Product Reviews|By The Weight Weight Team|August 7, 2026

MadeMed Review – Cheap Tirzepatide, and a Formulation Question

Affiliate disclosure

We earn a commission if you sign up with MadeMed through the links on this page. It did not buy a favourable review.

MadeMed does something most of this category refuses to: it publishes a price against each specific dose. Injectable semaglutide starts at $179 a month at 0.25mg, injectable tirzepatide at $189 for 2.5mg, sublingual semaglutide tablets at $169 and sublingual tirzepatide at $229. Tirzepatide at $189 is a genuinely good price. The thing to ask about before you order is the semaglutide, which is not plain semaglutide — it is compounded with added L-carnitine.

Overview

MadeMed is a compounded telehealth platform covering GLP-1 weight loss alongside men’s wellness and peptide therapy. You complete an intake, a clinician reviews it, and if approved the medication ships from a partner compounding pharmacy. MadeMed states clearly that its compounded products are not FDA-approved finished drug products, which is the correct disclosure and not universal in this field.

MadeMed at a Glance

Medications offeredInjectable semaglutide with L-carnitine, injectable tirzepatide, sublingual semaglutide tablets, sublingual tirzepatide tablets; also men's wellness and peptide therapy
Brand-name or compoundedCompounded — not FDA-approved finished drug products; the semaglutide injection is a combination product, not plain semaglutide
Consultation processOnline intake with clinician review required before dispensing
EligibilityAssessed at intake; detailed criteria not published
Provider involvementClinician review and prescribing; ongoing support not detailed
Lab requirementsNot stated as required
Pharmacy fulfillmentNot named
Shipping frequencyNot detailed
Support servicesNot detailed
Membership feesNot published separately
Medication feesInjectable semaglutide from $179/month (0.25mg start); injectable tirzepatide from $189/month (2.5mg start); sublingual semaglutide $169/month (30 × 1mg); sublingual tirzepatide $229/month (30 × 3mg)
Cancellation policyNot published in detail
Refund policyNot published in detail
InsuranceNot stated
HSA/FSANot stated
AvailabilityNot published in detail; US only

Pricing: Per-Dose and Unusually Clear

ProductStarting doseMonthly
Injectable semaglutide + L-carnitine0.25mg$179
Injectable tirzepatide2.5mg$189
Sublingual semaglutide tablets30 × 1mg$169
Sublingual tirzepatide tablets30 × 3mg$229

Publishing the dose alongside the price is genuinely useful, and rare. Most competitors quote a “from” figure that turns out to describe only the lowest starting dose, then raise it as you titrate without saying so up front. MadeMed at least tells you what dose $179 buys.

These are starting-dose prices. 0.25mg semaglutide and 2.5mg tirzepatide are titration doses — you spend roughly four weeks at each while your body adjusts, and most people need substantially more to lose weight. Ask what 1mg, 2mg and 2.4mg semaglutide cost, and what 5mg, 7.5mg, 10mg and 15mg tirzepatide cost, before you judge the price. Our dosing guide explains the escalation schedule.

Tirzepatide at $189 is competitive against the mid-market — well below Direct Meds at $497 and BreezeMeds at $399, though above Embody at $119 and Trimi Health at $125.

The L-Carnitine Question

MadeMed’s injectable semaglutide is compounded with added L-carnitine. That is not the medication studied in the STEP trials, and it is not what Wegovy or Ozempic contain. The FDA has specifically identified combination GLP-1 products as a concern.

Combination compounding — semaglutide with L-carnitine, or with vitamin B12, or with other additives — is common in this market and is usually marketed as an enhancement. The problems with it are worth being concrete about.

There is no evidence the addition helps. L-carnitine is a compound involved in transporting fatty acids into mitochondria, and it is widely sold as a fat-burning supplement. The clinical evidence for oral L-carnitine producing meaningful weight loss is weak; the evidence for injected L-carnitine combined with semaglutide is nonexistent, because that combination has never been trialled by anyone.

It moves the product further from the approved drug. The argument for compounded semaglutide is that it is the same active ingredient as an FDA-approved product with decades of safety data. Add a second active substance and that argument weakens considerably — you are now taking a preparation that exists nowhere in the approved-drug universe, whose interaction profile, stability and injection-site tolerance have not been characterised.

It complicates the regulatory position. Compounding regulations permit pharmacies to prepare a drug for an individual patient with a documented clinical need that the approved product cannot meet. Producing a standardised combination product at volume for a telehealth platform sits awkwardly against that, and it is one of the practices FDA enforcement activity has focused on.

None of this means the product is dangerous. It means you should ask, before ordering, whether MadeMed can supply plain semaglutide without the additive — several platforms will if asked — and whether the L-carnitine dose is disclosed. If the answer is no on both counts, the tirzepatide at $189 is the cleaner purchase here, since it is not described as a combination product.

The Sublingual Tablets

MadeMed offers sublingual semaglutide at $169 and sublingual tirzepatide at $229, both as 30-day tablet supplies. For anyone who cannot face weekly injections these are worth knowing about, and the semaglutide tablets are the cheapest thing on the menu.

The caveat is absorption. Peptides are large molecules that break down in the digestive tract and cross mucous membranes poorly. The FDA-approved oral semaglutide product achieves usable absorption through a specific absorption enhancer at a precisely engineered formulation, and even then requires strict fasting instructions. A compounded sublingual tablet is not that product, and there is no published data establishing what fraction of the labelled dose reaches circulation.

Sublingual tirzepatide is a further step out: no oral or sublingual tirzepatide product has FDA approval in any form, so there is not even an approved comparator. Treat both as reasonable to try if injections are a genuine barrier, and as delivering an unknown dose rather than a cheaper equivalent.

Eligibility, Contraindications, and Side Effects

Clinician review is required before dispensing; detailed eligibility criteria are not published. See our eligibility guide.

Semaglutide and tirzepatide carry a boxed warning regarding thyroid C-cell tumours, based on rodent studies. Do not take these medications if you or a family member have had medullary thyroid carcinoma, if you have Multiple Endocrine Neoplasia syndrome type 2, or if you have had a serious hypersensitivity reaction to the active ingredient. They are not for use in pregnancy. Disclose any history of pancreatitis, gallbladder disease, gastroparesis or other severe gastrointestinal disease, or diabetic retinopathy before starting.

Common side effects are gastrointestinal — nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea, constipation, abdominal pain — worst in the days after each dose increase. Serious but less common: pancreatitis, gallbladder disease, acute kidney injury from dehydration. Our side effects guide covers management.

With a combination product there is a specific practical problem: if you develop an injection site reaction or an unusual side effect, neither you nor your prescriber can easily tell whether the semaglutide or the L-carnitine is responsible. That is a real disadvantage when something goes wrong.

On dosing: the FDA has documented five to ten-fold overdoses of compounded injectable semaglutide caused by confusion between units and milligrams. Compounded vials are not the fixed-increment pens people expect. Confirm your dose in both units and milligrams, and confirm your vial’s concentration, before the first injection and at every escalation.

How MadeMed Compares

ProviderSemaglutideTirzepatidePlain formulation?Our rating
MadeMed$179$189No — semaglutide has L-carnitine3.4 / 5
Embody$69$119Yes4.0 / 5
Trimi Health$99$125Yes3.9 / 5
Cora Health$99–$175$135–$225Yes4.5 / 5

MadeMed’s tirzepatide price is respectable but not leading, and its semaglutide is both more expensive than the cheapest options and formulated with an additive none of them include. Per-dose transparency is its distinguishing feature; that is worth something, just not a premium.

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Publishes a price against each specific starting dose — rare in this category
  • Tirzepatide at $189 is competitive mid-market
  • Four formulations including two sublingual options
  • Sublingual semaglutide at $169 is the cheapest needle-free option here
  • Clinician review required before dispensing
  • States accurately that compounded products are not FDA-approved

Cons

  • Injectable semaglutide is a combination product with added L-carnitine
  • No evidence the L-carnitine addition does anything
  • Prices quoted are starting-dose only; escalated pricing not published
  • Sublingual absorption not established for either drug
  • Compounding pharmacy not named
  • Shipping, cancellation, refunds and state coverage not published
  • Little independent customer review data

Who Should Pick It, and Who Should Look Elsewhere

MadeMed suits you if you want tirzepatide at a reasonable price with the dose stated against the price, or if you need a sublingual option and injections are genuinely off the table. Take the tirzepatide rather than the semaglutide, and get escalated-dose pricing in writing before you start.

Look elsewhere if you want plain semaglutide without additives — Embody at $69 and Trimi Health at $99 both undercut MadeMed and supply it plain — or if you want a named pharmacy behind the product, which Cora Health provides with PCAB accreditation.

Limitations of This Review

This review is based on independent coverage of MadeMed checked on 7 August 2026, some of which originates from press-release distribution rather than independent testing. One source quotes a headline “from $99” figure we could not match to any specific product, so we have used the per-dose prices instead. We could not establish escalated-dose pricing, the L-carnitine dose in the combination product, the compounding pharmacy, state coverage, or cancellation and refund terms. We found little verified customer review data. We have not signed up or been prescribed.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does MadeMed cost?

Injectable semaglutide starts at $179 a month for the 0.25mg dose and tirzepatide at $189 for 2.5mg. Sublingual semaglutide tablets are $169 and sublingual tirzepatide $229. These are starting-dose prices — ask what your maintenance dose will cost.

Why does the semaglutide have L-carnitine in it?

It is marketed as an enhancement. There is no clinical evidence that adding L-carnitine to semaglutide improves weight loss, the combination has never been trialled, and the FDA has identified combination GLP-1 compounding as a concern. Ask whether plain semaglutide is available instead.

Do the sublingual tablets work as well as injections?

Unknown. There is no published data on how much of a compounded sublingual dose is absorbed, and no sublingual tirzepatide product has FDA approval in any form. They are a reasonable option if injections are a genuine barrier, but the delivered dose is uncertain.

Is MadeMed’s medication FDA-approved?

No. MadeMed states that its compounded products are not FDA-approved finished drug products, which is accurate. The combination semaglutide is further from the approved product than plain compounded semaglutide is.

Verdict

3.4 / 5

Better price transparency than most and a fair tirzepatide price, undercut by a semaglutide formulation that adds an ingredient with no evidence behind it.

MadeMed is easy to summarise: buy the tirzepatide, ask questions about the semaglutide. Publishing the dose next to the price is a real courtesy in a market that mostly does not, and $189 for tirzepatide is a fair deal. But the whole case for compounded semaglutide rests on it being the same molecule as a drug with large trials behind it — and once you add L-carnitine, it is not the same molecule, and nobody has studied what you are injecting.

Medical Disclaimer & Review Date

This review is general consumer information, not medical advice. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious contraindications, and whether any treatment is appropriate for you is a decision only a licensed healthcare provider who knows your medical history can make. Nothing here should be used to start, stop, or change a medication.

Details in this review come from MadeMed's own published materials as of the date below. Pricing, medication availability, state coverage, and policies in this category change frequently — verify current terms directly with the provider before purchasing.

Date reviewed: August 7, 2026

Ask Two Questions Before Ordering

Can you get plain semaglutide without the L-carnitine, and what does your maintenance dose cost once you are past the starting dose? Both answers change the value here.