffeine content undisclosed, in a product taken on nights out
  • Piperine, an absorption enhancer, also in undisclosed amount
  • “Non-habit forming” ticked as verified, but unstudied
  • No trial has studied the marketed use case at all
  • $12.50 per tablet, up to $24.99 for one night at the maximum
  • Arbitration clause and class action waiver in the terms

Limitations of This Review

Our general web search capability was unavailable, so this review is built from the company’s own site, product page, terms, refund policy and downloaded lab report PDF, plus direct PubMed queries and the four trial abstracts.

That means no independent signal. We did not review Trustpilot, the BBB, Reddit threads, news coverage or regulatory records. The review counts shown on Ferris Wheel’s own site — over 5,000 on one flavour — are self-hosted and we have not verified them. Treat all of that as unchecked rather than clean or damning.

We read abstracts, not full papers, for the four trials. We have described what each measured and found as precisely as the abstracts allow, including where results were null.

We have not taken the product, so we cannot tell you what it feels like or whether it works. We verified one lab report for one batch of one flavour.

On the pharmacology: we have reported the mechanism as the primary literature describes it and flagged the interaction class it implies. We have not quantified the risk, because with an undisclosed dose that cannot honestly be done — which is rather the point. Prices and policies were current on 8 August 2026.

Nothing here is medical advice. If you take prescription medication, the person to ask is a pharmacist or your doctor, not a review page.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is kanna and how does it work?

Kanna is Sceletium tortuosum, a South African succulent with a long history of traditional use. Its pharmacology is well characterised in the peer-reviewed literature: a 2013 Neuropsychopharmacology paper describes the standardised extract as "a dual 5-HT reuptake and PDE4 inhibitor," and a 2005 synthesis paper in the Journal of Organic Chemistry describes its principal alkaloid mesembrine as a "nanomolar serotonin re-uptake inhibitor." In plain terms, its main mechanism is the same class of action as an SSRI antidepressant.

Can I take this if I am on an antidepressant?

Ask a doctor or pharmacist before you do, and treat that as the single most important sentence in this review. Kanna inhibits serotonin reuptake; so do SSRIs and SNRIs. Combining serotonergic agents is the classic setup for serotonin syndrome. Ferris Wheel's label says to consult a physician if you take medications, but it never names antidepressants, MAOIs or serotonin syndrome specifically, and we think it should.

How much kanna is in a tablet?

The label does not say. The active ingredients are listed as a "Proprietary Adaptogenic-Nootropic Blend" containing kanna extract, hydro caffeine, L-arginine, beta-alanine, hydro L-theanine, hydro piperine, choline and several vitamins, with no individual quantities. We could not find the kanna quantity in any document on the site, including the lab reports. Checked 8 August 2026.

What did the published lab report actually test?

Two things, neither of which is kanna content. A GC/MS identification scan by Brite Box Labs on a sample described as "Caffeine Active" tentatively identified one compound: caffeine. Separately, SC Laboratories ran a genuine accredited safety panel on the finished product - pesticides, microbiology, mycotoxins, foreign material, residual solvents and heavy metals, all PASS. That contaminant testing is real and good. Neither document assays kanna or mesembrine.

What does the research actually show?

There are four randomised controlled trials of Sceletium tortuosum on PubMed. A 3-month safety study in 37 healthy adults at 8mg and 25mg found no apparent differences in vital signs, ECG, weight or physical examination, but states plainly that "no efficacy variables were assessed." A 16-person fMRI study found reduced amygdala reactivity after a single 25mg dose. A 2020 paper ran two anxiety studies: the first found no treatment effect, the second found lower subjective anxiety, and the authors called it "the first tentative behavioral evidence." A 60-person, 8-day study found improvement in one complex reaction measure but not others.

Does any of that research apply to using it at a party?

No. Every trial used 25mg of a specific standardised extract, taken once daily, in ordinary daytime conditions, measuring anxiety, mood and reaction time. None studied kanna as an alcohol substitute, at recreational doses, in the evening, in a nightlife setting, or combined with anything else. The evidence base and the marketed use case have almost nothing to do with each other.

What does it cost?

Party Tablets are $24.99 for a 2-tablet container, which is $12.50 per tablet. The stated maximum is two tablets per day, so a night at the maximum serving is $24.99 of product. The Party Blend Bundle is $89.99, reduced from $99.96. Daily Mood Gummies are $34.99. Free shipping over $75, and the site advertises 25% off subscriptions. Prices checked 8 August 2026.

Can I return it if I do not like it?

Yes, and this is one of the better policies we have seen. The 60-day guarantee covers "unopened products (or items containing a reasonable amount of the unused product), in original packaging" - so trying it and returning the rest is explicitly allowed, unlike most supplement guarantees that void the moment you open the box. Shipping charges are non-refundable and damaged items must be reported within 48 hours.

Verdict

2.4 / 5

Properly tested for what could poison you, silent on how much of the active ingredient you are taking, and silent on the one drug interaction that matters.

Ferris Wheel is not a scam, and we want to be clear about that. Kanna is a real plant with characterised pharmacology and four controlled trials. The contaminant testing is accredited, batch-linked and genuinely above average, and the 60-day guarantee is one of the few in this category that still works after you have opened the box. They gate at 21, warn you not to drive, and describe the legal position accurately. Those are not the actions of a cynical operation.

But two gaps sit at the centre of the product, and neither is small.

The first is the dose. Every trial ever run used 25mg of a standardised extract. Ferris Wheel puts kanna in a proprietary blend and discloses no amount, the caffeine alongside it is also undisclosed, and there is an absorption enhancer in there too. The lab report a buyer is pointed to identified caffeine. The accredited certificate is a hemp-compliance contaminant panel with no kanna assay. Across the entire site, nothing tells you how much of the active ingredient you are swallowing.

The second is the warning. Kanna’s main mechanism is serotonin reuptake inhibition — that is in the title of a Neuropsychopharmacology paper, not a theory of ours. This is sold for festivals and nights out, to an age group in which antidepressant prescriptions are common, and the label never mentions them. “Consult your healthcare professional if you are taking any medications” is not enough when the interaction is this specific and this foreseeable.

If you are curious and take no medication, the honest position is that it might do something pleasant, the contaminant testing means it is unlikely to harm you through impurities, and the refund policy means trying it is low risk financially. Buy one container rather than a bundle, and do not drive.

If you take an antidepressant, ask a pharmacist before you touch it. That conversation is free and takes two minutes, and it is the thing this product’s label should have told you to do.

Before You Buy

If you take an SSRI, SNRI, MAOI, triptan or tramadol, ask a pharmacist first - kanna inhibits serotonin reuptake and the label does not mention it. The kanna dose is inside a proprietary blend and is not disclosed anywhere on the site, so you cannot compare it to the 25mg used in every trial ever run. The lab report linked from the product page identified caffeine; the accredited certificate is a contaminant panel with no kanna assay. On the good side, that contaminant panel is real, accredited and passed on every measure, and the 60-day guarantee accepts partially used product, so trying one $24.99 container is genuinely low risk. Do not drive after taking it. We earn 30 percent if you buy through our link. Informational only, not medical advice.