Supplements|By The Weight Weight Team|August 7, 2026

Vena CBD Review – Real Doses, Real THC, and a Subscription to Watch

Affiliate disclosure

We earn a commission if you buy from Vena through the links on this page. It did not buy a favourable review — this one credits the formulation more than most and flags a THC dose the marketing does not lead with.

Vena is a California CBD and wellness brand, operated under Medterra CBD LLC, selling functional gummies, capsules, tinctures and a CBD skincare line — products named for outcomes rather than ingredients: No Worries, Cloud 9, Lights Out, Rise + Shine. Two things set it apart from the six other hemp brands we have reviewed, and they pull in opposite directions. The botanicals are dosed at amounts that match the published research, which is rare. And each gummy carries 5mg of delta-9 THC — a genuinely psychoactive dose in a product sold in wellness language.

Overview

The range is organised by intended effect rather than by cannabinoid: No Worries for stress, Cloud 9 for mood, Lights Out and Restful Night for sleep, Rise + Shine for mornings, alongside full spectrum tinctures and capsules, a THC drink, and a skincare line including serums, moisturisers and a manuka cream.

That framing is the brand’s strength and its risk. The strength is that each formula pairs CBD with a specific active chosen for the stated purpose, at a disclosed dose. The risk is that outcome-named products in wellness packaging invite buyers to treat them as gentle supplements — and these are not gentle.

Everything below reflects Vena’s own product and FAQ pages as they read on 7 August 2026, its BBB record, published research on the botanicals used, and the statutory position on hemp. We have not bought or taken any of these products.

The Part Buyers Miss: 5mg of THC per Gummy

Both No Worries and Cloud 9 contain 50mg CBD and 5mg delta-9 THC per gummy. A 30-count jar therefore holds 1,500mg of CBD and 150mg of THC. The full spectrum tincture carries 2mg of THC per serving.

Five milligrams is a real dose, not a trace. Common guidance for edibles is to start at 2.5mg to 5mg, so one gummy is a full starter dose and two is a moderate recreational one. This is not a non-intoxicating wellness supplement.

To be fair, the company discloses this clearly on the product panel — the milligrams are printed, and we found them without difficulty. This is not concealment. But the framing matters: a product called “No Worries” sold alongside facial serums and soaking salts sets an expectation of a mild botanical supplement, and a customer who takes two before a work call is in for a different afternoon than they planned.

Three practical consequences. Do not drive after taking one. You will likely fail a drug test — 5mg of delta-9 is not a borderline amount. And take half to start, particularly if you have not used edibles before, remembering that onset is delayed and the temptation to take more before the first has landed is exactly how people have a bad time.

The Formulation Is Better Than the Category Norm

Having spent several reviews criticising brands for proprietary blends with no disclosed amounts, we should be equally clear when someone does it properly. Vena publishes the dose of each active, and at least one of those doses is chosen with evident care.

Cloud 9 contains 30mg of saffron per gummy. That is the dose used in randomised controlled trials of saffron and mood — trials administering 30mg a day have reported significant improvements in depressive symptoms on the Hamilton Depression Rating Scale against placebo, with several independent RCTs supporting the finding.

A brand that puts a botanical in at the amount actually studied, and tells you the number, is doing something the majority of this industry does not.

Two honest qualifications, because the brief we work to requires efficacy figures to come with their population. That saffron research is largely in people with depressive symptoms, not healthy adults looking for a lift, and the effect sizes come from a clinical context. And these products are not sold, and cannot lawfully be sold, to treat depression — if you are depressed, that is a conversation for a clinician, not a gummy.

No Worries contains 100mg of L-theanine. That sits within the studied range but at its lower end: EEG research associates L-theanine with increased alpha activity and wakeful relaxation, single doses of 100, 200 and 400mg have been examined, and a randomised trial reporting reduced stress-related symptoms used 200mg a day. So 100mg is a real inclusion rather than a sprinkle, but it is half the dose of the stress trial — worth knowing if you are judging the product on that ingredient.

Where the Claims Outrun the Evidence

Cloud 9 also contains 250mg of L-tyrosine, and the page states the product “supports dopamine production.”

The first half of that is textbook: tyrosine genuinely is a precursor in the dopamine synthesis pathway. The problem is the implied second half — that taking more precursor produces more dopamine, and that more dopamine produces a better mood. In a healthy, adequately nourished person, neither step is reliable. The better-supported use of supplemental tyrosine is cognitive performance under acute stressors such as sleep deprivation or cold exposure, not mood elevation in ordinary conditions.

The claim is carefully worded — “supports” is doing a lot of work, and the required FDA disclaimer is present — so this is not a regulatory problem. It is an evidential one, and worth naming precisely because the saffron in the same product is well supported. The formulation would be more honest without it.

Pricing

ProductPriceSubscribed (−25%)Per unitCost per mg CBD
No Worries gummies (30)$69.95$52.4650mg CBD + 5mg THC + 100mg L-theanine4.7¢ / 3.5¢
Cloud 9 gummies$69.95$52.4650mg CBD + 5mg THC + 30mg saffron + 250mg L-tyrosine4.7¢ / 3.5¢
Full spectrum tincture (30ml)$39.95$29.9650mg CBD + 2mg THC per servingTotal mg not stated — sold out

At 3.5¢ per milligram subscribed, the CBD is mid-priced — dearer than R&R at 2.1¢ and far above Canna River at 0.5¢. But cost per milligram of CBD is the wrong yardstick here, because you are also buying 5mg of THC and a properly dosed botanical in each gummy. A fairer framing is that $52.46 buys 30 doses of a formulated product — about $1.75 a serving — which is reasonable for what is in it and expensive if you only wanted CBD.

A 30-day full refund is offered on products purchased within 30 days, and free shipping applies over $75 — which, at $69.95 a jar, is a threshold you clear by buying almost anything else.

Lab Testing

This is another area where Vena is stronger than the category norm. Coverage of the brand indicates the hemp distillate is tested before production and every finished batch is tested again by an external accredited laboratory, with screening for heavy metals, pesticides, residual solvents, mycotoxins and pathogens. The company’s own FAQ states its CBD and finished products are tested at a third-party laboratory for potency and purity.

Testing the input and the output separately is the right structure — plenty of brands test only the finished product, which cannot distinguish a clean batch from a lucky one. And mycotoxin and pathogen screening goes beyond what most competitors publish; mycotoxins are mould-derived and a genuine risk in plant material stored badly.

The Subscription Complaints

This needs stating carefully, because the numbers are small and it would be easy to make them sound worse than they are.

The Better Business Bureau profile for Vena CBD records five complaints across three years — a genuinely tiny number, with none closed in the last 12 months. Four relate to service or repair and one to sales and advertising. The company is not BBB accredited, and no letter rating was shown.

Two things about those five are worth attention. Four of the five are unanswered, which is a poor response rate however small the sample. And they cluster on the same issue: customers reporting they asked to cancel a subscription and continued to be charged. One describes being told the company would stop sending products and unsubscribe them, then incurring $157.14 in charges over two months. Others describe unresponsive service, being hung up on, and orders marked unfulfilled with payment already taken.

Vena’s own FAQ says “You can pause, skip or cancel your subscription at any time,” with no notice period. The policy is not the problem; the complaints allege it was not honoured.

Five complaints is not evidence of a systemic billing problem, and we are not going to claim it is. But a recurring-revenue business where the small number of complaints that exist are almost all about cancellation, and almost all unanswered, is one where a buyer should take precautions that cost nothing: cancel through your account area rather than email, screenshot the confirmation, and check the next statement. Separately, Trustpilot coverage describes backorder problems with subscription orders prioritised ahead of one-time orders and delivery dates repeatedly pushed back — consistent with the tincture showing as sold out when we checked.

November 2026 and the THC Content

The same federal change we have flagged across this category applies here, and the high THC content makes the exposure unusually direct.

From 12 November 2026, the FY2026 agriculture appropriations law caps finished hemp-derived consumer products at 0.4mg of total THC per container — per container, not per serving. A jar holding 150mg of THC is roughly 375 times that ceiling, and the full spectrum tincture is far over it too.

The practical advice given the subscription picture above is doubled here: do not set up a long-running subscription for a product category facing federal reclassification in roughly three months. Buy what you will use.

If You Are Here Because of Weight Loss

The THC content is the relevant point, and it is not incidental at 5mg a gummy. THC stimulates appetite — synthetic THC is an FDA-approved appetite stimulant — so a nightly gummy works directly against a GLP-1 medication or any deliberate appetite reduction. Our Summit THC review covers the pharmacology.

If stress or sleep is what you are actually trying to address — both of which genuinely affect appetite regulation, since short sleep raises ghrelin and lowers leptin — the honest observation is that you can buy L-theanine or saffron on their own, at the same doses, for a fraction of $69.95 and without the THC. That is a less profitable recommendation for this page, and it is the right one for a lot of readers.

Who Should Not Use These Products

This review is information, not medical advice, and nothing here promises any outcome. Speak to a clinician or pharmacist first, particularly given the botanical actives.

  • Anyone pregnant or breastfeeding, or under 21.
  • Anyone taking an antidepressant. Saffron has been studied for depressive symptoms and its mechanism is thought to involve serotonergic pathways, so combining it with an SSRI or SNRI is a conversation to have with your prescriber rather than a decision to make alone.
  • Anyone taking thyroid medication or MAOIs — L-tyrosine is a precursor to both thyroid hormone and catecholamines, and interacts with both drug classes.
  • Anyone on medication metabolised by the liver. CBD inhibits CYP3A4 and CYP2C19, affecting blood thinners, anticonvulsants and many others.
  • Anyone with liver disease or raised liver enzymes.
  • Anyone subject to drug testing — 5mg of delta-9 per gummy is not a trace.
  • Anyone driving or operating machinery, or with a history of psychosis or significant anxiety.

Common CBD side effects include drowsiness, diarrhoea, appetite change and fatigue. Start with half a gummy.

Supplement Disclaimer & Review Date

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Dietary supplements are not FDA-approved medications, are not reviewed by the FDA for safety or effectiveness before they go on sale, and are not a substitute for prescription treatment.

Nothing on this page is medical advice, and nothing here should be read as a promise of weight loss or of any particular result. Supplements can interact with prescription medications and are not appropriate for everyone. Talk to a doctor or pharmacist who knows your medical history before starting any supplement — particularly if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, take prescription medication, manage a chronic condition, or are already taking a GLP-1 medication.

Details about Vena CBD come from the manufacturer's own published materials as of the date below. Ingredients, amounts, pricing, and policies change frequently — check the current label and product page before purchasing.

Last reviewed: August 7, 2026

How Vena Compares

BrandCost per mg CBDBotanical dosingContaminant panelTHC in wellness line
Vena3.5¢Disclosed, saffron at the trial doseMetals, pesticides, solvents, mycotoxins, pathogens5mg per gummy
R&R CBD2.1¢Not a botanical formulatorFull panel, three named labsTrace (full spectrum)
Soul2.7¢Capsule blends with no doses publishedISO 17025 labNone — isolate
Redeem2.3¢Sleep formulas with CBN and melatoninFull panel including aflatoxinsTrace in full spectrum

Vena is the most thoughtfully formulated brand in this set and one of the two best on contaminant screening, but it is also the only one putting a real psychoactive THC dose into a product framed as everyday wellness. If you want a formulated mood or stress product and you are comfortable being mildly intoxicated by it, this is the strongest option we have reviewed. If you wanted CBD and nothing else, Soul’s isolate or R&R’s THC-free line are cheaper and do what you asked.

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Saffron dosed at 30mg — the dose used in randomised trials on mood
  • L-theanine at 100mg, within the studied range rather than a token amount
  • Every active disclosed in milligrams, not hidden in a proprietary blend
  • Distillate tested before production and every batch tested after
  • External accredited lab, screening for mycotoxins and pathogens as well as metals
  • Organic ingredient base in the gummies
  • 30-day full refund on products purchased within 30 days
  • 25% subscription discount, with pause, skip or cancel stated as available any time
  • Operated under Medterra, which holds an A+ BBB rating and no FDA warning letter
  • No FDA warning letter found for Vena itself
  • Free shipping over $75

Cons

  • 5mg delta-9 THC per gummy — psychoactive, in wellness-framed packaging
  • 150mg THC per jar, roughly 375x the federal cap arriving 12 November 2026
  • “Supports dopamine production” overstates what 250mg tyrosine does
  • Four of five BBB complaints unanswered, clustered on subscription cancellation
  • One complaint reports $157.14 charged after a cancellation request
  • Reported backorders, with subscription orders prioritised over one-time orders
  • Tincture showing as sold out when we checked
  • $69.95 a jar is expensive; 3.5¢ per mg CBD is mid-priced at best
  • Saffron evidence comes from populations with depressive symptoms, not healthy adults
  • Not BBB accredited
  • Botanical actives interact with antidepressants and thyroid medication

Who Should Pick It, and Who Should Look Elsewhere

Vena suits you if you want a formulated product rather than plain CBD, you care that the botanicals are dosed at researched amounts, and you are content that the result is mildly intoxicating. Cloud 9 is the pick of the range on evidence grounds, because 30mg of saffron is a real dose with real trials behind it. Buy a single jar rather than a subscription, and take half a gummy first.

Look elsewhere if you are drug tested, managing appetite on a GLP-1, or simply did not want THC — in which case an isolate or a THC-free broad spectrum product is cheaper and is what you actually asked for. Look elsewhere too if you take an antidepressant or thyroid medication without clearing the botanicals first. And if it is only the L-theanine or saffron you want, both are available on their own for a fraction of the price.

Limitations of This Review

We have not bought, taken or independently assayed any Vena product, so we cannot verify that a jar contains what its panel states, and we cannot speak to taste, effect, shipping or service. Everything above comes from Vena’s own product and FAQ pages as they read on 7 August 2026, its BBB record, published research on saffron, L-theanine and tyrosine, and the statutory position on hemp.

Specific gaps: the lab-testing detail — distillate plus batch testing, external accredited lab, and the mycotoxin and pathogen panel — is reported from third-party coverage rather than verified by us against certificates. We did not open any certificate of analysis. The tincture was sold out and its total milligram content was not stated, so we published no cost per milligram for it. We read the BBB complaint categories and themes but not every complaint in full, and complaint narratives are one-sided accounts; five complaints is a small sample from which we have deliberately drawn a limited conclusion. No BBB letter rating was shown. Trustpilot findings are third-party reported rather than read directly. The botanical research is drawn from published summaries rather than our own reading of the primary trials, and — importantly — the saffron trials studied clinical populations rather than the use these products are sold for. Nothing here is medical advice.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do Vena gummies contain THC?

Yes, and this is the most important thing to know. Both the No Worries and Cloud 9 gummies contain 50mg of CBD and 5mg of delta-9 THC per gummy — that is a genuinely psychoactive dose, not a trace. A 30-count jar holds 1,500mg of CBD and 150mg of THC. The full spectrum tincture carries 2mg of THC per serving. These are marketed in wellness and beauty language, so a buyer expecting a non-intoxicating supplement needs to read the panel before the first dose.

How much does Vena CBD cost?

Checked 7 August 2026. The No Worries and Cloud 9 gummies are $69.95 for a 30-count jar, or $52.46 on a 25% subscription — roughly 4.7 cents per milligram of CBD at list and 3.5 cents subscribed, though that understates the formulation since each gummy also contains THC and an active botanical. The full spectrum tincture is $39.95, or $29.96 subscribed, and was showing as sold out. Free shipping applies over $75.

Is the saffron in Cloud 9 a real dose?

Yes, and it is unusually well judged. Cloud 9 contains 30mg of saffron per gummy, which matches the dose used in randomised controlled trials examining saffron and depressive symptoms — trials at 30mg a day have reported significant improvements on the Hamilton Depression Rating Scale against placebo. Note the population: that research is in people with depressive symptoms, not healthy adults seeking a mood lift, and these products are not sold or approved to treat depression. But a brand that doses a botanical at the amount actually studied is doing something most of this category does not.

What about the L-theanine in No Worries?

No Worries contains 100mg of L-theanine per gummy. That sits at the low end of the studied range — EEG work has shown L-theanine increases alpha activity associated with wakeful relaxation, and a randomised trial reporting reduced stress-related symptoms used 200mg a day, with single doses of 100, 200 and 400mg examined elsewhere. So 100mg is a real dose within the researched range rather than a token inclusion, but it is half what the stress trial used.

Does Cloud 9 really support dopamine production?

That claim leans harder on the biochemistry than the evidence supports. Cloud 9 contains 250mg of L-tyrosine, and tyrosine genuinely is a precursor in the dopamine synthesis pathway — that part is textbook. What is much weaker is the step from "precursor" to a noticeable mood effect in a healthy person. The better-supported use of supplemental tyrosine is cognitive performance under acute stressors such as sleep deprivation or cold, not mood elevation. Treat it as a plausible ingredient rather than a demonstrated mechanism.

How good is the lab testing?

Among the better setups we have reviewed. Coverage indicates the hemp distillate is tested before production and every finished batch is tested again by an external accredited laboratory, screening for heavy metals, pesticides, residual solvents, mycotoxins and pathogens. Mycotoxin and pathogen screening in particular goes beyond the potency-and-metals panel many competitors stop at.

Are there problems cancelling the subscription?

The policy is fine on paper — the company states you can pause, skip or cancel at any time, with no notice period. The complaints allege it was not honoured. The Better Business Bureau profile records only five complaints across three years, which is a very small number, but four of the five are unanswered and they cluster on the same issue: customers reporting they asked to cancel and continued to be charged, in one case $157.14 over two months, plus reports of unresponsive service. Cancel in the app or account area rather than by email, keep the confirmation, and watch the next statement.

Will these still be available after November 2026?

The THC content is a problem for that line. The FY2026 agriculture appropriations law caps finished hemp-derived consumer products at 0.4 milligrams of total THC per container from 12 November 2026 — per container, not per serving. A jar holding 150mg of THC is roughly 375 times that ceiling. Buy what you will use rather than stockpiling, and do not set up a long-running subscription on the assumption these continue in their current form.

Verdict

3.6 / 5

The best-formulated hemp brand we have reviewed — saffron at the actual trial dose, every active disclosed, and a contaminant panel that goes past the norm — sold with 5mg of real THC in wellness packaging, and a small complaint record that is almost entirely about subscriptions not being cancelled.

After six hemp reviews spent criticising undisclosed blends and doses chosen by marketing, Vena is a pleasant surprise. Putting 30mg of saffron in a mood product — the exact amount used in the randomised trials — and printing the number on the panel is the behaviour of someone who read the literature. The testing structure is right too: the input tested before production, every batch tested after, by an external accredited lab, screening for mycotoxins and pathogens as well as the usual metals and solvents.

Two things keep it out of the top tier. The first is a mismatch between packaging and pharmacology: 5mg of delta-9 THC per gummy is a real dose, and while it is printed clearly on the panel, nothing about a product called No Worries sitting beside a facial serum prepares a customer for being intoxicated by it. Take half to start, and do not drive.

The second is smaller in volume but sharper in shape. Five BBB complaints in three years is almost nothing — but four are unanswered and nearly all describe the same thing, a subscription that carried on charging after the customer asked it to stop. The written policy says cancel any time and we have no reason to doubt it is usually honoured. Still, on a business built on recurring orders, in a product category that federal law reclassifies on 12 November 2026, the sensible purchase here is one jar, not a standing order — and Cloud 9 is the one worth trying.

Buy One Jar, Take Half a Gummy

Cloud 9 is the pick — 30mg of saffron is the dose the trials used. But each gummy also carries 5mg of real THC, so start with half, do not drive, and expect to fail a drug test. Buy a single jar rather than a subscription, and if you do subscribe, cancel through your account and keep the confirmation.