Beauty|By The Weight Weight Team|August 11, 2026

The Beard Club Review – “Growth” 749 Times, “Proven” Zero

Affiliate disclosure

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page — 3%. Everything below was checked on 11 August 2026 against The Beard Club’s own catalogue, refund policy and terms of service, plus PubMed and the Better Business Bureau.

The Beard Club sells beard oils, balms, derma rollers and “growth” vitamins, mostly in kits, mostly on subscription — median price $39.99, free shipping over $30. The word “growth” appears 749 times across the catalogue. “Clinically” and “proven” appear zero times, which is more restraint than this category usually shows. The derma roller is the one item with a serious evidence base — and that evidence is for using it alongside minoxidil, which they do not sell.

What It Is and Who It Is For

The Beard Club is a direct-to-consumer grooming brand built around subscription kits. On the day we checked it listed 500 products across 613 variants, from $0.00 promotional items to $199.99, with a median of $39.99 and every single variant in stock — which is a genuinely impressive operational number and better than almost anything we audit.

The range splits into three groups. Conditioning products — oils, balms, butters, shampoos, creams — which do what conditioners do. Tools — derma rollers, brushes, combs, scissors, trimmers. And supplements — the growth vitamins and vitamin spray. Most of it is sold as bundled “growth kits” combining all three.

The buyer is usually a man with a patchy beard — the word appears 56 times in the catalogue — who wants it to fill in. That is the promise the kits are organised around, and it is the promise this review interrogates.

What the Copy Says, and What It Carefully Does Not

We counted every occurrence of the words that matter across all 500 product descriptions. The result is more interesting than we expected, and it cuts both ways.

TermOccurrences
“growth”749
“derma roller”326
“vitamin”272
“grow” (separately)102
“patchy”56
“biotin”36
“clinically”0
“proven”0
“FDA”0
“minoxidil”0

Credit first. A grooming brand that says “growth” 749 times and never once says “clinically proven” is being more careful than most. We have reviewed supplement brands this month that use “scientifically proven” on products with four trials behind them. The Beard Club does not do that.

We also noticed the newer product listings have been rewritten in noticeably plainer language. The current Beard Growth Vitamins description calls the product “a daily multivitamin formulated as part of a beard care routine rather than a topical product” and advises you to “give a new routine a few months before you judge it” — no growth claim at all. An older duplicate listing of the same product still carries the previous copy: “Don’t settle for a patchy beard. A fuller beard and healthier hair could be a regular regimen of dietary supplements away.” The direction of travel is toward restraint.

But the product names do the work the copy avoids. You do not need to write “clinically proven” when the product is called a Beard Growth Kit, the vitamins are Beard Growth Vitamins, the oil is Beard Growth Oil and the guarantee is a Beard Growth Guarantee. The claim is in the naming, and a shopper reads names before descriptions.

The Derma Roller: Real Evidence, Wrong Partner

Here is the genuinely interesting finding. Of everything in a Beard Club kit, the derma roller is the item with a real evidence base — and it is not the hero product.

Microneedling has 327 indexed records in hair growth and 25 randomised controlled trials in alopecia. A 2025 systematic review and meta-analysis in Archives of Dermatological Research pooled 12 RCTs and 631 patients with androgenetic alopecia and found that combined microneedling significantly improved hair count — SMD 1.32 (95% CI 0.73 to 1.92, p < 0.01), with substantial heterogeneity (I² = 88%).

Needle depth made no significant difference in subgroup analysis (≤1mm versus >1mm), nor did treatment duration or device type. The Beard Club’s roller is specified as 540 titanium-coated 0.25mm needles, which sits inside the shallower band.

Now read what that trial actually compared. It was microneedling plus minoxidil versus minoxidil alone. The evidence is for microneedling as an adjunct to a drug — the effect is measured on top of minoxidil, not instead of it.

The Beard Club sells no minoxidil. The word appears zero times in 500 product descriptions. So the strongest evidence in their lineup belongs to a combination they do not offer.

And on the specific application: PubMed indexes zero records for microneedling and beards. All 25 RCTs are scalp studies. Meanwhile minoxidil and beard returns 19 records — there is a small literature on the facial application of the drug they omit.

Being fair: facial and scalp hair follicles are broadly similar structures, and it is not unreasonable to think a mechanism that works on one might work on the other. But that is extrapolation, and the honest description of a derma roller sold for beards is “plausible mechanism, no direct evidence, and the trials that do exist tested it with a drug you are not being sold”. If you are serious about this, that is a conversation for a doctor, who can discuss minoxidil.

Biotin: 3 Trials for Hair, 341 Papers on Ruining Your Blood Tests

Biotin is the active ingredient running through the supplement side of the range. The site states the growth vitamins deliver “Biotin, B12, and MSM”, that the vitamin spray “adds Biotin”, and biotin also features in the Beard Balm and the Growth Butter.

Question about biotinWhat the literature holds
Does it grow hair?72 records, 3 randomised controlled trials
Does it interfere with lab tests?341 records, of which 62 concern thyroid tests specifically

There is roughly a hundred times more published work on biotin corrupting your blood results than on biotin growing your hair.

On efficacy, a review in Skin Appendage Disorders examined the literature and found 18 reported cases of biotin used for hair and nail changes. Its key sentence: In all cases, patients receiving biotin supplementation had an underlying pathology for poor hair or nail growth.” The authors concluded that such cases are uncommon and that there is a lack of sufficient evidence for supplementation in healthy individuals.

A 2022 review in Advances in Clinical Chemistry is blunter still: In general, normal individuals do not get any benefit from taking biotin supplement. Nevertheless, biotin use remains widespread for growing healthy hair and nail.”

Why This Is on a Weight-Loss Site

Because our readers get blood tests constantly — and one of the most common is a thyroid panel, ordered precisely because unexplained weight change is a reason to check thyroid function. Biotin is a known problem for exactly that test.

How the interference works

Many laboratory immunoassays use biotinylated antibodies in their design. From the Advances in Clinical Chemistry review: biotin at elevated concentrations in serum may falsely increase analyte concentration using competitive immunoassay (positive interference), and conversely biotin shows negative interference if sandwich immunoassay format is used.

The consequence, in the authors’ words: “Such interferences may cause diagnostic error, most commonly in cases of hyperthyroidism due to positive interference of biotin in free triiodothyronine (FT3) and free thyroxine (FT4).

Put plainly: a beard vitamin can make your thyroid results look like an overactive thyroid when your thyroid is fine. The failure mode is not the supplement harming you — it is a doctor acting on a wrong number, or chasing a diagnosis you do not have.

The fix is trivial and worth doing every time: tell whoever orders or draws your blood that you take a biotin supplement, and ask whether to stop it beforehand and for how long. Clinical laboratories know about this and handle it routinely. The risk falls entirely on the person who does not mention a beard vitamin because they do not think of it as a drug.

Pricing, and the 78% Permanent Sale

What you are buyingPrice
Beard Growth Oil$20.75
Beard Growth Vitamins$22.00
Derma roller$19.99 – $25.00
Growth Vitamin Spray$17.68
Entry growth kits$28.49 – $65.00
Ultimate / Titanium kits$91.50 – $169.99
2-month kit refills$122.00 – $174.00
Median across the catalogue$39.99
Free shipping threshold$30

478 of 613 variants — 78% — carry a “compare at” price above the selling price, with a median implied discount of 40% and a range from 1% to 100%.

When more than three quarters of a catalogue is permanently marked down, the crossed-out figure is not a former price you missed — it is a reference number. The site also runs a “SALE ENDS IN” countdown and “% CLAIMED” progress bars in the cart. Treat the sale price as the price, and buy on whether you want the product.

The realistic ongoing cost is the refill, not the kit. A two-month refill at $122 to $174 works out at roughly $61 to $87 a month to stay on a full growth protocol — which is the figure to plan around, not the $28.49 entry kit.

How It Works, Step by Step

  1. Take the quiz or pick a kit. Kits are tiered from Starter through Advanced, Ultimate, Supreme and Titanium
  2. Choose one-off or subscription. Subscriptions run through ReCharge, a third-party platform named in the terms
  3. Free shipping over $30, which most kits clear on their own
  4. Use the protocol: growth oil daily, multivitamins daily, derma roller 2–3 times weekly, replacement roller head monthly. That schedule is not just advice — it is the eligibility condition for the growth guarantee
  5. Clean the roller between sessions with the cleansing spray, which is sold separately and included in larger kits. This matters: a derma roller breaks the skin
  6. Refills arrive monthly or in two-month bundles
  7. If you want to return, contact support@thebeardclub.com within 30 days — and read the conditions below first

Two Guarantees, and What They Actually Require

There are two, and the gap between how they are advertised and how they are written is the sharpest thing in this review after the biotin finding.

1. The 30-day money-back guarantee

As advertised: “Try any Beard Club product risk-free for 30 days. If you don’t see results you love, send it back—no stress, no hassle.”

As written in the refund policy:

  • Return your most recent box within 30 days of delivery
  • “Only the original purchaser is eligible” — so a gift cannot be returned by the recipient
  • “Only one of each product is eligible for refund”
  • “Only one subscription renewal box per customer is eligible for return”
  • “Returns on partial kits are not accepted. All items purchased as part of a kit must be returned in order for the kit to be refunded” — so trying one item from a kit forfeits the whole refund
  • “Shipping is non-refundable”, and the customer covers return postage

Five separate restrictions is not “no stress, no hassle”. It is a serviceable policy described more generously than it reads.

2. The Beard Growth Guarantee

A full refund on five months’ supply if it does not work — provided you complete all of this:

  • Growth Oil daily, multivitamins daily, derma roller 2–3× weekly, replacement head monthly
  • Five consecutive months, using your monthly shipments — so you must stay subscribed throughout
  • Document your progress monthly with pictures & credited timestamps
  • Each month’s photos must show the front, right, and left sides of your face
  • “A set of before pictures is also required”

It is a real offer and we are not calling it a trick — a company that will refund five months is taking on genuine risk. But it asks you to run a photographic study on yourself for five months and remain a paying subscriber the whole time. Miss a month of photos, or one angle, and you are out. Most people will not complete it, and the offer is priced accordingly.

Subscription, Cancellation and Arbitration

The word “cancel” does not appear anywhere in the refund policy. For a subscription business, that is the omission that matters most. Subscriptions appear to run through ReCharge, named in the terms as the subscription and mobile messaging partner, which normally means a customer portal — but the company does not tell you where it is or how many steps it takes. Find the cancellation route before you subscribe.

The terms also contain a binding arbitration clause. Disputes go to the American Arbitration Association under its Commercial or Consumer Arbitration Rules, governed by the Federal Arbitration Act, with the arbitrator applying California substantive law. This is standard in US e-commerce and is not sinister, but it means you are agreeing not to take a dispute to court, and most people click past it without knowing.

One further clause worth knowing: the terms reserve the right to limit quantities “per person, per household or per order”, including orders sharing a card or address, and to cancel orders that appear to come from resellers.

Eligibility and Availability

Availability: the affiliate program is registered for the United States only, and we have verified nothing outside it. The terms require that you are “at least the age of majority in your state or province” to agree to them.

Practical suitability: the oils, balms and tools suit anyone with facial hair. The two items that warrant a moment’s thought are the derma roller — which punctures skin, so should not be rolled over active acne, cold sores, eczema, psoriasis or broken skin, and needs cleaning between uses — and the biotin supplements, for the laboratory reason above. If you take prescription medication or have a medical condition, a supplement is a question for your doctor or pharmacist rather than a grooming brand.

This is consumer information, not medical advice. Sudden or patchy hair loss, including in a beard, can have medical causes — alopecia areata, thyroid disease and nutritional deficiency among them — that a grooming kit will not address. If your beard or scalp hair has changed noticeably, that is a reason to see a doctor rather than to buy a vitamin.

Legitimacy and Credentials

CheckResult
Catalogue health613 of 613 variants in stock — the best figure we have measured
Who regulates itCosmetics and supplements are regulated by the FDA, which does not approve either before sale; advertising claims fall to the FTC. Derma rollers occupy a grey area between cosmetic device and medical device depending on needle depth and claims
Better Business BureauA search returns a “The Beard Club” in Westwood, New Jersey with an F rating and no accreditation — but it is described as a local beauty supplies business at a physical address, while this company’s terms specify California law. We could not confirm they are the same entity and do not attribute that rating here
TrustpilotCould not retrieve, so we report none
Published policiesRefund policy and terms of service both published and readable, with a named support address

We want to be explicit about that BBB entry, because a company’s reputation should not be damaged by a name collision. An F rating is a serious thing to publish, and we are not publishing it as this company’s, because the address and business description do not match and we could not verify the link. If you want to check it yourself, search the BBB directly and compare the address against the one on your order confirmation.

How It Compares

OptionWhere it winsWhere it loses
The Beard Club kitEverything in one box; 100% in stock; free shipping over $30; restrained efficacy language$61–$87/month on refills; biotin with 3 RCTs; guarantee with five conditions
Buying a derma roller aloneAround $20 for the one item with a real mechanism behind itNo conditioning products; you still need to clean it properly
A plain beard oil or balmDoes what it claims — softens, reduces itch, improves appearance. Cheap and honestWill not change how much hair grows
Seeing a doctor about minoxidilThe actual regulated hair-growth drug, and the one the microneedling trials were run alongside. 19 indexed records on the beard applicationFacial use is off-label; needs a conversation and has side effects
PatienceBeard density is largely genetic and androgen-driven, and many men fill in through their twenties. FreeDoes nothing for genetics, and is unsatisfying advice

Who Should Buy, and Who Should Look Elsewhere

Buy it if:

  • You want a complete grooming kit in one box and value convenience over unbundling
  • You are buying it for the conditioning and the tools, and treat any growth effect as a bonus
  • You want to try microneedling and would rather have the roller, the cleansing spray and the routine in one purchase
  • You are buying one-off, not subscribing, at least until you have found the cancellation route
  • You are genuinely willing to run the five-month photo protocol, in which case the growth guarantee is real money

Look elsewhere if:

  • You are buying it primarily for the vitamins. Three RCTs, and no evidence of benefit in people who are not deficient
  • You have blood tests coming up and would not think to mention a beard supplement. Or take it, and tell them
  • You expected the derma roller evidence to be about beards. It is about scalps, alongside a drug not sold here
  • You want a genuinely no-questions return. Read the five conditions first
  • You have active acne, eczema, psoriasis or broken skin on the face — the roller is not for you right now
  • Your beard or hair has changed suddenly or in patches. See a doctor; that can be medical

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • “Clinically”, “proven” and “FDA” appear zero times across 500 product descriptions — real restraint in a category that rarely shows any
  • 613 of 613 variants in stock — the best availability we have measured
  • Newer product copy has been rewritten in plainer, claim-free language
  • The derma roller is a legitimate product with 25 RCTs behind the mechanism
  • A real five-month growth guarantee that refunds the full supply if completed
  • Ingredients disclosed — biotin, B12 and MSM are named rather than hidden in a “proprietary blend”
  • Free shipping over $30, and a published refund policy with a named support address
  • A cleansing spray for the roller is sold and bundled — the right hygiene instinct for a device that breaks skin

Cons

  • 78% of variants carry a permanent “compare at” discount, median 40%
  • The microneedling evidence is for use with minoxidil — which they sell zero of
  • Zero indexed studies on microneedling for beards; all 25 RCTs are scalp
  • Biotin has 3 RCTs for hair and 341 papers on interfering with lab tests
  • Biotin can make thyroid results look like hyperthyroidism — not disclosed anywhere on the product pages we read
  • “No stress, no hassle” returns carry five separate restrictions
  • Partial kits cannot be returned — open one item and the kit refund is gone
  • Customer pays return postage; shipping non-refundable
  • No cancellation instructions anywhere in the refund policy
  • Growth guarantee requires 5 months of subscription plus timestamped photos from three angles
  • Countdown timers and “% CLAIMED” bars in the cart
  • Binding arbitration clause; duplicate product listings at different prices

Limitations of This Review

Checked on 11 August 2026 against The Beard Club’s product catalogue (500 products, 613 variants across two pages of the public product feed), its refund policy and its terms of service, plus PubMed and the BBB. Prices, stock and promotions change constantly; verify on the live site.

We bought nothing and used nothing. No oil, balm, roller or vitamin was tested. We cannot tell you how any of it smells, feels, performs, or whether it grew anyone’s beard. We also did not obtain a full supplement facts panel — we know biotin, B12 and MSM are named in the marketing copy, but we do not know the doses, which matters for the laboratory interference question, since the effect is dose-dependent.

Things we could not verify and have therefore not stated: how to cancel a subscription, delivery times, whether the subscription auto-renews at the same price, and any Trustpilot record. On the BBB, we found an F-rated business sharing the name but could not confirm it is the same company, and we have declined to attribute it.

On the evidence: the microneedling meta-analysis concerns androgenetic alopecia of the scalp, tested as an adjunct to minoxidil, with substantial heterogeneity between trials (I² = 88%) — extending it to beards is extrapolation and we have labelled it as such. The word counts measure marketing emphasis, not formulation. PubMed counts measure how much a question has been studied, not whether something works. None of this is medical advice, and hair loss with a sudden or patchy onset deserves a doctor rather than a purchase.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do beard growth kits actually work?

Partly, and not in the way the packaging implies. Of the things in a Beard Club kit, the derma roller is the only one whose mechanism has a serious evidence base — microneedling has 25 randomised controlled trials in alopecia. But the pooled evidence tests microneedling as an add-on to minoxidil, not on its own, and PubMed indexes zero studies on microneedling for beards specifically. The oils and balms are conditioners: they make a beard look and feel better, which is a real benefit, but conditioning is not growing.

What is in the growth vitamins?

The site states the growth vitamins deliver "Biotin, B12, and MSM", and that the vitamin spray "adds Biotin". Biotin also appears in the Biotin Beard Balm and the Biotin Growth Butter. Biotin is the active ingredient across the range, which matters because the evidence for it is thin and it has a specific, well-documented side effect that has nothing to do with hair.

Does biotin grow hair?

Not in people who are not deficient, on the available evidence. A review in Skin Appendage Disorders found 18 reported cases of biotin use for hair and nail changes and noted that "in all cases, patients receiving biotin supplementation had an underlying pathology for poor hair or nail growth", concluding there is a "lack of sufficient evidence for supplementation in healthy individuals". PubMed indexes 72 records on biotin and hair growth, of which just 3 are randomised controlled trials.

Is there a real risk from taking biotin?

Not to your health directly, but to your blood tests — and this is the most useful thing in this review. Biotin interferes with immunoassays that use biotinylated antibodies. A 2022 paper in Advances in Clinical Chemistry explains that biotin "may falsely increase analyte concentration using competitive immunoassay" and shows "negative interference if sandwich immunoassay format is used", and that such interference "may cause diagnostic error, most commonly in cases of hyperthyroidism" through positive interference in free T3 and free T4. PubMed indexes 341 records on biotin and laboratory interference, 62 of them on thyroid tests specifically.

So what should I do if I take biotin and need bloodwork?

Tell whoever is drawing the blood that you take a biotin supplement, and ask whether you should stop it beforehand and for how long. This is a routine, well-recognised issue in clinical laboratories, and it is easily managed once disclosed. The danger is the person who does not mention a beard vitamin because they do not think of it as a medication, and then gets a thyroid panel that reads like hyperthyroidism.

What does The Beard Club cost?

Checked on 11 August 2026 across 500 products and 613 variants, prices ran from $0.00 for promotional items to $199.99, with a median of $39.99. Growth kits ranged from $28.49 to $169.99, the growth vitamins were $22, derma rollers $19.99 to $25, the vitamin spray $17.68, and two-month kit refills $122 to $174. Shipping is free over $30.

Is the sale price real?

Treat it as a list price rather than a deal. Of 613 variants, 478 — about 78% — carried a "compare at" price above the selling price, with a median implied discount of 40% and a range from 1% to 100%. When more than three quarters of a catalogue is permanently marked down, the crossed-out number is the fiction and the sale price is simply the price. We did not track prices over time, so we cannot say whether the higher figure was ever charged.

What does the 30-day money-back guarantee actually cover?

Less than the marketing suggests. The product page says "Try any Beard Club product risk-free for 30 days... send it back — no stress, no hassle." The refund policy adds five conditions: only the original purchaser is eligible; only one of each product qualifies; only one subscription renewal box per customer can be returned; "returns on partial kits are not accepted" and every item in a kit must go back for the kit to be refunded; and "shipping is non-refundable", with the customer covering return postage.

What is the Beard Growth Guarantee?

A five-month photographic protocol. To qualify you must use the Growth Oil daily, the multivitamins daily, the derma roller two to three times weekly and a replacement roller head monthly, using consecutive monthly shipments for five months. You must "document your progress monthly with pictures & credited timestamps", with each month's photos showing "the front, right, and left sides of your face", plus a set of before pictures. Complete all that without results and you can claim a full refund on the five-month supply. It is a real offer, but it asks you to run a study on yourself and stay subscribed throughout.

How do I cancel the subscription?

We could not tell you from the pages we read, and that is a genuine gap. The word "cancel" does not appear anywhere in the refund policy. Subscriptions appear to be handled through ReCharge, a third-party subscription platform named in the terms, which usually means a customer portal — but the company does not spell out the route. Find it before you subscribe, not after your second box arrives.

Is there anything unusual in the terms?

The terms of service contain a binding arbitration clause: disputes go to the American Arbitration Association under its Commercial or Consumer Arbitration Rules, governed by the Federal Arbitration Act, with the arbitrator applying California substantive law. That is common in US e-commerce, but it means giving up the right to sue in court, and it is worth knowing before you agree to it at checkout.

Is the company legitimate?

It appears to be a real, functioning retailer — 500 products, every variant in stock on the day we checked, a published refund policy, a named support address and a mainstream subscription platform. On the Better Business Bureau, a search for "The Beard Club" returns a business of that name in Westwood, New Jersey with an F rating and no accreditation, but that entry is described as a local beauty supplies business at a physical address, while this company's terms specify California law. We could not confirm they are the same entity, so we do not attribute that rating here.

Verdict

2.7 / 5

A well-run shop with unusually restrained copy, selling good conditioners, one product with a real mechanism, and a supplement whose best-documented effect is on your blood test results rather than your beard.

Start with the credit, because it is genuine. In a category built on “clinically proven” nonsense, The Beard Club says “growth” 749 times and “clinically” zero times. Its newer product descriptions have been rewritten to drop efficacy claims entirely. Every one of 613 variants was in stock. Ingredients are named rather than hidden in a proprietary blend, the roller comes with a cleansing spray because a device that breaks skin should be cleaned, and the five-month growth guarantee, if you complete it, is real money back.

What keeps the score down is the distance between the promise in the product names and the evidence behind the contents. The derma roller is the strong item — 25 randomised trials, a pooled hair-count improvement of SMD 1.32 — except those trials tested microneedling alongside minoxidil, a drug that appears zero times in 500 product descriptions, and zero studies exist on microneedling for beards at all. The strongest evidence in the box belongs to a combination you are not being sold.

And the vitamins are the weak item in a way most buyers will never discover. Biotin has three randomised trials for hair, with a review concluding there is a “lack of sufficient evidence for supplementation in healthy individuals”. It has 341 papers on interfering with laboratory immunoassays, and 62 on thyroid tests specifically, where it can produce results that look like hyperthyroidism in someone with a normal thyroid. On a site whose readers get thyroid panels routinely, that is the most useful sentence here: if you take a beard vitamin, say so before your bloods.

Then the ordinary retail marks: 78% of the catalogue permanently discounted, a “no stress, no hassle” guarantee with five written conditions including no partial kit returns, and no cancellation instructions anywhere in the refund policy of a subscription business.

Buy the oil because a conditioned beard looks better — that claim is true and cheap. Buy the roller if you want to try the one thing with a mechanism, and clean it. Skip the vitamins, or take them knowing what they do and do not do. And if the patchiness genuinely bothers you, the conversation worth having is with a doctor about minoxidil, not with a subscription box.

Before You Order

Find the subscription cancellation route before you subscribe — it is not in the refund policy. Budget on the refill price ($61–$87 a month), not the entry kit. Do not open one item from a kit you might return, because partial kits are refused. Treat the crossed-out price as a reference number, not a deadline. If you take the biotin vitamins, tell your doctor before any blood test. And do not roll a derma roller over broken or inflamed skin.