Marek Health does the diagnostic work that most of this category skips entirely — real panels, a proper consultation, a named medication. It also asks for $749 before it prescribes anything, and will not tell you what the prescription costs.
$749 Before Any Medication
There are two published prerequisites. The $299 initial consultation package covers a personalised assessment, a custom lab panel, a 25-minute consultation with a provider and initial setup. Separately, the programme states a minimum $450 lab panel purchase requirement.
That is $749 spent before a single dose is dispensed — the highest published cost-to-entry we have found in this category, and roughly what several competitors charge for two or three months of medication including consultations.
The charge is not automatically unreasonable. Comprehensive lab work costs money, and a service that runs it properly is doing something a $99 intake quiz is not. But the framing matters: this is a compulsory minimum spend, not an optional upgrade, and it is incurred before anyone has told you whether you are even a candidate for treatment.
The One Price It Will Not Publish
Marek publishes the consultation price and the lab minimum. It does not publish the price of the medication or its refills — the recurring cost that dominates the total over any real course of treatment.
This is a specific kind of disclosure gap, and worse than publishing nothing. A site with no prices at all signals plainly that you will have to ask. A site that publishes two of three numbers reads as transparent while withholding the one that decides affordability. A patient can arrive at $749 spent, be told the monthly figure for the first time, and be choosing between an unaffordable prescription and a sunk cost.
Compare it with the services that do publish medication cost — Measured lists ranges for both brand-name and compounded, and Hone Health prices every drug on its menu. Publishing the recurring number is normal in this field, which makes withholding it a choice.
“FDA-Approved Pharmacies”
Fulfilment is described as exclusive access to Marek Health’s “FDA-approved pharmacies”. That phrase does not describe anything the FDA does.
The FDA approves drugs, not pharmacies. Traditional compounding pharmacies are licensed by their state boards; outsourcing facilities register with the FDA, which is a filing rather than an approval. And the agency is explicit that it does not review compounded preparations for safety, effectiveness or quality at all.
So “FDA-approved pharmacies” puts the words “FDA-approved” next to a product for which they cannot apply. Whether that is loose drafting or deliberate positioning, the effect on a reader is the same — and it is compounded by the site never stating whether the medication itself is compounded or brand-name. That is the question the phrase most obscures, and the first one to ask.
The Diagnostics Are Real
Set against that, the clinical substance is better than most of the category. Tirzepatide is named, correctly described as a once-weekly dual GLP-1 and GIP agonist, with semaglutide referenced too — many competitors never name a molecule at all. A 25-minute consultation is a real appointment rather than an asynchronous form. Monthly coach check-ins are included.
The lab-first sequence is the right order of operations. Running a comprehensive panel and having a provider read it before prescribing is what obesity medicine is supposed to look like, and it is the opposite of the intake-quiz-to-injection pipeline that dominates here. If you were going to pay for extensive lab work anyway, the $450 minimum stops looking like a toll and starts looking like the service.
Marek is also clear that it works only with US residents, and a cancellation policy exists in its own right even though the terms are not summarised on the programme page.
Provider Facts
| Medications offered | Tirzepatide, described as a once-weekly dual GLP-1 and GIP agonist; semaglutide referenced in supporting material |
|---|---|
| Brand-name or compounded | Not stated - the site does not say whether medication is compounded or brand-name |
| Consultation process | $299 initial package including intake, custom lab panel, 25-minute provider consultation and setup |
| Eligibility | Not published - no BMI threshold stated; US residents only |
| Provider involvement | Provider consultation plus monthly coach check-ins |
| Lab requirements | Required - a minimum $450 lab panel purchase, read by a provider before prescribing |
| Pharmacy fulfillment | Described as Marek Health's own network, characterised on site as FDA-approved pharmacies; not individually named |
| Shipping frequency | Stated as delivered to your door; timings not published |
| Support services | Monthly Marek Health coach check-ins |
| Membership fees | Not published as a separate recurring membership |
| Medication fees | Not published - neither initial medication nor refill pricing appears on the site |
| Cancellation policy | A policy exists on a separate page; terms not summarised on the programme page |
| Refund policy | Not published |
| Insurance | Not published |
| HSA/FSA | Not published |
| Availability | US residents only; individual state restrictions not published |
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Names tirzepatide and describes its mechanism accurately
- Comprehensive lab work read by a provider before prescribing
- A real 25-minute consultation, not an asynchronous form
- Monthly coach check-ins included
- Publishes the consultation price and the lab minimum up front
Cons
- $749 minimum spend before any medication is dispensed
- Medication and refill pricing never published
- Describes its pharmacies as “FDA-approved”, which is not a thing the FDA does
- Does not say whether medication is compounded or brand-name
- No state list, BMI criteria, insurance or HSA/FSA detail
- Refund terms not stated on the programme page
Who It May Be Best For
A reasonable fit if you actively want comprehensive lab work and a real consultation, and you would have paid for extensive diagnostics regardless. In that case the $450 is buying something rather than gating something.
Ask three questions before paying anything: what the medication costs per month, whether it is compounded or brand-name, and which states are served. All three are answerable and none is answered on the site.
Avoid if cost is the binding constraint. $749 before treatment starts, with an undisclosed monthly figure after it, is the wrong shape of deal for a tight budget — our cheapest GLP-1 programs page covers better options there.
Alternatives
Hone Health runs the same lab-led model with every price published and a $65 panel. Measured publishes brand-name medication prices. Maximus is a close comparison for the optimisation framing. Our best online GLP-1 providers page ranks the field.
Limitations of This Review
Based on Marek Health’s own published materials at marekhealth.com, checked on 5 September 2026. The $749 figure is the sum of the two published prerequisites and is our arithmetic, not a number Marek states. Medication pricing may be disclosed during the consultation; anything marked not published means we could not find it on the pages we reached. The description of what the FDA does and does not approve reflects the agency’s own published position on compounded drugs, not a claim by Marek. Nothing here is medical advice.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does Marek Health cost to start?
A $299 initial consultation package plus a stated minimum $450 lab panel purchase, so $749 before medication. The medication price is not published.
Can a pharmacy be “FDA-approved”?
Not in the sense the phrase implies. The FDA approves drugs. Compounding pharmacies are licensed by state boards, and outsourcing facilities register with the FDA — a filing, not an approval. The agency does not review compounded preparations for safety, effectiveness or quality.
Is the medication compounded or brand-name?
The site does not say. It names tirzepatide but not its regulatory status, which is the single most consequential fact about a GLP-1 purchase. Ask before paying.
Is the lab requirement worth it?
It depends whether you wanted the labs. Comprehensive testing read by a provider before prescribing is genuinely better medicine than the intake-quiz model. As a compulsory minimum spend before you know if you qualify, it is an expensive way to find out.
Verdict
3.0 / 5 — $749 minimum before medication; drug price unpublished
Better clinical process than most of this category — named medication, real labs, a real consultation — sold behind the highest entry cost we have seen, with the recurring price withheld and approval language applied where it does not belong.
The point worth carrying beyond this provider: partial price disclosure can mislead more effectively than none. When a site publishes some figures, the ones it leaves out read as incidental rather than deliberate. Before paying any up-front fee, get the recurring number in writing — it is the one that determines whether you can finish what you are starting.
Medical Disclaimer & Review Date
This review is general consumer information, not medical advice. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious contraindications, and whether any treatment is appropriate for you is a decision only a licensed healthcare provider who knows your medical history can make. Nothing here should be used to start, stop, or change a medication.
Details in this review come from Marek Health's own published materials as of the date below. Pricing, medication availability, state coverage, and policies in this category change frequently — verify current terms directly with the provider before purchasing.
Date reviewed: September 5, 2026