Product Reviews|By The Weight Weight Team|August 7, 2026

LIV Body GLP-1 Review – A Supplement Brand With a Prescription Arm

Affiliate disclosure

We earn a commission if you sign up with LIV Body through the links on this page. It did not buy a favourable review.

LIV Body is a fitness supplement brand founded by the fitness personality Paige Hathaway that has added a prescription GLP-1 weight-loss programme. Clinical decisions are not made by LIV Body itself: prescribing runs through OpenLoop Healthcare Partners, PC, an independent licensed medical group also used by several other telehealth brands. Compounded semaglutide starts at $179 a month and compounded tirzepatide at $279. It is aimed at LIV Body's existing fitness-oriented audience, and it does one thing better than most of this market: it publishes who qualifies.

Overview

The structure here is a brand-plus-clinical-partner arrangement. LIV Body provides the storefront and the audience; OpenLoop provides the licensed clinicians who assess you and decide whether to prescribe. Naming that partner is worth credit — Embody and WellMedr use the same network and also disclose it, and it means the prescribing entity is a real, checkable medical group rather than an unnamed "network of providers".

What LIV Body does not name is the compounding pharmacy, which remains the largest gap in this disclosure and the one that matters most for a non-FDA-approved injectable.

LIV Body at a Glance

Medications offeredCompounded semaglutide and compounded tirzepatide
Brand-name or compoundedCompounded — not FDA-approved finished products
Consultation processOnline assessment reviewed by clinicians at OpenLoop Healthcare Partners, PC
EligibilityPublished — generally BMI 30 or above, or BMI 27 or above with a weight-related condition
Provider involvementIndependent licensed medical group makes all prescribing decisions
Lab requirementsNot stated as required
Pharmacy fulfillmentNot named — compounding pharmacies unspecified
Shipping frequencyDirect to patient; terms not detailed
Support servicesNot detailed in the published materials
Membership feesNone published separately
Medication feesCompounded semaglutide from $179/month; compounded tirzepatide from $279/month
Cancellation policyNot published
Refund policyNot published
InsuranceNot accepted
HSA/FSANot stated
AvailabilityNot published in detail; US only

The Influencer Question

LIV Body is a personality-led brand, and it is worth being direct about what that does and does not mean when prescription medication is involved.

What it does not mean: that the clinical care is unsound. Prescribing is handled by an independent licensed medical group, and a founder's public profile has no bearing on whether a clinician assesses you properly. LIV Body publishing its BMI eligibility thresholds is better disclosure than most providers we review manage.

What it does mean: the marketing channel is a fitness audience that arrived for supplements and aesthetics, not for a prescription drug with a boxed warning. GLP-1 medication is indicated for obesity and weight-related comorbidity, not body composition goals. If your BMI is below the published thresholds, you should not be on it — and a brand built on physique content is reaching a lot of people for whom that is true.

The published eligibility criteria are the mitigation, and they are the right ones. Hold the service to them.

Pricing

MedicationStarting priceStatus
Compounded semaglutideFrom $179/monthNot FDA-approved
Compounded tirzepatideFrom $279/monthNot FDA-approved

These are brand-stated starting prices, and LIV Body's own materials advise confirming your exact checkout price before enrolling — sensible advice we would repeat. At $179 semaglutide sits mid-market: above Cora Health and Trimi Health at $99, level with TrimRx, below SkinnyRx at $249. Tirzepatide at $279 is on the expensive side — Trimi charges $125 for the same compounded drug.

Whether the price holds as your dose increases is not published, and neither are cancellation or refund terms. Both are worth establishing in writing before you enrol.

Eligibility, Contraindications, and Side Effects

LIV Body publishes its thresholds: generally a BMI of 30 or above, or 27 or above with a weight-related condition. Those match the standard indications for GLP-1 weight-management treatment, and publishing them is a genuine transparency point — most providers we review say only that "a clinician will assess you". See our eligibility guide for the wider picture.

Semaglutide and tirzepatide carry a boxed warning regarding thyroid C-cell tumours, based on rodent studies. You should not take these medications if you or a family member have had medullary thyroid carcinoma, if you have Multiple Endocrine Neoplasia syndrome type 2, or if you have had a serious hypersensitivity reaction to the active ingredient. They are not for use in pregnancy. A history of pancreatitis, gallbladder disease, gastroparesis or other severe gastrointestinal disease, or diabetic retinopathy, warrants specific discussion first.

Common side effects are gastrointestinal — nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea, constipation and abdominal pain — worst after a dose increase. Serious but less common risks include pancreatitis, gallbladder disease and acute kidney injury from dehydration. Our side effects guide covers management.

Given the fitness-oriented audience, one further point deserves emphasis: GLP-1 medication causes loss of lean mass alongside fat if protein intake and resistance training are neglected. See our protein guide. We are not quoting weight-loss figures for LIV Body, which publishes no outcome data of its own.

Compounded Status and the FDA Sweep

LIV Body sells compounded medication only. Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are not FDA-approved — they may be prepared using the same active pharmaceutical ingredient as approved products, but they are not the same finished product and have not been evaluated for safety, efficacy or quality.

That distinction is currently a live enforcement matter. In March 2026 the FDA issued warning letters to around 30 telehealth companies specifically over claims implying sameness with FDA-approved products — our MEDVi review covers one such letter in detail. LIV Body's own materials state the distinction correctly, which is the right side of that line to be on.

The broader supply picture also applies: the FDA resolved the tirzepatide shortage in October 2024 and the semaglutide shortage on 21 February 2025, and on 30 April 2026 proposed excluding both from the 503B bulks list, with the comment period closing on 30 July 2026. Our compounded vs brand-name guide covers the trade-off.

How LIV Body Compares

ProviderSemaglutideTirzepatidePublishes eligibilityNames pharmacyOur rating
LIV Body$179$279Yes — BMI thresholdsNo3.1 / 5
Trimi Health$99$125NoYes — two named3.6 / 5
Cora Health$99–$175$135–$225NoYes — PCAB4.5 / 5
RenewMD$179OfferedYes — age and BMINo4.7 / 5

RenewMD is the instructive comparison: identical $179 semaglutide, also publishes eligibility, but bundles labs and coaching and has a far stronger overall disclosure record. LIV Body is priced like a full-service provider without yet being one.

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Publishes its BMI eligibility thresholds — uncommon and welcome
  • Names its clinical partner, OpenLoop Healthcare Partners, PC
  • Prescribing decisions made by an independent licensed medical group
  • States the compounded/not-FDA-approved distinction correctly
  • Both semaglutide and tirzepatide offered
  • No separate membership fee published
  • Advises confirming exact checkout pricing before enrolling

Cons

  • Compounding pharmacy not named
  • Tirzepatide at $279 is more than double the cheapest comparable option
  • Whether pricing holds at higher doses is not published
  • Cancellation and refund terms not published
  • State coverage not published
  • Thin independent review record for the GLP-1 programme specifically
  • Marketed to a physique-focused audience for whom the medication is often not indicated
  • Compounded only; insurance not accepted

Who Should Pick It, and Who Should Look Elsewhere

LIV Body could suit you if you are already in its ecosystem, you meet the published BMI criteria, and you value knowing the eligibility bar and the prescribing group up front. Those are real disclosures and not everyone offers them.

Look elsewhere if price matters — Trimi Health charges $99 and $125 for the same compounded drugs and names its pharmacies. Look elsewhere if you want a comparable price with more included: RenewMD is also $179 but bundles labs and coaching. And if you do not meet the BMI thresholds, the right answer is not a different provider — it is not taking the medication.

Limitations of This Review

This review is based on LIV Body's published programme materials and independent coverage, checked on 7 August 2026. The prices are brand-stated starting figures and we could not verify checkout pricing, dose-based increases, cancellation terms or refund policy. We could not identify the compounding pharmacy or establish state coverage, and the independent review record for the GLP-1 programme specifically is too thin to assess service quality. We have not signed up, been prescribed, or received medication.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does LIV Body GLP-1 cost?

Compounded semaglutide starts at $179 a month and compounded tirzepatide at $279. These are brand-stated starting prices — confirm your exact checkout figure, and whether it rises with dose, before enrolling.

Who actually prescribes the medication?

OpenLoop Healthcare Partners, PC — an independent licensed medical group whose providers make all clinical prescribing decisions. LIV Body itself is the brand and storefront.

Do I qualify?

LIV Body publishes the thresholds: generally a BMI of 30 or above, or 27 or above with a weight-related condition. If you are below those, GLP-1 weight-loss medication is not indicated for you.

Is the medication FDA-approved?

No. LIV Body supplies compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide. These may use the same active ingredient as approved products but are not the same finished products and are not FDA-approved.

Verdict

3.1 / 5

Better disclosure than most on eligibility and the prescribing group, at mid-to-high prices, from a fitness brand whose GLP-1 arm has almost no independent track record.

LIV Body handles two things well that this market routinely fumbles: it says who qualifies and it says who prescribes. Both are checkable, and both are more than WellMedr or Willow offer. What it does not do is name the pharmacy, publish its dose pricing or cancellation terms, or bring any real service record to judge. At $179 and $279 it is priced alongside full-service providers that include labs and coaching. Reasonable, not compelling.

Medical Disclaimer & Review Date

This review is general consumer information, not medical advice. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious contraindications, and whether any treatment is appropriate for you is a decision only a licensed healthcare provider who knows your medical history can make. Nothing here should be used to start, stop, or change a medication.

Details in this review come from LIV Body's own published materials as of the date below. Pricing, medication availability, state coverage, and policies in this category change frequently — verify current terms directly with the provider before purchasing.

Date reviewed: August 7, 2026

Check the Checkout Price

LIV Body advises confirming your exact price before enrolling — good advice. Ask whether it holds as your dose increases, and what the cancellation terms are.