Every other service we review exists to get you a GLP-1. Virta exists to get you off one, or to keep you from needing one. It is also the only company in this entire review set that points at a peer-reviewed paper when it makes a claim — which turns out to be a low bar it clears and a high bar it does not.
The Offramp Pitch
Virta describes its nutrition-first approach as a “complement, offramp, and alternative to weight loss medications”, and offers weight loss “with or without medications”. The delivery is an app with personalised nutrition, expert coaching and clinical oversight.
That word — offramp — is pointed at the biggest unsolved problem in this field. GLP-1s work while you take them, and the published withdrawal data show substantial regain after stopping. A service organised around what happens next is addressing something the prescription-only market mostly avoids.
It is worth being clear about what this means commercially, because it cuts both ways. A company that profits from you not being on medication has a different incentive structure from one that profits from a monthly refill — which is genuinely reassuring. It also means Virta has an interest in the offramp working, and in framing medication as something to be exited. Neither incentive is neutral; they simply point in opposite directions, and knowing which one you are dealing with is useful.
Virta is primarily a metabolic health and type 2 diabetes company rather than a weight-loss shop, which is the frame the whole product makes sense in. Weight loss is presented as one outcome of improving metabolic health rather than the target itself.
It Actually Cites a Study
The site cites Hallberg and colleagues, Diabetes Therapy, 2018, an open-label, non-randomised, controlled study of its care model at one year.
We have now reviewed a great many companies in this category, and this is the first one that points at a paper. knownwell publishes a 97% two-year maintenance figure with no methodology. Enara Health publishes a three-rung outcome ladder with no denominator. Both look more precise than Virta’s claims and are worth considerably less, because a reader can go and read Virta’s.
That is the whole point of a citation. It is not a badge — it is an invitation to check, and the ability to check is the difference between evidence and assertion.
What Open-Label and Non-Randomised Mean
Having praised the citation, the design matters and Virta states it plainly, which is also to its credit. The study is open-label and non-randomised.
Non-randomised means participants were not assigned to groups by chance — broadly, they chose. Open-label means everyone knew which group they were in. Together those are the two design features that randomised blinded trials exist specifically to eliminate.
The problem is selection. People who choose an intensive nutrition programme differ systematically from people who do not — in motivation, in resources, in how ready they are to change. Some part of any result will belong to that difference rather than to the intervention, and a non-randomised design cannot separate the two. Knowing you are in the active arm also changes behaviour and reporting in ways that inflate results.
So where does this sit? On the ladder we use across these reviews — randomised placebo- controlled trial, then peer-reviewed but unrandomised, then independent third-party testing, then company-paid case studies, then testimonials — Virta sits on the second rung. Almost everything else in this category sits on the fourth or fifth. That is a real and meaningful gap, and it is still not the same as the evidence behind the drugs it positions itself against, which have randomised placebo-controlled trials with tens of thousands of participants.
Reading the Numbers
The published one-year results are an average 31 lb weight loss, an average 1.3 point reduction in HbA1c, and 63% of diabetes prescriptions eliminated, excluding metformin. A cumulative “1 million+ pounds lost” and satisfaction figures — 90% of members saying they love their coach — are also given.
A 1.3 point HbA1c reduction is clinically substantial; that is the sort of change that moves someone meaningfully in diabetes management. Thirty-one pounds at one year is a strong result, and unlike much of this category it is stated as an average rather than an “up to”.
The deprescribing figure needs its parenthesis read carefully. “Excluding metformin” removes the most commonly prescribed and most commonly retained diabetes drug from the calculation. That is a disclosed and defensible choice — metformin is cheap, well tolerated and often continued deliberately — but it does mean the 63% describes the other medications, not all of them. The honest reading is “most of the non-metformin prescriptions”, which is still a good result and a narrower claim than the headline suggests.
Note also that all of this is diabetes data. If you are coming to Virta for weight loss without diabetes, the cited evidence is about a different population than you, and the 31 lb figure sits inside that study population.
What It Will Not Tell You
For a company this comfortable with evidence, the commercial disclosure is poor. No pricing appears anywhere, and the payment model is not stated — employers, health plans and individuals are all referenced without saying who pays what. Most people reach Virta through an employer or insurer, so whether you can buy it at all may depend on your job.
It also does not name a single medication, and — despite the offramp framing — does not state whether or how it deprescribes GLP-1s. That is the specific thing the positioning promises, and the mechanism is left undescribed. No eligibility criteria, laboratory protocol or list of states served is published either.
One caution worth raising independently: coming off a GLP-1, or reducing diabetes medication, is a clinical process with real risks and is not something to arrange around a programme rather than with your prescriber. The published withdrawal data on GLP-1s show regain is common, and deprescribing diabetes drugs requires monitoring.
Provider Facts
| Medications offered | None named - the programme is nutrition-first and positions itself as an alternative and offramp to weight-loss medication |
|---|---|
| Brand-name or compounded | Not applicable - Virta does not present itself as a route to obtaining GLP-1s |
| Consultation process | App-based programme with expert health coaching and clinical oversight; format and frequency not published |
| Eligibility | Not published |
| Provider involvement | Clinical oversight plus a health coach; team composition and credentials not detailed |
| Lab requirements | Not published - monitoring protocol not described |
| Pharmacy fulfillment | Not applicable |
| Shipping frequency | Not applicable |
| Support services | Personalised nutrition plan, health coaching and app-based tracking |
| Membership fees | Not published |
| Medication fees | Not applicable |
| Cancellation policy | Not published |
| Refund policy | Not published |
| Insurance | Employers and health plans referenced as routes to access; individual pricing not published |
| HSA/FSA | Not published |
| Availability | Not published - no state list found |
Pros and Cons
Pros
- The only provider in our review set citing a peer-reviewed study
- States the study design honestly rather than implying a trial
- Addresses discontinuation and regain, which most of the market ignores
- Reports averages rather than ceiling figures
- Discloses the metformin exclusion rather than hiding it
- A 1.3 point HbA1c reduction is clinically substantial
- Business model does not depend on selling you a monthly refill
Cons
- The cited study is open-label and non-randomised, so selection effects are unresolved
- Outcome data is from a diabetes population, not general weight loss
- No pricing published, and the payment model is unstated
- Access likely depends on your employer or health plan
- Never states whether or how it deprescribes GLP-1s, despite the offramp framing
- No eligibility criteria, lab protocol or state list
Who It May Be Best For
A strong fit if you have type 2 diabetes or prediabetes and your employer or health plan offers Virta. That is the population the evidence describes and the route most people take.
Worth considering if you are on a GLP-1 and thinking about what happens when you stop — the question almost nobody else in this market is organised around.
Ask how the offramp actually works before enrolling for that reason, and involve your prescriber in any plan to reduce medication. Coming off a GLP-1 or a diabetes drug is a clinical decision with monitoring attached, not a programme feature.
Check price and access first. Neither is published, and if you do not have employer or plan coverage the answer may be that it is not available to you at all.
Alternatives
Enara Health and Form Health run multi-component programmes that include medication. knownwell offers insurance-billed obesity medicine. Noom is the closest behavioural comparison. Our best GLP-1 for weight loss page covers the medication side.
Limitations of This Review
Based on Virta Health’s own published materials at virtahealth.com, checked on 6 September 2026. We describe the cited study as Virta’s site characterises it — Hallberg and colleagues, Diabetes Therapy, 2018, open-label and non-randomised — and have not independently reviewed the paper or its full results here; readers evaluating it should read it directly. All outcome figures are Virta’s own reporting. Anything marked not published means we could not find it, and pricing in particular is likely handled through an employer or plan eligibility check we did not complete. Statements about weight regain after stopping GLP-1s come from the published trial literature. Nothing here is medical advice, and no one should change or stop a prescribed medication on the strength of it.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Virta prescribe GLP-1s?
It is not positioned that way. Virta offers weight loss with or without medication and describes itself as a complement, offramp and alternative to weight-loss drugs. It does not name any GLP-1, and does not state whether or how it deprescribes them.
How good is the evidence?
Better than anyone else’s in this category, and not as good as a trial. The cited study is peer-reviewed but open-label and non-randomised, so participants knew their group and were not assigned at random — which leaves selection effects unresolved.
What does Virta cost?
Not published. Employers, health plans and individuals are all referenced without a price or a payment model, and most access appears to run through an employer or insurer.
What does “excluding metformin” mean?
The 63% deprescribing figure leaves metformin out of the calculation. Metformin is the most commonly prescribed diabetes drug and is often deliberately continued, so the figure describes the other medications rather than all of them. Disclosing the exclusion is to Virta’s credit.
Verdict
3.9 / 5 — no pricing published; access usually via employer or health plan
The most evidence-literate company we have reviewed in this category, aimed at the problem everyone else leaves alone. It is held back by a study design that cannot rule out selection, by outcome data drawn from a diabetes population, and by publishing no price at all.
The point worth carrying beyond this provider: a company that shows you a citable, imperfect study is telling you more than one that shows you a flawless uncitable number. Vaguer claims with visible sources beat precise claims with none, because only the first kind can be checked — and only checkable claims can be wrong in a way you would ever find out about.
Medical Disclaimer & Review Date
This review is general consumer information, not medical advice. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious contraindications, and whether any treatment is appropriate for you is a decision only a licensed healthcare provider who knows your medical history can make. Nothing here should be used to start, stop, or change a medication.
Details in this review come from Virta Health's own published materials as of the date below. Pricing, medication availability, state coverage, and policies in this category change frequently — verify current terms directly with the provider before purchasing.
Date reviewed: September 6, 2026