Affiliate disclosure
We earn a commission if you sign up with Strut Health through the links on this page. It did not buy a favourable review — the FDA finding below is the reason this rates where it does.
Strut Health is a Dallas-based digital health company, founded by Simal Patel, MD, that prescribes compounded GLP-1 medication and specialises in a format very few providers offer: sublingual semaglutide lozenges, advertised from around $99 a month, alongside injectable semaglutide from $149. There is no membership fee, shipping is free and consultations are free. It is aimed at people who will not inject. The reason this review rates it low is a warning letter the FDA issued in February 2026 about who actually makes the medication.
Overview
Strut Health is a real, physician-founded company with a named medical founder — more than many of its competitors offer. It prescribes compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide through US-licensed compounding pharmacies, and its distinguishing product is the oral sublingual lozenge, which puts it in a small group alongside Shed.
Several third-party reviews state that Strut operates its own licensed compounding pharmacy, and treat that vertical integration as a key selling point. As the next section explains, the FDA has said something that sits awkwardly with that description.
Strut Health at a Glance
| Medications offered | Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide; sublingual lozenges and weekly injections |
|---|---|
| Brand-name or compounded | Compounded — not FDA-approved. The FDA has found its labelling misbranded |
| Consultation process | Free consultations; no separate consultation fee |
| Eligibility | Assessed by clinicians; criteria not published in detail |
| Provider involvement | Physician-founded, with US-licensed clinicians prescribing |
| Lab requirements | Not stated as required |
| Pharmacy fulfillment | Described in third-party coverage as its own licensed pharmacy, but the FDA found Strut is not the compounder of the products bearing its name |
| Shipping frequency | Free |
| Support services | Not detailed in the published materials |
| Membership fees | None |
| Medication fees | Sublingual semaglutide lozenges from about $99/month with auto-refill savings; injectable semaglutide from about $149/month. Independent coverage reports rates of $249–$349 |
| Cancellation policy | Not published in detail |
| Refund policy | Not published in detail |
| Insurance | Not accepted |
| HSA/FSA | Not stated |
| Availability | Not published in detail; US only |
The FDA Warning Letter — And Who Actually Compounds It
On 20 February 2026 the FDA issued Strut Health, LLC dba Strut a warning letter (reference 721448), published on the FDA's own website, following a December 2025 review of its site.
The agency found Strut's compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide products misbranded under sections 502(a) and 502(bb) of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, and their distribution a prohibited act under section 301(a). The specific finding: the Strut name appeared on the compounded product labels in a way that implied Strut was the compounder when it is not.
The letter required a written response within fifteen working days and warned that failure to address the violations may result in legal action including seizure and injunction.
This is the same finding, on the same date, that the FDA made against MEDVi — part of a sweep in which the agency wrote to around 30 telehealth companies over compounded GLP-1 marketing. It concerns labelling, not product safety: the FDA did not say Strut's medication was contaminated or dangerous.
But note the direct conflict it creates. Multiple third-party reviews describe Strut as operating its own licensed compounding pharmacy, with the resulting quality control presented as a reason to choose it. The FDA states plainly that Strut is not the compounder of the products carrying its name. We cannot reconcile those two claims, and we are not going to repeat the vertical-integration selling point as though it were established. If the pharmacy relationship matters to your decision — and for a compounded injectable it should — ask Strut directly, in writing, which licensed facility compounds your specific prescription.
Pricing
| Product | Advertised | Reported elsewhere |
|---|---|---|
| Sublingual semaglutide lozenges | From $99/mo with auto-refill | $249–$349/mo |
| Injectable semaglutide | From $149/mo | Not separately reported |
As with several providers in this batch, the advertised entry price and the independently reported rate differ substantially — one source puts compounded semaglutide at $249–$349 a month, well above Trimi Health at $99 and TrimRx at $199. The $99 lozenge rate is also tied to auto-refill, meaning it depends on staying enrolled. Get your own quote before assuming the headline applies.
Free consultations, free shipping and no membership fee are genuine positives, and better than providers that layer a membership on top.
Sublingual Lozenges: The Evidence Gap
The lozenge is Strut's signature offering and the reason most of its customers choose it, so it deserves a straight answer rather than a sales line.
Semaglutide is a peptide, and peptides are poorly absorbed through the mouth and gut without help. The FDA-approved oral semaglutide product achieves absorption using a specific absorption enhancer developed and tested for that purpose. A compounded sublingual lozenge is not that product and has not been through equivalent testing. There is no published evidence establishing what proportion of the dose in a compounded lozenge reaches your bloodstream, or how consistent that is between doses and between people.
That does not mean lozenges do nothing. It means you are accepting more uncertainty about the dose you actually receive than an injection carries — and that uncertainty runs both ways, since an unexpectedly high absorbed dose is as possible as a low one. If avoiding needles is your reason for being here, the FDA-approved Wegovy pill at $149 from the manufacturer is cheaper than Strut's reported rates and has established absorption.
Eligibility, Contraindications, and Side Effects
Strut does not publish eligibility criteria or a state list. See our eligibility guide for what a thorough screen should cover.
Semaglutide and tirzepatide carry a boxed warning regarding thyroid C-cell tumours, based on rodent studies. You should not take these medications if you or a family member have had medullary thyroid carcinoma, if you have Multiple Endocrine Neoplasia syndrome type 2, or if you have had a serious hypersensitivity reaction to the active ingredient. They are not for use in pregnancy. A history of pancreatitis, gallbladder disease, gastroparesis or other severe gastrointestinal disease, or diabetic retinopathy, warrants specific discussion first.
Common side effects are gastrointestinal — nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea, constipation and abdominal pain — worst after a dose increase. Serious but less common risks include pancreatitis, gallbladder disease and acute kidney injury from dehydration. A lozenge does not avoid them. Our side effects guide covers management.
We are not quoting weight-loss figures for Strut. Given the FDA specifically addressed its product labelling implying more than the evidence supports, transposing brand-name trial results onto its compounded lozenges would repeat exactly the error the regulator identified.
How Strut Health Compares
| Provider | Needle-free option | Price | FDA-approved | Regulatory record | Our rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Strut Health | Sublingual lozenges | $99 advertised | No | FDA warning letter, Feb 2026 | 2.6 / 5 |
| NovoCare Pharmacy | Wegovy pill | $149 | Yes | Manufacturer direct | 4.5 / 5 |
| TrimRx | Oral tablet | $179 | No | Clean | 3.4 / 5 |
| Shed | Drops and lozenges | $199 | No | BBB warning, remediated to A | 3.7 / 5 |
For needle-free treatment, NovoCare's FDA-approved Wegovy pill at $149 is cheaper than Strut's reported rates, better evidenced, and carries no regulatory baggage. That comparison is difficult for Strut to answer.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Sublingual lozenges — a genuinely rare needle-free format
- Advertised from $99/month with auto-refill
- No membership fee
- Free consultations and free shipping
- Physician-founded with a named medical founder
- Both semaglutide and tirzepatide offered
- Injectable option from $149 if you change your mind about lozenges
Cons
- FDA warning letter of 20 February 2026 for misbranded products
- The FDA found Strut is not the compounder despite its name on the label
- That contradicts third-party claims it owns its pharmacy
- D+ rating from the Better Business Bureau
- Reported pricing of $249–$349 far exceeds the advertised $99
- The $99 rate depends on staying on auto-refill
- Sublingual absorption is not established
- State coverage, eligibility, cancellation and refund terms not published
- Compounded only; insurance not accepted
Who Should Pick It, and Who Should Look Elsewhere
Strut could suit you if you specifically want a sublingual lozenge rather than a tablet or injection, you have exhausted the FDA-approved options, and the quote you receive is near the advertised $99. The free consultation and absence of a membership fee are real positives, and a named physician founder is more accountability than several competitors offer.
Look elsewhere in most cases. If you want needle-free, NovoCare Pharmacy sells the FDA-approved Wegovy pill at $149. If you want a compounded oral, TrimRx is $179 with flat dose pricing and no regulatory letter. And if a federal finding that your provider mislabelled who made your medication would concern you, it should.
Limitations of This Review
This review is based on the FDA's published warning letter, BBB records and independent coverage, checked on 7 August 2026. We could not reconcile the advertised $99/$149 pricing with independently reported rates of $249–$349, and have presented both. We do not know what Strut told the FDA in its fifteen-day response or whether the agency considers the matter closed. We could not establish which pharmacy compounds its products — the point the FDA letter turns on. State coverage, eligibility, cancellation and refund terms are unpublished. We have not signed up, been prescribed, or received medication.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did Strut Health get an FDA warning letter?
Yes. The FDA issued Strut Health, LLC dba Strut a warning letter dated 20 February 2026 (reference 721448), finding its compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide products misbranded because the Strut name on the labels implied Strut was the compounder when it is not.
Does Strut own its own compounding pharmacy?
Third-party reviews say it does; the FDA's warning letter says Strut is not the compounder of the products bearing its name. We could not reconcile these. Ask Strut directly which licensed facility compounds your prescription.
How much does Strut Health cost?
Sublingual semaglutide lozenges are advertised from about $99/month with auto-refill, and injectable semaglutide from about $149. Independent coverage reports $249–$349. Get a written quote before enrolling.
Do the lozenges work as well as injections?
There is no published evidence establishing how much of a compounded sublingual dose is absorbed. Peptides absorb poorly without a purpose-built enhancer, which the FDA-approved oral product uses and a compounded lozenge does not.
Verdict
2.6 / 5
A rare needle-free format at an attractive advertised price, from a physician-founded company the FDA has told in writing that its labels misrepresent who makes the medicine.
Strut has a real product for a real need — people who will not inject and for whom the approved pill is not an option. Free consultations, no membership and a named physician founder all count. But the FDA found its own name on a label for a drug it does not compound, third parties have been repeating a vertical-integration story the regulator contradicts, the BBB grade is D+, and the reported price is up to three and a half times the advertised one. That is too many things you cannot rely on for a product whose absorption is already unmeasured.
Medical Disclaimer & Review Date
This review is general consumer information, not medical advice. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious contraindications, and whether any treatment is appropriate for you is a decision only a licensed healthcare provider who knows your medical history can make. Nothing here should be used to start, stop, or change a medication.
Details in this review come from Strut Health's own published materials as of the date below. Pricing, medication availability, state coverage, and policies in this category change frequently — verify current terms directly with the provider before purchasing.
Date reviewed: August 7, 2026
Ask Who Compounds It
Before enrolling, ask Strut in writing which licensed facility compounds your prescription, and what your price will be after the auto-refill discount.