1st Optimal orders its clinical process the right way round: test first, have a provider read the results, then decide about treatment. It also runs a 25% first-purchase discount on a service whose price appears nowhere on the site — two habits from two different industries, sitting on the same page.
25% Off an Unpublished Price
The site promotes 25% off your first purchase. It publishes no prices at all — not for membership, consultations, laboratory testing or medication. Plans are described as flexible and medication as available at a reduced members-only rate, without a figure anywhere.
A percentage off an undisclosed number is not a quantifiable offer. Twenty five per cent of an unknown base is unknown, and there is no way to tell whether the discounted price is competitive, or whether the pre-discount price was set with the discount in mind.
The deeper issue is the mechanism rather than the arithmetic. First-purchase discounts exist to compress deliberation — they work by making you decide now rather than compare. That is ordinary retail practice and unremarkable on a pair of shoes. Applied to a prescription medication with real contraindications, it pushes in exactly the wrong direction, because the decision it is trying to accelerate is one that should involve lab results and a clinician.
It is also in tension with the rest of the practice’s own model. A service that genuinely wants labs drawn and reviewed before treatment is asking you to slow down; a promo code is asking you to hurry. The clinical process here is better than the marketing wrapped around it.
The Sequence Is Right
The programme runs: complete lab testing, at home or at a local draw site; a provider reviews the results; then a treatment plan follows. Entry points are a complimentary discovery call or a short online health quiz.
This is the correct order of operations, and it distinguishes 1st Optimal from the large part of this category that runs an intake questionnaire straight into a shipped injection with no objective measurement at any point.
Baseline labs matter for real clinical reasons. They can identify thyroid dysfunction or undiagnosed diabetes that changes what treatment is appropriate, establish kidney and liver function before starting a medication, and give a comparison point for whether anything is working beyond the scale. Offering at-home collection removes a genuine barrier.
Care is nurse-practitioner-led with a functional medicine emphasis. That framing tends to mean broader testing panels and more attention to hormones and metabolic markers than a conventional practice would order — which some patients specifically want. It is worth knowing that functional medicine panels are frequently broader than what standard guidelines recommend, so ask which tests are being ordered and why, and what each one would change about your treatment.
What the Membership Includes
Membership is stated to cover all medical oversight, consultations and shipping costs, with medication at a members-only rate. Bundling shipping and consultations is meaningful — those are precisely the line items that competitors add after the headline price, and a service that folds them in is easier to budget for, in principle.
In principle, because the membership price is not published either. The structure is good; the number that would let you evaluate it is missing. Published material does discuss semaglutide and tirzepatide, and engages with the distinction between compounded and FDA-approved products — so the practice clearly understands the question our compounded versus brand-name guide covers. What it does not do is say which one you would receive.
The Coverage Question
The site refers to patients across the United States without publishing a state list. Telehealth prescribing is licensed state by state and almost no service covers all fifty, so “across the U.S.” is a description of reach rather than a coverage statement.
Also unpublished: BMI or eligibility criteria, the fulfilment pharmacy, and any insurance or HSA/FSA position. A phone number is provided, which is more than many competitors offer, and is the fastest route to all of these answers.
Provider Facts
| Medications offered | Semaglutide and tirzepatide discussed in published material; the medication supplied is not specified |
|---|---|
| Brand-name or compounded | Not stated for what is dispensed, though the compounded versus FDA-approved distinction is discussed on the site |
| Consultation process | Complimentary discovery call or a short online health quiz, then provider review after labs; cost not published |
| Eligibility | Not published - no BMI threshold stated |
| Provider involvement | Nurse-practitioner-led with a functional medicine emphasis; provider reviews lab results before a treatment plan |
| Lab requirements | Required and central - at-home or local collection, reviewed by a provider before treatment; panels and cost not published |
| Pharmacy fulfillment | Not published |
| Shipping frequency | Stated as included in membership |
| Support services | Medical oversight and consultations stated as included in membership |
| Membership fees | Not published |
| Medication fees | Not published - described only as a reduced members-only rate, with 25% off a first purchase advertised |
| Cancellation policy | Not published |
| Refund policy | A policy is linked; terms not summarised |
| Insurance | Not published |
| HSA/FSA | Not published |
| Availability | Described as patients across the United States; no state list published |
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Labs before prescribing, reviewed by a provider — the right sequence
- At-home or local lab collection removes a real barrier
- Membership bundles oversight, consultations and shipping
- Free discovery call before any commitment
- Engages with the compounded versus FDA-approved distinction in its own material
- Publishes a phone number for direct questions
Cons
- No prices published for anything
- A 25% discount advertised against an undisclosed base
- Retail urgency marketing applied to a prescription decision
- Does not say which medication you would actually receive
- “Across the U.S.” with no state list
- No BMI criteria, pharmacy, insurance or HSA/FSA detail
Who It May Be Best For
A reasonable fit if you want comprehensive lab work before treatment and prefer a functional medicine approach to hormones and metabolic markers.
Use the free discovery call to get the full price list — membership, labs and medication — plus which molecule you would receive, whether it is compounded, and whether your state is served. The call costs nothing and the site answers none of it.
Ignore the discount when deciding. Compare the post-discount total against providers who publish their prices outright; a percentage off an unknown figure should carry no weight in the comparison.
Alternatives
Hone Health runs the same lab-led model with every price published and a $65 panel. Marek Health publishes its lab and consultation costs. Emerge Weight Loss offers an all-in medication price. Our best online GLP-1 providers page ranks the field.
Limitations of This Review
Based on 1st Optimal’s own published materials at 1stoptimal.com, checked on 5 September 2026. Anything marked not published means we could not find it on the pages we reached; pricing may well be available through the shop, the discovery call or the health quiz, none of which we completed. Our characterisation of first-purchase discounts describes a general marketing mechanism, not an allegation about this company’s intent. Nothing here is medical advice.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does 1st Optimal cost?
Not published — membership, labs, consultations and medication all lack a stated price. The complimentary discovery call is the way to get the figures before committing.
Is the 25% discount worth acting on?
It is not assessable. A percentage off an undisclosed base tells you nothing about whether the final price is competitive. Get the actual numbers and compare those.
Why does lab testing first matter?
Baseline labs can reveal thyroid dysfunction or undiagnosed diabetes that changes what treatment is appropriate, confirm kidney and liver function before starting medication, and give something objective to measure progress against. Many competitors skip this entirely.
Which states does it serve?
Not listed. The site refers to patients across the United States, which is not the same as a coverage statement. Confirm your state on the discovery call.
Verdict
2.8 / 5 — no pricing published
A clinically sensible programme — labs first, provider review, bundled oversight — sold with retail tactics that fit it badly. The free discovery call is genuinely the right way in, because it is the only way to learn what any of it costs.
The point worth carrying beyond this provider: a discount is only information if you can see the price it applies to. When a percentage is the most prominent number on a medical service’s homepage and no dollar figure appears anywhere, the percentage is advertising, not a saving you can verify.
Medical Disclaimer & Review Date
This review is general consumer information, not medical advice. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious contraindications, and whether any treatment is appropriate for you is a decision only a licensed healthcare provider who knows your medical history can make. Nothing here should be used to start, stop, or change a medication.
Details in this review come from 1st Optimal's own published materials as of the date below. Pricing, medication availability, state coverage, and policies in this category change frequently — verify current terms directly with the provider before purchasing.
Date reviewed: September 5, 2026