Product Reviews|By The Weight Weight Team|August 6, 2026

Embody Review – Very Cheap, Unusually Transparent About Pharmacies, Shaky on Renewals

Affiliate disclosure

We earn a commission if you sign up with Embody through the links on this page. It did not buy a favourable review. The central warning below — check what your second and third months will cost before you commit — is the one thing most likely to stop you buying, and it is the most important thing on the page.

Embody is a US telehealth service that prescribes compounded GLP-1 medication and ships it to your door, aimed squarely at cash-pay buyers for whom price is the deciding factor. It advertises compounded semaglutide at $69 a month and compounded tirzepatide at $119, with the medication, supplies, provider review and shipping all included and no membership fee on top. It does one thing almost nobody else in the budget end of this market does: it names the pharmacies that compound its medication. It also has the market's most common failure mode — a very low advertised price that some customers say did not survive their first renewal.

Overview

Embody trades at joinem.co and is reported to operate under a Delaware company, Modern Metabolic Medicine, Inc. The clinical side runs through OpenLoop Health, an established clinician network also used by several other telehealth brands we review, with providers vetted for licensure in the state where you live.

The pitch is speed and price. Embody says an intake form is reviewed by a provider within 24 hours and often in under five, and that medication ships free by one-day FedEx or UPS, typically arriving within one to two days. Coverage is broad — the company states it operates in all US states except Louisiana, with services in Nebraska limited to patients aged 19 and over. After the providers we have reviewed that will not publish a state list at all, that is refreshingly specific.

Embody at a Glance

Medications offeredCompounded semaglutide and compounded tirzepatide
Brand-name or compoundedCompounded only — not FDA-approved
Consultation processOnline intake reviewed by a provider within 24 hours, often under 5; telemed visit included in the price
EligibilityAssessed at intake; criteria not published
Provider involvementLicensed doctors through the OpenLoop Health network, vetted for state licensure
Lab requirementsNot stated as required
Pharmacy fulfillmentNamed — US-based 503A compounding pharmacies including RedRock, Health Warehouse, Precision Compounding and Triad Rx
Shipping frequencyFree, by one-day FedEx or UPS, typically arriving in 1–2 days
Support servicesProvider messaging and telemed visits included
Membership feesNone stated — the company advertises no monthly membership and no hidden fees
Medication feesCompounded semaglutide advertised at $69/month and tirzepatide at $119/month; third-party trackers list a higher ongoing rate
Cancellation policyCancel anytime; no contracts on month-to-month pricing
Refund policyFull refund if your prescription is not approved
InsuranceNot accepted
HSA/FSANot stated on the site
AvailabilityAll US states except Louisiana; Nebraska limited to ages 19+

How It Works, Step by Step

  1. Two-minute intake. A short online health questionnaire.
  2. Provider review. A licensed doctor from the OpenLoop network reviews your submission — Embody says within 24 hours, often in under five.
  3. Telemed visit. Included in the price rather than billed separately.
  4. Payment. You are charged for the month. If the prescription is not approved, Embody states you receive a full refund.
  5. Compounding and dispatch. One of the named 503A partner pharmacies prepares the medication.
  6. Delivery. Free one-day courier shipping, typically arriving within one to two days.

Pricing and the Renewal Question

On the offer page we checked on 6 August 2026, Embody advertised compounded semaglutide at $69/month and compounded tirzepatide at $119/month, with the semaglutide price shown as reduced from $299 and presented as a limited-time offer. The price is stated to include medication, supplies, doctor review and shipping, with no membership fee.

MedicationAdvertisedStatusIncludes
Compounded semaglutide$69/mo (from $299)Not FDA-approvedMedication, supplies, doctor review, shipping
Compounded tirzepatide$119/moNot FDA-approvedMedication, supplies, doctor review, shipping

This is the part to read twice. Embody markets a price that holds as your dose increases, and the marketing language is emphatic about no hidden fees. But the most consistent complaint against it on Trustpilot is that the locked price was not honoured — subscribers describing renewals billed above the rate they signed up at, and users reporting a low introductory price followed by a substantially higher monthly charge.

The numbers support treating $69 as promotional rather than standard. Independent trackers covering Embody list an ongoing rate of around $79/month rather than $69, and the page itself frames $69 as a reduction from $299 under a countdown. A 77% discount off a nominal price is not a price; it is an offer.

None of this makes Embody expensive — even at $79 it is among the cheapest compounded programmes we track. It means the number you should budget against is not the number on the landing page. Get your renewal rate confirmed in writing before you buy, and check your second statement carefully.

The rest of the commercial terms are good. Cancel anytime with no contract, and a full refund if a provider does not approve your prescription — meaning you are not out of pocket for being screened out, which is fairer than several competitors manage.

The Named Pharmacies — Why This Matters

Throughout our provider reviews, the single most common transparency failure is refusing to say which pharmacy compounds the medication. WellMedr, TrimRx and Willow all decline to name theirs. Embody does: it identifies US-based 503A compounding pharmacies including RedRock, Health Warehouse, Precision Compounding and Triad Rx.

That is worth real credit, and it is why this review rates Embody above cheaper-looking rivals that hide the same information. Naming the compounder lets you look up the facility, its state licensure and any inspection history before you inject something. It also signals a company willing to be held accountable for its supply chain rather than positioning itself as a marketing layer with no responsibility for what arrives.

One clarification on what 503A means, because the marketing in this sector routinely blurs it. A 503A pharmacy compounds for individual patients on individual prescriptions. It is not an FDA -approved manufacturer, its products are not FDA-approved, and 503A facilities are not subject to the same current good manufacturing practice requirements as registered manufacturers. Naming the pharmacy is a transparency win; it is not a substitute for FDA approval.

Eligibility, Contraindications, and Side Effects

Embody assesses eligibility through its intake form and provider review but does not publish BMI or comorbidity criteria. It operates in every US state except Louisiana, and limits Nebraska patients to age 19 and over. Our eligibility guide covers what a thorough screen should ask.

Semaglutide and tirzepatide carry a boxed warning regarding thyroid C-cell tumours, based on rodent studies. You should not take these medications if you or a family member have had medullary thyroid carcinoma, if you have Multiple Endocrine Neoplasia syndrome type 2, or if you have had a serious hypersensitivity reaction to the active ingredient. They are not for use in pregnancy. A history of pancreatitis, gallbladder disease, gastroparesis or other severe gastrointestinal disease, or diabetic retinopathy, warrants a specific conversation first.

Common side effects are gastrointestinal — nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea, constipation and abdominal pain — typically worst after a dose increase. Serious but less common risks include pancreatitis, gallbladder disease and acute kidney injury caused by dehydration. Our side effects guide covers management.

We are not quoting weight-loss figures for Embody. It publishes no outcome data for its own patients, and results from trials of brand-name semaglutide or tirzepatide do not transfer to a compounded preparation. Treat any percentage attached to this service as unverified.

Legitimacy, Credentials, and Complaint Record

Embody states it holds LegitScript certification, works through the OpenLoop clinician network, and sources from named US 503A pharmacies. Those three facts together put it on firmer ground than most of the cheap end of this market. We were not able to confirm the LegitScript registration ourselves and report it as a company claim.

Customer sentiment is mediocre. Embody has thousands of Trustpilot reviews, with third-party summaries placing the score in the low-to-mid 3s as of July 2026. Positive reviewers consistently cite affordability, easy access, and the price holding as doses increase — the last of which is notable, because it is precisely what other reviewers say did not happen for them. The recurring negatives are renewal pricing above the signup rate and provider no-shows for scheduled appointments.

We could not locate an accessible Better Business Bureau profile for Embody or for Modern Metabolic Medicine, so there is no BBB rating or complaint count to report either way. For a company operating at this scale that is an information gap rather than a clean record, and it removes one of the checks we would normally apply.

Where Compounded GLP-1s Stand Right Now

Embody sells compounded medication only. Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are not FDA-approved, are not generics — no generic version of either exists in the US — and the approval of the brand-name product does not extend to a compounded preparation sharing its active ingredient.

The shortages that created this market have ended: the FDA resolved the tirzepatide shortage in October 2024 and the semaglutide shortage on 21 February 2025. On 30 April 2026 the FDA proposed excluding semaglutide, tirzepatide and liraglutide from the 503B bulks list, and the comment period closed on 30 July 2026. That proposal targets 503B outsourcing facilities rather than the 503A pharmacies Embody names, so its supply route is not directly in scope — but 503A pharmacies still may not compound what is essentially a copy of a commercially available drug regularly or in inordinate amounts, which is a live constraint on any large compounded GLP-1 programme. Our compounded vs brand-name guide covers the trade-off.

How Embody Compares

ProviderSemaglutide fromNames pharmacyStates publishedOur rating
Embody$69 advertisedYes — four named 503A partnersYes — all but Louisiana3.3 / 5
WellMedr$59 promotionalNoNo2.6 / 5
Cora Health$99–$175Yes — PCAB-accreditedAll 50 states4.5 / 5
Precision Telemed$139.99 flatYesAll 50 states4.4 / 5

Embody is the cheapest provider we track that will tell you who compounds your medication, and that combination is genuinely rare. Compared with WellMedr — nominally $10 cheaper — Embody names its pharmacies, publishes its state coverage and refunds you if you are declined, all of which WellMedr does not. Compared with Cora Health, Embody is far cheaper but has a weaker customer record and no BBB profile to check.

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Among the cheapest compounded GLP-1 pricing available at $69–$79
  • Names its compounding pharmacies — rare at any price, almost unheard of at this one
  • Tirzepatide at $119 is well below most of the market
  • No membership or consultation fee; telemed visit included
  • Free next-day courier shipping
  • Provider review within 24 hours, often under 5
  • Uses the established OpenLoop clinician network
  • Publishes state coverage — all states except Louisiana
  • Full refund if your prescription is not approved
  • Cancel anytime, no contracts

Cons

  • Customers report the locked price not being honoured at renewal
  • $69 is promotional — shown as reduced from $299 under a countdown
  • Independent trackers list a higher ongoing rate of around $79
  • Trustpilot score only in the low-to-mid 3s
  • Reports of provider no-shows for scheduled appointments
  • No accessible BBB profile to check
  • Compounded only — no brand-name or FDA-approved option
  • Eligibility criteria not published
  • Insurance not accepted; HSA/FSA not addressed
  • Not available in Louisiana

Who Should Pick It, and Who Should Look Elsewhere

Embody suits you if price is the binding constraint but you are not willing to buy from a company that hides its supply chain. That is a narrow and sensible position, and Embody is close to the only provider that satisfies both halves of it. The tirzepatide price at $119 is the standout — well under half what most of the market charges for the same compounded drug. Go in month-to-month, get the renewal rate in writing, and check your second statement.

Look elsewhere if a stable, predictable bill matters more than the lowest entry price — Precision Telemed at $139.99 flat and Cora Health at $99–$175 both have far better customer records and also name their pharmacies. Look elsewhere if you want an FDA-approved product, where NovoCare Pharmacy sells brand-name semaglutide at $149. And if you have insurance, check it first — see our insurance guide.

Limitations of This Review

This review is based on Embody's own offer page and independent review coverage, checked on 6 August 2026. The advertised $69 rate appeared on a promotional landing page with a countdown, and we could not establish a published standard non-promotional price — the $79 ongoing figure comes from third-party tracking we could not verify at source. We found no accessible BBB profile, so no rating or complaint count could be checked. We have not signed up, been prescribed, or received medication, so the renewal-pricing and no-show issues described here are customer reports rather than something we experienced. We could not independently confirm the LegitScript registration or the corporate entity details.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Embody cost?

It advertised compounded semaglutide at $69/month and tirzepatide at $119/month in August 2026, including medication, supplies, doctor review and shipping, with no membership fee. The $69 is a promotional rate reduced from a stated $299, and independent trackers list an ongoing rate nearer $79. Confirm your renewal price before signing up.

Does Embody really lock the price as my dose increases?

That is what it advertises, and many reviewers confirm it held for them. But the most common complaint against Embody is precisely that the locked price was not honoured at renewal, with subscribers billed above their signup rate. Get it in writing.

Which pharmacies does Embody use?

Embody names US-based 503A compounding pharmacies including RedRock, Health Warehouse, Precision Compounding and Triad Rx. Naming them is unusual in this market and is a genuine transparency point in its favour.

Is Embody's semaglutide FDA-approved?

No. Embody sells compounded medication only. Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are not FDA-approved and have not been evaluated by the FDA for safety, efficacy or quality, and a 503A pharmacy is not an FDA-approved manufacturer.

Which states does Embody serve?

All US states except Louisiana, with services in Nebraska limited to patients aged 19 and over.

What happens if I am not approved?

Embody states you receive a full refund if your prescription is not approved. That is fairer than providers that retain a consultation fee regardless of outcome.

Is Embody legit?

It appears to be a real operating telehealth service using an established clinician network and named pharmacies, and it claims LegitScript certification. The concerns are commercial — renewal pricing and appointment reliability — rather than questions about whether the company exists or ships medication.

Verdict

3.3 / 5

The cheapest provider we track that will actually name its compounding pharmacies — undermined by a headline price that is heavily promotional and a renewal that customers say does not always match what they signed up for.

Embody gets the important thing right. In a market where nearly every budget provider treats the identity of the compounding pharmacy as a trade secret, naming four of them is a meaningful act of transparency, and it comes alongside published state coverage, a refund if you are declined, and no contract. At $119 for compounded tirzepatide it is close to unbeatable on price. What stops it rating higher is the gap between the advertised deal and what several customers say they were actually billed — a fixable problem that the company has not fixed, and one that matters most to exactly the price-sensitive buyer this offer is aimed at.

Medical Disclaimer & Review Date

This review is general consumer information, not medical advice. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious contraindications, and whether any treatment is appropriate for you is a decision only a licensed healthcare provider who knows your medical history can make. Nothing here should be used to start, stop, or change a medication.

Details in this review come from Embody's own published materials as of the date below. Pricing, medication availability, state coverage, and policies in this category change frequently — verify current terms directly with the provider before purchasing.

Date reviewed: August 6, 2026

Get the Renewal Rate in Writing

The entry price is excellent. Before you commit, confirm what month two and month six will cost, and keep the confirmation.