Product Reviews|By The Weight Weight Team|August 7, 2026

Rugiet Health Weight Loss Review – Read the Ingredients Before You Order

Affiliate disclosure

We earn a commission if you sign up with Rugiet Health through the links on this page. It did not buy a favourable review.

Rugiet Health is a men’s health telehealth platform based in Austin, Texas, and it does sell a weight-loss product. That product is a compounded oral combination of bupropion, naltrexone and metformin, from around $7.29 a dose. It is not semaglutide. It is not tirzepatide. It contains no GLP-1 medication at all — and if you arrived here from a GLP-1 comparison, that is the whole review in one sentence.

This Is Not a GLP-1

Rugiet’s weight-loss product contains bupropion, naltrexone and metformin. None of those is a GLP-1 receptor agonist. The mechanism, the expected results, the side effects and the contraindications are all different from semaglutide or tirzepatide.

We are leading with this rather than burying it in an ingredients table because the failure mode here is specific and avoidable. Weight-loss telehealth is dominated by GLP-1s, comparison pages list GLP-1 and non-GLP-1 services side by side, and a low per-dose price makes a non-GLP-1 product look like a bargain version of the same thing. It is not a bargain version. It is a different drug class with roughly a third of the expected weight loss.

For scale: semaglutide produced around 15 percent mean body-weight reduction in the STEP trials and tirzepatide over 20 percent in SURMOUNT. The FDA-approved bupropion-naltrexone combination produced roughly 5 to 6 percent in its own trials. That is a real effect and better than nothing, but it is a different order of result, and nobody should choose it while believing they are buying a cheaper semaglutide.

Rugiet Health at a Glance

Medications offeredCompounded oral combination of bupropion, naltrexone and metformin. No GLP-1 medications offered for weight loss.
Brand-name or compoundedCompounded — not an FDA-approved finished product. The bupropion-naltrexone pairing exists as an approved product (Contrave), but this triple combination is not that medication.
Consultation processOnline intake through the men's health platform
EligibilityAssessed at intake; detailed criteria not published
Provider involvementPrescribing; ongoing support not detailed
Lab requirementsNot stated as required — see the note on metformin and kidney function below
Pharmacy fulfillmentNot named
Shipping frequencyNot detailed
Support servicesNot detailed
Membership feesNot published
Medication feesFrom about $7.29 per dose; monthly totals depend on dosing frequency and are not clearly published
Cancellation policyNot published in detail
Refund policyNot published in detail
InsuranceNot stated
HSA/FSANot stated
AvailabilityNot published in detail; US only

What Is Actually in It

ComponentWhat it normally isWeight-loss rationale
BupropionAntidepressant; smoking-cessation aidActs on appetite regulation centrally; half of the approved Contrave combination
NaltrexoneOpioid antagonist for alcohol and opioid dependenceBlunts reward signalling around food; the other half of Contrave
MetforminFirst-line type 2 diabetes medicationModest weight effect; used off-label for insulin resistance

The bupropion-naltrexone pairing is not fringe — it is the basis of Contrave, an FDA-approved weight-management medication with trial data behind it. Metformin is one of the best-characterised drugs in medicine. Individually these are all serious, legitimate medications.

What has no evidence base is this specific triple combination in a compounded oral preparation. Contrave is a particular extended-release formulation at particular doses, studied as such; adding metformin to it and compounding the result produces something that has never been trialled. That is the same objection we raised to MadeMed adding L-carnitine to semaglutide, and it applies more strongly here because there are three actives rather than two.

The Contraindications a GLP-1 Shopper Would Not Expect

This is the section that matters most, because someone comparing weight-loss services has probably been reading about thyroid C-cell warnings and pancreatitis — and none of those are the relevant risks here. These are entirely different.

Bupropion carries a boxed warning regarding suicidal thoughts and behaviours, particularly in younger adults, and it lowers the seizure threshold.

Do not take this if you have a seizure disorder, a current or prior eating disorder such as bulimia or anorexia nervosa, or if you are abruptly stopping alcohol, benzodiazepines or antiepileptics — all of these raise seizure risk substantially. Tell the prescriber about any history of depression, bipolar disorder or suicidal ideation.

The eating-disorder contraindication deserves emphasis in a weight-loss context specifically, because a weight-loss service is exactly where people with a history of disordered eating present. Bupropion is contraindicated in that group, and an online intake form is a poor instrument for detecting it.

Naltrexone blocks opioids. If you take prescription opioid pain medication, this will block it. If you are opioid dependent, it can precipitate acute withdrawal. And it creates a serious situation in an emergency: opioid analgesia may not work if you are injured. Anyone on naltrexone should tell every treating clinician and consider carrying that information on them.

Metformin is generally well tolerated but is cleared renally and carries a rare risk of lactic acidosis in people with significant kidney impairment. It is normally prescribed with kidney function checked first. Rugiet does not state that labs are required, and we would want them before starting metformin.

Common side effects across the combination include nausea, constipation, headache, insomnia, dry mouth and raised blood pressure and heart rate — bupropion is stimulating, and blood pressure should be monitored. Metformin adds its own gastrointestinal effects, principally diarrhoea.

None of this makes the product unusable. It makes it a medication that needs a real prescriber conversation and, ideally, bloodwork — and our concern is that the online men’s-health purchase path may not deliver either.

Pricing

Reported pricing starts around $7.29 per dose. Per-dose pricing is difficult to compare against the monthly figures used everywhere else in this category, and the monthly total depends on dosing frequency, which is not clearly published. At a daily dose that would be roughly $220 a month; at less frequent dosing, less. Get a monthly figure in writing before you compare it with anything.

For context, if the monthly cost lands anywhere near $200, you would be paying more than CVS Health charges for FDA-approved brand-name GLP-1 medication at $149 — for a compounded triple combination expected to produce roughly a third of the weight loss. That comparison is the one to run.

How Rugiet Compares

ProviderMedicationExpected weight lossOur rating
Rugiet HealthCompounded bupropion + naltrexone + metformin~5–6% for the approved pairing; untested as compounded2.9 / 5
CVS HealthFDA-approved GLP-1, $149 self-pay~15% semaglutide, ~20% tirzepatide4.4 / 5
Cora HealthCompounded semaglutide, $99GLP-1 mechanism; compounded, so untrialled4.5 / 5

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Oral, so no injections and no cold-chain shipping problem
  • Bupropion-naltrexone has a genuine approved precedent in Contrave
  • A real option for people who cannot take a GLP-1 or did not tolerate one
  • Metformin is among the best-characterised medications available
  • Low per-dose price

Cons

  • Contains no GLP-1 — easily mistaken for a cheap semaglutide alternative
  • Roughly a third the expected weight loss of a GLP-1
  • Bupropion carries a boxed warning and lowers the seizure threshold
  • Contraindicated with any eating disorder history — common in this population
  • Naltrexone blocks opioid pain relief, including in emergencies
  • Metformin normally needs kidney function checked; labs not stated as required
  • The triple combination has never been trialled in this form
  • Per-dose pricing makes the monthly cost hard to compare

Who Should Pick It, and Who Should Look Elsewhere

Rugiet suits you if a GLP-1 is genuinely off the table — you have a thyroid or pancreatic contraindication, you could not tolerate the gastrointestinal effects, or injections are impossible for you — and you have discussed a bupropion-naltrexone approach with a clinician who knows your full history. In that situation an oral alternative is worth having.

Look elsewhere if you came here shopping for semaglutide or tirzepatide. You will not get either. CVS Health at $149 dispenses the FDA-approved drug and Cora Health at $99 dispenses compounded semaglutide. Do not use Rugiet at all if you have a seizure disorder, any eating disorder history, or take opioid pain medication.

Limitations of This Review

This review is based on independent coverage of Rugiet Health checked on 7 August 2026. We could not establish the doses of each component, the dosing frequency, the resulting monthly cost, the compounding pharmacy, state coverage or cancellation terms. We could not confirm what screening the intake performs for the contraindications described above — that is our central concern and it is unresolved. The clinical statements about bupropion, naltrexone and metformin are general properties of those medications, not findings specific to Rugiet’s preparation. We have not signed up or been prescribed.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Rugiet Health offer semaglutide or tirzepatide?

No. Its weight-loss product is a compounded oral combination of bupropion, naltrexone and metformin. There is no GLP-1 medication in it.

How much weight will I lose on it?

The FDA-approved bupropion-naltrexone product produced around 5 to 6 percent mean body-weight reduction in its trials, against roughly 15 percent for semaglutide and over 20 percent for tirzepatide. This specific compounded triple combination has never been trialled, so its actual result is unknown.

Who should definitely not take this?

Anyone with a seizure disorder, a current or past eating disorder, or who takes opioid pain medication. Also anyone abruptly stopping alcohol, benzodiazepines or antiepileptics. Bupropion’s boxed warning on suicidal thoughts and behaviours means a psychiatric history needs discussing first.

Is it cheaper than a GLP-1?

Not necessarily. At around $7.29 a dose taken daily the monthly cost would exceed CVS Health’s $149 for FDA-approved GLP-1 medication. Get a monthly figure before assuming it is the budget option.

Verdict

2.9 / 5

A legitimate non-GLP-1 approach in an untested compounded triple combination, sold in a context where buyers are likely to think they are getting something else — with contraindications that deserve more screening than an online form provides.

There is a real place for non-GLP-1 weight-loss medication. Plenty of people cannot take a GLP-1 or could not tolerate one, and bupropion-naltrexone has an approved precedent and genuine trial data behind it. If that is your situation, this is a conversation worth having.

What we cannot endorse is buying it by accident. Bupropion carries a boxed warning and is contraindicated in exactly the eating-disorder history that weight-loss services attract; naltrexone will block your pain relief if you are injured; metformin normally warrants a kidney check first. Those are manageable with a proper clinical conversation and hard to catch on a men’s-health checkout flow. Know what you are buying, or buy the GLP-1 you were actually looking for.

Medical Disclaimer & Review Date

This review is general consumer information, not medical advice. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious contraindications, and whether any treatment is appropriate for you is a decision only a licensed healthcare provider who knows your medical history can make. Nothing here should be used to start, stop, or change a medication.

Details in this review come from Rugiet Health's own published materials as of the date below. Pricing, medication availability, state coverage, and policies in this category change frequently — verify current terms directly with the provider before purchasing.

Date reviewed: August 7, 2026

If You Wanted a GLP-1, This Is Not It

Rugiet’s weight-loss product contains no semaglutide or tirzepatide. If a GLP-1 is what you are after, compare the providers that actually dispense one.