Hone Health publishes its prices, runs real lab panels and sells older weight medications at genuinely low prices. Then you reach the GLP-1 and find it is liraglutide — a daily injection that the field largely moved on from. The question is why, and the answer is worth understanding before you buy.
Why Is the GLP-1 Liraglutide?
The offering is compounded liraglutide at $160 per month plus membership, taken as a daily injection. Liraglutide is a real GLP-1 receptor agonist with a real approval for weight management, so this is not a fringe product. It is simply the oldest and weakest member of the class.
The trial results are not close. Liraglutide 3.0 mg produced roughly 8% mean weight loss at 56 weeks. Semaglutide 2.4 mg produced roughly 15% at 68 weeks. Tirzepatide 15 mg produced roughly 21% at 72 weeks. And liraglutide asks for seven injections a week instead of one.
So the deal on the table is roughly half the weight loss of semaglutide and under 40% of tirzepatide’s, at seven times the injection frequency, for $160 a month before membership. On efficacy per dollar and on convenience, that is the worst position in the class — and nothing on the site frames it that way.
There are patients for whom liraglutide is a reasonable choice. Its shorter half-life means side effects clear faster if they become intolerable, which some prescribers value when a patient has reacted badly to a weekly agent. But that is a considered second-line reason, not a default, and it is not the reason the site gives — because the site gives none.
The Likely Reason
The explanation is probably regulatory rather than clinical, and it is useful to understand because it now shapes what this whole category can sell.
Compounding a copy of a commercially available drug is broadly restricted, with a shortage of that drug being the main exception. That exception is what allowed compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide to flood the market — and it closed when the FDA resolved the tirzepatide shortage in October 2024 and the semaglutide shortage on 21 February 2025. Our compounded versus brand-name guide covers what that changed.
Liraglutide sits in a different position: it is the oldest GLP-1 in the class and its exclusivity has lapsed, with generic versions on the market. A business that wants to keep selling a compounded GLP-1 after the shortage pathway closed has a much easier time with liraglutide than with the two drugs everyone actually wants.
We cannot confirm that is Hone’s reasoning, and the site does not state one. But when a company offers the least effective option in a drug class and does not explain why, the availability answer is usually closer than the clinical one. It also raises an obvious follow-up: if generic liraglutide exists as an FDA-approved product, why buy a compounded copy of it rather than the approved generic? That is the question to put to them directly.
The Generics Are the Good Part
The rest of the weight menu is better than it first looks: naltrexone $60, bupropion $60, phentermine $65 and topiramate $65 per month. These are inexpensive generics with real evidence behind them — naltrexone with bupropion, and phentermine with topiramate, are the components of two approved combination weight medications, and the individual drugs have been used in obesity medicine for years.
For someone who cannot afford a GLP-1, or cannot tolerate one, having these priced honestly and prescribed with lab monitoring is a legitimately good offer. They produce less weight loss than the GLP-1s — typically high single digits — but they cost a fraction as much, and a service willing to sell the cheap option instead of upselling deserves credit for it.
Sermorelin at $175 is the outlier. It is a growth hormone secretagogue with no weight-loss evidence base comparable to anything else on the list, priced above every medication that does have one.
What It Actually Costs
Two tiers: Basic at $25 per month, which covers advanced lab testing every six months, the ability to purchase physician consults, and members-only medication pricing; and Premium at $155 per month, which includes regular lab testing, physician consults and full access to the medication range. A 50-biomarker blood panel is $65. Physician review is stated at five days, medication arrival at ten, and membership is cancel-anytime with no commitment.
Run the arithmetic before choosing a tier. Liraglutide on Basic is $185 a month, or about $2,220 a year. On Premium it is $315 a month, close to $3,800 a year — for a medication with roughly half semaglutide’s effect. Naltrexone and bupropion together on Basic come to $145 a month.
The lab-led framing is a real differentiator. A 50-biomarker panel at $65, twice a year on the cheapest tier, is more objective measurement than most of this category does at any price — several providers we have reviewed require no labs at all.
Provider Facts
| Medications offered | Compounded liraglutide $160/month; naltrexone $60; bupropion $60; phentermine $65; topiramate $65; sermorelin $175 - all plus membership |
|---|---|
| Brand-name or compounded | Compounded for the GLP-1; status of the other medications not individually stated |
| Consultation process | Online, with physician consults included at the Premium tier and purchasable at Basic; physician review stated at five days |
| Eligibility | Not published - no BMI threshold stated |
| Provider involvement | Physician review of lab results before a treatment plan |
| Lab requirements | Central to the model - 50-biomarker blood panel at $65; every six months on Basic, regular testing on Premium |
| Pharmacy fulfillment | Not published |
| Shipping frequency | Medication arrival stated at around ten days |
| Support services | Lab-led monitoring and physician consults; no coaching or dietitian component published |
| Membership fees | Basic $25/month; Premium $155/month |
| Medication fees | Charged separately on top of membership, from $60 to $175 per month by medication |
| Cancellation policy | Stated as no commitments, cancel anytime |
| Refund policy | Not published |
| Insurance | Not published |
| HSA/FSA | Not published |
| Availability | Not published - no state list found |
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Every medication price published, plus both membership tiers
- 50-biomarker lab panel at $65, with testing built into the cheapest tier
- Cheap, evidence-supported generic weight medications from $60
- Physician review of labs before prescribing
- Cancel anytime with no commitment
- Stated timelines for review and delivery
Cons
- Its GLP-1 is liraglutide — roughly half semaglutide’s trial result
- Daily injection rather than weekly
- Compounded rather than the approved generic, with no reason given
- No explanation of why this GLP-1 was chosen over the alternatives
- Sermorelin priced above everything with real evidence behind it
- No states, BMI criteria, pharmacy, insurance or refund policy published
Who It May Be Best For
A good fit if you want the cheap generic medications with lab monitoring behind them. Naltrexone, bupropion, phentermine and topiramate at $60–$65 a month on a $25 membership is one of the better-value offers we have seen, and the labs are real.
Also reasonable if you want objective measurement — a 50-biomarker panel twice a year is more monitoring than most competitors provide.
Look elsewhere for the GLP-1. If a GLP-1 is what you want, liraglutide is the weakest option in the class and Hone gives no clinical reason for choosing it. Ask why it is compounded rather than the approved generic, and what the equivalent semaglutide or tirzepatide would cost elsewhere before committing.
Alternatives
Measured publishes brand-name Wegovy and Zepbound prices. Marek Health takes the same lab-led approach with tirzepatide. Maximus is the closest men’s-health comparison, and Joi + Blokes also lists liraglutide, alongside brand-name Zepbound. Our cheapest GLP-1 programs page covers the low-cost end.
Limitations of This Review
Based on Hone Health’s own published materials, checked on 5 September 2026. Prices are those displayed and exclude membership unless stated; annual totals are our arithmetic. Tirzepatide is referenced on the site but we could not confirm its price on the pages we reached, so it is not counted here. Anything marked not published means we could not find it. The trial figures for liraglutide, semaglutide and tirzepatide come from the published literature, and the account of compounding rules and shortage resolution dates comes from FDA materials — neither is a claim by Hone. Our reading of why liraglutide was chosen is an inference and is labelled as one. Nothing here is medical advice.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is liraglutide as good as semaglutide?
No. Liraglutide 3.0 mg produced roughly 8% mean weight loss at 56 weeks in its registration trial, against roughly 15% for semaglutide 2.4 mg and 21% for tirzepatide 15 mg. Liraglutide is also a daily injection rather than weekly.
Why would a provider offer liraglutide?
Most likely availability. The shortage exception that allowed compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide closed when the FDA resolved those shortages in October 2024 and February 2025. Liraglutide is older, its exclusivity has lapsed, and it is easier to keep supplying. Hone does not state a reason.
What does a month really cost?
Liraglutide is $160 plus membership — $185 a month on Basic, $315 on Premium. The generic options are $60–$65 plus membership. Labs are $65 per panel.
Are the cheaper medications worth taking?
They have real evidence behind them, producing less weight loss than GLP-1s but at a fraction of the cost. Naltrexone with bupropion and phentermine with topiramate are the components of two approved combination weight medications. Whether any is right for you is a prescriber’s decision.
Verdict
3.3 / 5 — $25 or $155/month membership, plus $60–$175 medication
Honest pricing, real labs and a genuinely good cheap-generic offer, wrapped around a GLP-1 that is the weakest in its class, given as a daily injection, compounded rather than approved, with no explanation.
The point worth carrying beyond this provider: after the compounding shortage exception closed, expect to see more of the older, off-patent molecules reappear under the GLP-1 banner. “A GLP-1” is not one thing. Ask which molecule, at what dose, how often, and what its own trial showed — the gap between the best and worst member of this class is larger than the gap between the worst one and no drug at all.
Medical Disclaimer & Review Date
This review is general consumer information, not medical advice. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious contraindications, and whether any treatment is appropriate for you is a decision only a licensed healthcare provider who knows your medical history can make. Nothing here should be used to start, stop, or change a medication.
Details in this review come from Hone Health's own published materials as of the date below. Pricing, medication availability, state coverage, and policies in this category change frequently — verify current terms directly with the provider before purchasing.
Date reviewed: September 5, 2026