Affiliate disclosure
We earn a commission if you sign up with TMates through the links on this page. As you will see below, it did not buy a favourable review — this is the lowest rating we have given a GLP-1 provider.
TMates sells compounded semaglutide from around $199 a month and compounded tirzepatide from around $297, and says it accepts insurance. On paper that is unremarkable and roughly mid-market. We are not rating it on the paper. Independent reporting describes a substantial gap between the customer-satisfaction figures TMates advertises and what can actually be found — and until that is resolved, we cannot recommend handing the company your card details.
Overview
TMates operates as a direct-to-consumer telehealth weight-loss platform: online intake, provider review, compounded GLP-1 medication shipped to you. It is one of relatively few compounded platforms that states it accepts insurance, which would ordinarily count in its favour. The rest of this review explains why it does not carry the weight it normally would.
TMates at a Glance
| Medications offered | Compounded semaglutide and compounded tirzepatide |
|---|---|
| Brand-name or compounded | Compounded — not FDA-approved finished products and not generic equivalents of the branded medications |
| Consultation process | Online intake with provider review; process detail not published |
| Eligibility | Assessed at intake; criteria not published |
| Provider involvement | Prescribing; ongoing clinical support not detailed |
| Lab requirements | Not stated as required |
| Pharmacy fulfillment | Not named |
| Shipping frequency | Not detailed |
| Support services | Not detailed |
| Membership fees | Not clearly published |
| Medication fees | Compounded semaglutide from about $199/month; tirzepatide from about $297/month — though other sources quote $99–$167, and we could not reconcile the two |
| Cancellation policy | Not published — note the billing complaints described below |
| Refund policy | Not published |
| Insurance | Stated as accepted; terms not detailed |
| HSA/FSA | Not stated |
| Availability | Not published in detail; US only |
The Advertised Review Base
According to independent reporting on the service, the TMates website advertises 4.9 stars from more than 4,700 Trustpilot reviews and more than 40,000 patients treated. The same reporting describes:
- a live Trustpilot profile for the company carrying one review, rated one star
- a second Trustpilot profile associated with the company that was removed by the platform for violating its guidelines
- essentially no organic discussion of the service on Reddit or comparable forums — unusual for a company claiming 40,000 patients
- a Better Business Bureau file containing billing complaints
We were not able to verify these findings at source. Trustpilot blocks automated access from our review environment, so we could not load the profiles ourselves and confirm the review count, the star rating, or the removal of the second profile. What we can say is that multiple independent sources describe the same discrepancy, and that we could not locate the advertised review base through any channel available to us. We are reporting corroborated third-party findings, not our own inspection, and we would revise this review promptly if the figures check out.
This is straightforward for you to check in a way it is not for us. Open Trustpilot in your browser, search for the company, and count. It takes under a minute and it is the single most useful thing you can do before signing up.
Why This Matters More Than the Price
A gap of this size is not a rounding error or an out-of-date badge. The distance between 4,700 reviews and one review is not a discrepancy that arises from sloppy site maintenance, and the reported removal of a second profile by the platform itself is a separate and more serious signal — Trustpilot removes profiles for things like fabricated reviews and misuse of its branding.
The reason to weight it heavily in a GLP-1 review specifically: with a compounded medication you are being asked to trust things you cannot inspect. You cannot see the pharmacy, you cannot verify the concentration in the vial, you cannot confirm the sterility of the preparation, and there is no FDA review of the finished product standing behind any of it. Every one of those rests on the company’s honesty. When the one claim you can independently check does not hold up, you have learned something material about how much weight the unverifiable claims deserve.
The billing complaints compound it. Across this review set, unauthorised or hard-to-stop charges are among the most common serious complaints against telehealth subscription services, and TMates publishes no cancellation or refund policy we could locate. If you do sign up, use a payment method you can dispute — a credit card, not a debit card — and keep every confirmation email.
We have made the same finding once before, at PeterMD, and we treat it the same way here.
Pricing — and Which Figure Is Right
| Medication | Reported monthly | Conflicting figure |
|---|---|---|
| Compounded semaglutide | from ~$199 | $99–$167 quoted elsewhere |
| Compounded tirzepatide | from ~$297 | Not reconciled |
Sources disagree, and we could not establish a definitive rate card. At $199 and $297 TMates is ordinary mid-market — more than Cora Health at $99, less than Direct Meds on tirzepatide. At the lower quoted figures it would be competitive. Neither reading changes our conclusion: there is no price at which we would recommend a provider whose advertised credentials cannot be found, because the money is not the risk.
Insurance acceptance is the one genuinely positive differentiator, since most compounded platforms refuse insurance outright. Terms are not detailed, and note that insurers rarely cover compounded GLP-1 preparations at all — clarify exactly what is covered before assuming a copay.
Eligibility, Contraindications, and Side Effects
Eligibility criteria are not published. See our eligibility guide for the standard thresholds and the questions a responsible prescriber should be asking you.
Semaglutide and tirzepatide carry a boxed warning regarding thyroid C-cell tumours, based on rodent studies. Do not take these medications if you or a family member have had medullary thyroid carcinoma, if you have Multiple Endocrine Neoplasia syndrome type 2, or if you have had a serious hypersensitivity reaction to the active ingredient. They are not for use in pregnancy. A history of pancreatitis, gallbladder disease, gastroparesis or other severe gastrointestinal disease, or diabetic retinopathy, requires discussion before starting.
Expect gastrointestinal side effects — nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea, constipation, abdominal pain — concentrated after each dose increase. Serious but less common risks include pancreatitis, gallbladder disease and acute kidney injury from dehydration. Our side effects guide covers management. Since ongoing clinical support is not described, establish before you start exactly who you contact when something goes wrong and how fast they answer.
A Specific Dosing Warning for Compounded Vials
The FDA has documented patients overdosing by five to ten times on compounded injectable semaglutide because of conversion errors between units and milligrams. Compounded products come as vials and syringes, not the fixed-increment pens people have seen advertised, and the arithmetic is genuinely easy to get wrong.
Before your first injection, have the prescriber state your dose in both milligrams and units, and confirm the concentration of your specific vial — concentrations differ between pharmacies, so a “10 unit” dose from one supplier is not the same drug quantity as from another. Confirm it again at every dose escalation, and never work from a previous provider’s instructions with a new vial. This applies to every compounded provider; it matters more where support is undocumented.
How TMates Compares
| Provider | Semaglutide | Advertised reviews | Verifiable? | Our rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TMates | ~$199 | 4.9 from 4,700+ | Reportedly not found | 2.1 / 5 |
| Direct Meds | $197–$249 | 4.6 from 7,500+ | Corroborated across sources | 3.9 / 5 |
| Cora Health | $99–$175 | Established base | Yes | 4.5 / 5 |
| PeterMD | Varies | Overstated per reporting | Reportedly not found | 2.4 / 5 |
Direct Meds is the instructive comparison: near-identical semaglutide pricing, an advertised review base of similar magnitude, and the difference is that the Direct Meds figure is corroborated across independent sources. That is what separates a 3.9 from a 2.1 here.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- States that it accepts insurance — uncommon among compounded platforms
- Both semaglutide and tirzepatide offered
- Reported pricing is ordinary mid-market, and possibly lower
Cons
- Advertised 4,700+ Trustpilot reviews reportedly cannot be found
- Live profile reportedly carries one review, rated one star
- A second Trustpilot profile was reportedly removed for guideline violations
- Effectively no organic discussion despite a 40,000-patient claim
- BBB file contains billing complaints
- No published cancellation or refund policy
- Pharmacy not named; sources disagree on pricing
- Ongoing clinical support not described
Who Should Pick It, and Who Should Look Elsewhere
We are not able to identify a group we would send here. The pricing is unremarkable, the insurance acceptance is real but undetailed, and neither offsets an advertised review base that independent reporting cannot locate alongside billing complaints and no published refund terms.
If you are set on TMates anyway, check the Trustpilot profile yourself first, get the price and cancellation terms in writing, pay by credit card rather than debit, and confirm your dose in both units and milligrams before injecting.
For the same medication at comparable or better prices with a verifiable record, use Cora Health at $99, Embody at $69, or Direct Meds if fast cold-chain shipping matters most. If insurance is the draw, JRNYS and Sesame Care both pursue coverage for FDA-approved medication, which insurers will actually pay for.
Limitations of This Review
This review is based on independent coverage of TMates checked on 7 August 2026. The central finding is reported, not verified by us. Trustpilot blocks automated access from our review environment, so we could not load the company’s profiles to confirm the review count, the rating, or the reported removal of a second profile; we could not reach the TMates website directly either. Multiple independent sources describe the same discrepancy and we could not locate the advertised review base through any channel available to us, but you should check it yourself — it takes a minute in a browser. Pricing sources conflict and we could not establish a definitive rate card. We would revise this review promptly on evidence that the advertised figures are accurate.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is TMates legit?
We cannot confirm it either way, and that is the problem. Independent reporting describes the site advertising 4.9 stars from 4,700+ Trustpilot reviews against a live profile carrying one one-star review, plus a second profile removed by Trustpilot for guideline violations and BBB billing complaints. Check the Trustpilot page yourself before signing up.
How much does TMates cost?
Reported at around $199 a month for compounded semaglutide and $297 for tirzepatide, though other sources quote $99 to $167 and we could not reconcile the figures. Get the price in writing before you pay.
Does TMates take insurance?
It states that it does, which is unusual for a compounded platform. Terms are not published, and insurers rarely cover compounded GLP-1 preparations — establish exactly what your plan would pay for before assuming a copay.
What should I use instead?
For compounded semaglutide with a verifiable record, Cora Health at $99 or Embody at $69. For proven shipping reliability, Direct Meds. For insurance-covered FDA-approved medication, JRNYS or Sesame Care.
Verdict
2.1 / 5
Ordinary pricing behind an advertised review base that independent reporting cannot find, with billing complaints and no published refund policy. Verify before you pay, or use a provider whose numbers hold up.
We rate TMates low on one basis, and it is not the medication or the price. When you buy a compounded GLP-1 you are trusting a chain of things you cannot see — the pharmacy, the concentration, the sterility, the handling — none of which has FDA review behind it. The advertised review count is one of the very few claims a customer can check independently. If reporting is right that it does not hold up, the rest of the chain deserves no better assumption. Check the Trustpilot page yourself. It takes a minute, and it is a minute better spent than any amount of price comparison.
Medical Disclaimer & Review Date
This review is general consumer information, not medical advice. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious contraindications, and whether any treatment is appropriate for you is a decision only a licensed healthcare provider who knows your medical history can make. Nothing here should be used to start, stop, or change a medication.
Details in this review come from TMates's own published materials as of the date below. Pricing, medication availability, state coverage, and policies in this category change frequently — verify current terms directly with the provider before purchasing.
Date reviewed: August 7, 2026
Verify First — Then Compare Alternatives
Open Trustpilot and count the reviews yourself before entering payment details. Then compare against providers whose record we could corroborate.